2-9-22 Leo AMPS 147/ +2 89/ +4.5 96/ +7 166/ PMPS 352/ +3 258

Soooo, dose decrease 2/8/22, at PM shot from 1.25U to 1U. Also 1U this morning, now a 89 at +2, so does this mean another. 25 decrease for tonight?

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately."
 
Last edited:
It was interesting that at +1, Leo went on his own to eat some left over food from the earlier breakfast (which he only ate about 1.5 oz of the 3oz)--still didn't eat all of it. Trying to track him down now after +2 BG to give a spoonful of food, but turns out he went upstairs--which he hasn't done in awhile except a couple of zooms a week or so ago. My plantar fasciitis is still a problem (pain) walking around so hopefully he'll come back down soon on his own. However, DH is about to vacuum up there (yay!) so this might encourage him to come down. I don't hear the vacuum yet or see Leo....
 
Last edited:
It was interesting that at +1, Leo went on his own to eat some left over food from the earlier breakfast

That’s generally a sign that blood sugar is dropping in my experience. When they go eat on their own/want extra, I try and get a test sooner than planned.
Hopefully he ran from the vacuum and you were able to feed him a snack. It’s good to know he will go eat on his own!
And yes, you reduce after any drop below 90 when following SLGS. However, you may have gotten specialized guidance, as I see you shot a PS of below 150 this AM, so perhaps tag a member who has been helping you if you don’t get an answer by PM shot time.
 
That’s generally a sign that blood sugar is dropping in my experience. When they go eat on their own/want extra, I try and get a test sooner than planned.
Hopefully he ran from the vacuum and you were able to feed him a snack. It’s good to know he will go eat on his own!
And yes, you reduce after any drop below 90 when following SLGS. However, you may have gotten specialized guidance, as I see you shot a PS of below 150 this AM, so perhaps tag a member who has been helping you if you don’t get an answer by PM shot time.

Yikes! So many parameters and I keep missing it. Argh. Thankfully, no hypo numbers. Now I DO wonder about the PM shot. o_O

Q4.4. "My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise."
 
Back
Top