2/9 Carbonel AMPS 280 +12 311.4

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweetcherrypie

Member Since 2010
Hello,
I have finally managed to create a spreadsheet of Carbonels blood sugar readings, I hope. See link below.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key ... utput=html Can anyone give me a bit of advice, please? Nothing is consistent and her blood sugar readings seem to be on the up.
What worries me a little is that Carbonel is shaking her head as she did on the PZI until I reduced her shot to once a day. I was encouraged to give her the PZI twice a day but she stopped eating and her nadir was definately around +12. So I changed it to once a day and she was a lot better. If you have a look at the mini curve on the spreadsheet it seems as if her nadir could be quite late on this Insulin as well.
Additionally,I am having some problems with the BD microfine syringes which do not seem to be that accurate. Bubbles form that are difficult to get rid of affecting the dosage. Anyone know of better syringes available to UK buyers, please?
Thank you,
Carol & Carbonel
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

One of the hardest things we will ask you to do is to pretty much forget everything you learned using PZI. Lantus is entirely different in it's method of action, how your think about dosing, and pretty much any experience you've had with another insulin. First and most importantly, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. As a result, getting primarily pre-shot tests is not sufficient to guide your decisions about dosage. At the bare minimum, you need to test before every shot and get at least one spot check during both the AM and PM cycle. More checks are better. You need data. Please read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board. They are a wonderful orientation to the dosing protocol (Tight Regulation) that we used, key concepts instrumental for using Lantus, how to become data ready, conventions regarding this forum, and much, much more.

One possible explanation for why Carbonel's numbers look like they are inconsistent is that she is bouncing. You don't know whether she is dropping low during the middle part of the cycle like she did on Feb. 6 and then bouncing into higher numbers like she did the following morning. Getting spot checks is the only way to know what's going on throughout the cycle.

I'd also encourage you to read the dosing protocol We typically do not hold a dose as long as you have been holding Carbonel's dose. However, until you have mid-cycle data, it's not safe to change her dose.

Also, as an FYI, you can attach your spreadsheet to your signature so you don't have to keep pasting it into your posts. The instructions are in the same place as where you found the template.
 
Re: 2/9 Carbonel AMPS 241 +12

Hello,
Thank you for the advice. I have read all the stickies but things kept changing and then Carbonel was ill as well. I work until 2pm everyday so not much chance of a morning test, although today my husband was home (as he is Mondays and Wednesdays) so he got a reading for me. Carbonel was a lot better before 6/2. Now all her AMPS are much lower than her PMPS. As you can see from the spreadsheet she is not dropping down much at all. I worry about her shaking her head as well. Has anybody experienced this? She did this on the PZI until I gave her Insulin once a day.
With regards to the spreadsheet, I am simply not very computer literate and do not understand the instructions for attaching it to my details, sorry. I have been on and off this website purely because I could not figure out how to do the spreadsheet! I spent ages trying to find it when I needed to fill it in. :oops:
Regards,
Carol and Carbonel
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key ... utput=html
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top