2/9-Cini Mini-PMPS 502,+2/HI,+3.5/561 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here : http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63187

Yesterday's BGs:

AMPS - 372, gave f.05 units Lantus
+2 - 338
+6.5 - 159
PMPS - 392, gave f.05 units Lantus
+3 - 356

I am hoping what Sienne said yesterday that this may all be a bounce from the 93 on 2/7, but I am increasingly concerned with the elevated BG levels and longer durations with the higher numbers. :sad:

This morning has been Cini's highest BG reading since his last asthma episode with AMPS of 420 :o
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

Oh, Mini-Man....

monkeyincognito.jpg


Gosh, I hope he comes down :sad:
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

Hi guys .. I can see why you would be concerned .. these are high numbers for your little guy .. do you think he had an asthma attack, and you didn't catch it? Perhaps it is just a bounce and hopefully clears it soon ...
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

If it is a bounce it will be over soon. I HATE bounces! An it seems especially dramatic compared to the nice number they bounce off of.

Cini, please come down today and ease mamabean's mind.
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

Given that Cini's numbers went up with his last asthma episode, that may also be a factor in what's going on. Remember, asthma involves an irritation/inflammation of the respiratory passages. Any form of stress may cause BG to rise. For any of the cats here who have a medical issue, increasing the insulin dose is a reasonable, if not necessary step to aid in the management of an illness. Keep an eye on the numbers and if they don't come down by tomorrow's PMPS, increase Cini's dose.

As a precaution, I'd try to get a ketone test.
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

i was curious about the possible effects of using Flovent on blood glucose levels. i found this:

If you have diabetes, ask your doctor if you need to adjust your insulin or medication levels, because Flovent Diskus can increase blood sugar.
http://www.sharecare.com/question/should-know-floventdiskus-using-it

they're referring to the Flovent Diskus and human use, but it makes me wonder if administering the same med through an inhaler to a cat would have the same effect. you may find it's necessary to increase cini mini's dose when using the inhaler.
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Concerned

I spoke to the Vet and she said she agreed with increasing Cini's insulin at this time. She thought it would be a good idea to go up 25%. What's 25% more of .05 units? When she asked how much insulin I was giving and I told her .05 units she said "Oh yeah, you're doing that weird thing." :lol: :lol:

The Vet also said to discontinue the Albuterol inhaler and switch to the Terbuterol syrup instead. She thinks Cini will get a longer lasting relief on the Terbuterol and she wants me to keep him on that for at least the next month while he's using the Flovent.

She also said to keep giving him the Flovent two puffs twice a day for another week and, if and only if, he's not wheezing and his BG numbers start to come down reduce to 1 puff twice a day. And stay on that from then on.

I'm going to start Cini on the Terbuterol tonight and Sienne, I'm going to do your suggestion of waiting till tomorrow's PMPS to adjust Cini's insulin. I don't want to do too many changes at once.

Man, never a moments relief with this guy! nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile @-)
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Spoke to the Vet

Good luck with all the med adjustments. Just noticed Cini's new avatar - adorable, he looks like royalty!
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387 - Spoke to the Vet

I hadn't noticed the new avatar either...
King Cini...I LIKE IT! :-D :-D

i tell you...my hat is off to you, lady...
sheer admiration for you folks that are dealing with multiple illness kitties...
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387,+9/405 - Spoke to the Vet

Hi Sienne, it doesn't contain sugar. I had it re-compounded at a Veterinary Pharmacy and they made it sugar free and chicken flavor. Yumm! :-D
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387,+9/405 - Spoke to the Vet

Fingers and paws crossed that all the new meds and new dose will be just what Cini Mini needs.
Hang in there!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-AMPS 420, +4/387,+9/405 - Spoke to the Vet

Hope the new medicine helps! When Tarragon's asthma flares his BGs go up because of the inflammation. It really is a balancing act when you have an asthmatic FD kitty. Breathing definitely comes first for me. The Flovent doesn't work to keep it completely away with Tarragon so he is also on prednisone pills every other day. That has required more juice, but it is worth it so he can breathe easy.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-PMPS 502,+2/HI :(

+2 is HI

Damn! I've never gotten that reading before.

He's starting to drink water too :sad:
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-PMPS 502,+2/HI :(

Hang in there... I know on the HI reading - been there with Mannie, and it is so disheartening, but it will get better. Good luck with the new dose when you do go ahead with it.
 
Re: 2/9-Cini Mini-PMPS 502,+2/HI :(

it is disheartening . . . i'm sorry cini mini's HI - just to encourage you, bev's Gus spent his first several months hitting HI pretty much every day. hang in there and it will come down - either by an insulin increase or a bounce clearing.

celing-cat-monks.jpg


don't stay up there long, CM!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top