2/9 Chyna PMPS 180 +2 167 +4 124 +6 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi all. It's been a rough night, thanks to the great people who helped me through. I finally went to bed and got a few hours sleep, now I need help again! Half an hour to shot time, and I'm thinking even though she didn't quite go below 50, I'm still on some dry food and was planning on switching to all wet today and since I had to feed 1/2 can overnight to keep her from going down farther and she is only back up to 151 I don't know what to give. Maybe 1 unit this morning? Thoughts?

And I can't get the link to yesterday right...sorry. (edit-yay I got the link to work)

Chyna 2/8

Numbers were:

AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362; +3 151 ; +4 108 ; +5 76 ;+6 65 ;+6.5 76 ; +7.5 74 ; +8.5 76

This morning half hour before normal injection was 151, half an hour after that was 162 and half an hour later was 173 when I did the injection.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

Hi Rachel. I don't know if I've "met" you yet, but my name is Kat and Gobbles is my sugar boy:) What time zone are you in?
When is the next shot due?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

Next shot in 10 minutes...give or take, it's obviously going to be a bit late. Not sure I think I'm mountain time? It's 6:53am as I write and post this.

PS hi nice to meet you:)
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

raeifo said:
Next shot in 10 minutes...give or take, it's obviously going to be a bit late. Not sure I think I'm mountain time? It's 6:53am as I write and post this.
OK. then we're 2 hours apart (8:54 am). I know a dose can be moved either 15 minutes twice each day or 30 minutes once per day. When was the last time you changed the shot time? How many minutes (if so)?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

Not usually more than 5 minutes off every time, 7am/7pm. Been that since after the first week of December...
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

raeifo said:
Not usually more than 5 minutes off every time, 7am/7pm. Been that since after the first week of December...
So you have 15-30 minutes where, according to LL, you COULD hold off for up to 30 minutes. How would that work into your shooting time schedule?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

Great numbers for Chyna! That's great to see her responding the change in diet and the insulin. I'm not a dosing expert so I will defer to Sienne or Marje. Can you get another test if its been 30 mins since the last one? Then you can tell if she's going up or not.
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

Thanks...I thought they were scary numbers that kept going down at 2am, lol. She's getting sort of ticked off at her ear testing and squirmy but I'll try...
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

raeifo said:
Ok for the weekend, but not for weekdays that's when I leave for work...
OK. Just hold on. An expert will be here soon. And be sure to get the 30 minute test :smile: You're doing a great job and are in good hands :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

I'm not comfy with dosing advice either, but I can say that if you do shift by 30 minutes this morning in order to wait for someone who can help, you'll still be able to get back on track in time for work on Monday. You guys are doing great!!!
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151 dose reduction??

you are using the alpha trak?? then I think that 57 deserves a dosecrease especially since you are switching to all wet today. I believe it reads differently than a human meters
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

What meter are you using? Your Profile says an Aviva but Dian is mentioning an AlphaTrack.

Also, the link to your previous condo isn't working. I wouldn't worry about it right now, though. I'll be back in a few minutes.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

Hey Rachel, If you haven't already done so, it is a very good idea to print the following pages and keep them handy:
I printed them all out and clipped them to my fridge with a heavy magnet. So when you have time, print these out:

How To Treat Hypos: http://208.131.143.77/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887&sid=3315742c00f843feb27e2e07ca58d589

Lantus & Levimir/Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: http://208.131.143.77/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147&sid=3315742c00f843feb27e2e07ca58d589
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

Thanks for the link. I don't know why it isn't working, I thought I did what the girl yesterday said but two hours of sleep doesn't give me much for brains! I'm using Accu-Chek Aviva, I'm not sure where Alpha Trak came in...I have the first article printed out and on the fridge but not the second.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

sorry, no coffee yet and wrong glasses. swore I saw alpha trak.
deepest apologies.

see why i do not help much?? :(

crap, was looking at ann and zenner for alpha trak sigh
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

There shouldn't be a space between the "url" and the equal sign. I'd have to go and look at another link to see if that's the only issue, though.

I was hoping I could track Marje down since she had posted provided information about dose for the weekend. It doesn't seem like she's around right now. I'm thinking that dropping the dose back to 2.0u may be OK.

Remember that whatever the BG number is when you shoot will be your AMPS.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 151/162 dose reduction??

It's all good, I'm just glad some people are around. I'm running on no sleep and a headache, and still don't know what to do as it's half an hour past shot time...trying to read the article on low numbers. I guess I'll go to do one more ear test, and then a 2 unit injection and hope she doesn't do a drastic drop like last night at +3.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 dose reduction/low overnight??

again, no dosing advise but make sure you get a +2 to start. you know what to do to slow or stop the drop if there is one. HC food, give gravy or karyo or maple syrup or sugar water.
dosing folks will hopefully get back here. I just do not feel comfy doing it
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 dose reduction/low overnight??

Thanks Dian, I totally understand that. I'm hoping for a less stressful curve today...and a nap :?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 dose reduction/low overnight??

Rachel

Did you shoot? If you can get a +2 test, that would be great.

Sienne did try to get me but I had gone back to bed right after Gracies shot...I had to get up once with her last night after I left you. I think it's worth a try to see how she does on 2u and go ahead and stop the dry.

I bet she continues up and you can sleep some today. If you are just a half hour past shot time, you can shoot at your normal time tonight. If she gives you a number lower than today's PS, then do not feed, post and ask for help, ok?

I'll be on and off today and will check her progress. You are on my time zone so that will help me track you all. Your shot time is 7/7...correct?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 dose reduction/low overnight??

Sorry, I was in the shower when you posted. Oh my gosh of course you need to sleep, I hope you are feeling ok today and super appreciate your help. I'm not bad considering 2 hours sleep. Where are you located? It's 10:04 am here right now. Yes, I did give her injection, 45 minutes late at 2 units (7:45am) so I guess evening shot 15 minutes later than usual (7:15pm). Yes my usual shot time is 7/7. I just did her AM +2 and it was 176. Should I do another test in two hours all day (depending on numbers)?

I was thinking for the new feeding schedule with wet only I would do: shot 7 am with 1/4 can, 11am mini meal 1/8 can, 3pm mini meal 1/8 can, 7pm shot with 1/4 can; then it makes it to 1 can a day...I think I'm supposed to be at 220 calories (1 can is 200 calories) though so maybe a bit more at mini meals.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 +2 176

Hey Rachel, There are 2 facebook groups you may want to join (unless you have already done so). If you have a FB account, search "feline diabetes" (863 members as of this writing) and also "lantus land" (152 members)... These are good groups to be a member of!
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173 +2 176

Thanks for the encouragement:) I did join the feline diabetes one a few weeks ago, which is how I got the URL for getting back on here but I'll have to check out the lantus land one! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

I was just going to ask if you got a +4 yet :)
That's a nice number. Hopefully, she'll dip her little feet into some high greens for you, today :mrgreen: Looking Good!
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

I hope it stays good:) I'm just wondering, her +4 is lower than AMPS and Marje mentioned not to feed if that happened? If I understood correctly. I was going to give her "new normal" mini meal now...since there is no dry out and I'm doing all wet...I'm not sure if she is around can someone please let me know? Thanks:)
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

http://208.131.143.77/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139&sid=d7a189f978072a54ca428655ffb617a8
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Her cycle looks perfectly normal to me, as seen in the last post I just gave you.
Yes, you can feed her a mini meal. You want to get her daily calories into her, and we usually don't feed after the nadir.
You can send a PM to Marje.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Thanks, I didn't know about the PM yet, oops. I'm thinking she meant over and above normal food. I'm pretty tierd:S Oh, well I guess my plan for her new meals is wrong then, I was going to do a mini meal at +4 and +8. Should I change that to maybe +3 and +5 or +6?
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

just popping over to say hello, i am very new here myself and have no advise to give, but what i can give is empathy and support and let you know that fdmb and the people here are unbelievably wonderful, intelligent, compassion and give of themselves without ever asking anything in return. I have also found that the people here are completely dedicated to their furry family members in a way most of the world doesn't understand ( including some vets...i.e. mine)
the only advise i feel comfortable giving is to not forget to breath....lol :-D for me those words make a big difference. I go instantly into panic mode and being reminded to breath helped not just me but lil ruben too. rest assured your in the right place.
I am out of work for two weeks and can stay up with you if you don't want to be alone, but again, i have nothing to offer but support.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

you can mini meal, I think, up till a few hours before PMPS. do not want food to screw the results before a shot. some say 2 hours some say 3 hours
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Thank you for the support, I've been panicking myself too. I haven't had a reply to the emails that I send with my glucose numbers to my vet for the past few weeks and she hasn't called me back from when I phoned her near the end of the week. She consults with another vet about Lantus so that causes some delays so I am very happy for the kind generous people on here that answered my questions or even just said hello...and thanks dian I will figure out a mini meal schedule that I can still test around:)
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Rachel

Here's what I said this morning:
If you are just a half hour past shot time, you can shoot at your normal time tonight. If she gives you a number lower than today's PS, then do not feed, post and ask for help, ok?

That was in reference to tonight's PS. If at +12 tonight, she is lower than what you shot this morning (173), don't feed her, post and ask for help. We don't want you to feed her because it could spike her number and we don't shoot food spikes. So I was just giving you direction for tonight, not for any tests during the day. I apologize if I confused you. Probably hadn't had enough ~O) in me yet. ;-)

It's best to be sure all her minimeals are in her before nadir. The reason is because you can slow down the effects of insulin by feeding after nadir. Of course, if the numbers are dropping low, then we make concessions.

Looking great today!
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Sorry. I meant the word "usually" loosely.

People have different feeding schedules. Some free feed. Some feed at PS and around +2 and +4. Some feed at PS and again at around +6 (the Lantus nadir). There are even some that feed at +9, but that's rare.

I meant, I just didn't want you to be withholding food at +4, if she hadn't eaten all her morning meals yet.
You'll develop a feeding plan that works for you, and it will probably change as you go along.

Mainly, we just advise that you don't feed after +10, so you can get a PS test that is not affected by a food spike.

Sorry if I confused you.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

Apparently, I am easily confused today, LOL. I get what you were both explaining now. I could use some coffee myself! Sorry to be so needy :oops:
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

You're not being needy. I know how exhausted you have to be. We've all been there!
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142

hi rachel! i don't want to get in marje and dyana's way, but wanted to stop by to welcome you to the group!
i hope you can catch a few zzzzzzzzzzzzz's sometime today. you must be beat...
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158

Nice to "meet" you Jill. I am beat, just did a +6.5 and it's 158. I fed her both mini meals between +4 and +4.5 so wanted to wait 2 hours/still get a test near nadir time, hopefully tomorrow I can time the meals better. After I run out to get my car and parcel, I think I am napping for the few hours till half hour before injection tonight, lol. I did just have a 10 minute "cat-nap" haha.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158

Rachel

Just checking in at +11. I shoot at the same time you do. If you post a +11.5, I will try to pop on just before I shoot. If she is over 150, no need to post...just shoot your new dose. If she is less than 150, just post and wait for one of us to get to you. Don't feed. I've asked Dyana to also look out for you....and Jill. So one of us will catch you here shortly.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158

Hi again, just trying to form coherent thoughts from after naptime. I just did a PMPS (which technically is a +11.5 today, since I'm moving the shot up half an hour to get my times back) and it's 180. So off to give the 2 unit injection now with dinner:) Any suggestions on good times to check tonight? Just a +3 to start to see what's happening? Her little ears are pretty sensitive now, poor kitty.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158, PMPS 180

hi rachel. marje asked me to keep an eye out for you.
you'll probably want to get a +2 to get an idea where she's headed. if the +2 is the same or lower than the preshot number it's likely to be an active cycle.
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158, PMPS 180

Thanks Jill, and Marje. That's in an hour, so I'll post it then:) By active cycle, you mean a "normal" curve, closer to what I had during today? I guess today was more of a flat curve, but I'm happy with it. I'm hoping for a less terrifying overnight, lol. On the plus side, today is the first 12 hour stretch since diagnosis that we've been between 142 and 180, all blue! I guess almost 24 hours of under 180 if you count from last night... :o
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158, PMPS 180

If you scroll back on today's condo, Dyana put a typical lantus curve for you. N

A typical lantus curve is an active cycle. The +2 will be similar to the PS and then you should see onset.

Great cycle today! I will be here for your +2. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Chyna AMPS 173, +2 176, +4 142, +6.5 158, PMPS 180

i read your posts and so identify with the words you use i.e- panic and terrified
i so get it. feels like russian roulette waiting for the number to show on the meter.
either way just saying i get it and so does everyone else get it, you should read some of my posts. i was posting positive self talk to my future paniced self so i could go back and re-read them< i was/am crazy pants when it comes to ruben. he's my constant in my life and when he's not right, neither is my whole world. its def unhealthy love but i cant help it. oh gonna go squeeze him right now.... bcatrun_gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top