2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77, + 11 85, PMPS 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
AMPS 127, +9 94, +10 89, PMPS 77, +2 74, +5 70, +7 75
So after yesterday, I had a strong feeling we were going to get a low AMPS (for once), and yes we did. I left DH a note to give HC if below 90, (since I sleep in the afternoon), it was 80, and he gave her HC mix with LC. I couldn't sleep, (I wonder why), so I checked her @ +4 and it was 62, so I still needed some sleep, so I gave her HC mix with LC., btb, one hour, +7 98, btb, +9 77. Forget trying to sleep now. So I pray she will give us a beautiful green all day and night. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET, DAPHNE!!!!!!!!

and wonderful shooting!!!


cat_birthdays_14.jpg
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77

Daphne's SS looks great! When someone is able to monitor, you may want to try using just LC to keep Daphne surfing. It looks like she's trying for a reduction and you don't necessarily want to be pushing the HC if a reduction is warranted.
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77

Thanks Celi, love that pic!!!

Sienne, yes, I hated to have to give her the HC, I know she is looking at a reduction soon. I just needed to get some sleep, so I rather be safe then sorry. No more HC today, till bedtime for me, so she has a long way to go this PM, and I pray it will be good enough to do the .25 dose decrease. We need a 45 or lower, or is it just the whole day being green?
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77, + 11 85, PMPS 8

Since Daphne is still 'newly diagnosed' (the first 12 months is newly diagnosed) you just need under 50 for a reduction, from the TR sticky:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

There is another method to earn a reduction based on being in 'normal' numbers, from the QLD TR protocol:

When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its
lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a
healthy cat, and stays under 100 mg/dL overall
Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low or high dose of insulin
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77, + 11 85, PMPS 8

Thanks Serryn! I read the info, and then forget where it is…I am a link jumper, constantly all over the web. BUT I LIKE THE SECOND ONE BETTER "When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a…". We've been struggling with the AMPS, to get a green number, and today we did, but my sleep schedule did not allow me to feel that Daphne would be safe…I ended up being awake most of the day and night anyway. Oh well, I guess we will wait for the next opportunity, however it will come. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Daphne AMPS 80, +4 62, +7 98, +9 77, + 11 85, PMPS 8

:mrgreen: Gorgeous Day for Daphne :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top