Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113395&p=1194800#p1194800
Trialed a smidge higher dose on the scale last night for the PM cycle. My scale for 250-300 is 2.4 u. Since his PMPS was right in the middle of that, decided to try a smidge higher dose at 2.6u, and we had an early green of +5 of 66 with lots of subsequent pokies and Fancy Feast snacks. He "peaked" at +6 at 63. I'm assuming that without food intervention, he probably would have gone lower. Eddie thought the pokies were totally unnecessary, but thought all the extra snacks were awesome. At +6, he was killing invisible blanket mice under his bed and bopping civilian passersby.
Today:
AMPS: 335 (2.6u)
+6.5 = 151
PMPS = 302 (2.6u)
+3 = 202
I think this AM cycle is a bit of a bounce off last night's greens, but it's not a bad bounce, and he came down pretty nicely. I could have probably shot a bit higher on this AMPS, but I wanted to give Eddie's ears a bit of a break, and mom bean needed some extra sleep this AM.
Question: Is it counterproductive or otherwise a "bad" thing to keep a green surf in safe numbers using food? In other words, if I had shot my normal scale and had the same results, would it warrant a "shave" of a reduction? Is it all the same physiologically to Eddie's body with or without food intervention?
Eddie seems to be finally settling into some patterns.
After a good cycle where he hits low blues or greens, or if I can see that he likely hit low blues or greens, he *usually* will have a higher flatter cycle afterwards. His pre-shot after a good cycle is typically rising, and continues to rise for about two hours, or until the onset of the next dose, so I can shoot a smidge higher to bring down the cycle a bit - like 0.2 higher - in anticipation of a higher "peak" number. For example, this AM, knowing it was a bouncy pre-shot, I could have shot 2.8u (had I wanted to monitor closely). If he's had a flat cycle, usually the next pre-shot number doesn't go up a lot over the next couple hours, so if I shoot the scale amount based on the actual pre-shot number, he will usually have a good cycle after that.
Trialed a smidge higher dose on the scale last night for the PM cycle. My scale for 250-300 is 2.4 u. Since his PMPS was right in the middle of that, decided to try a smidge higher dose at 2.6u, and we had an early green of +5 of 66 with lots of subsequent pokies and Fancy Feast snacks. He "peaked" at +6 at 63. I'm assuming that without food intervention, he probably would have gone lower. Eddie thought the pokies were totally unnecessary, but thought all the extra snacks were awesome. At +6, he was killing invisible blanket mice under his bed and bopping civilian passersby.
Today:
AMPS: 335 (2.6u)
+6.5 = 151
PMPS = 302 (2.6u)
+3 = 202
I think this AM cycle is a bit of a bounce off last night's greens, but it's not a bad bounce, and he came down pretty nicely. I could have probably shot a bit higher on this AMPS, but I wanted to give Eddie's ears a bit of a break, and mom bean needed some extra sleep this AM.
Question: Is it counterproductive or otherwise a "bad" thing to keep a green surf in safe numbers using food? In other words, if I had shot my normal scale and had the same results, would it warrant a "shave" of a reduction? Is it all the same physiologically to Eddie's body with or without food intervention?
Eddie seems to be finally settling into some patterns.