2-9-18 Jones -PMPS 117 ,+ 1 182, +3.5 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous

He is eating well. Cuddly, Purring, Pooping.

Not sure if this is our dose or not. I have cut back on the HC on the top of the food. Hope he doesn't dive on me but we will see.

Feels like 2 steps forward, 1 back, turn your partner around, do sa do, now promenade....

Happy Friday every one. I am off to the dentist today!
 
Last edited:
Dentist was a check up and cleaning but I need to replace my crown - I have a hole in it....from grinding my teeth. Wonder why that happens.:rolleyes:

DH is home to test and his +5 was a nice 7.2/130.
 
Last edited:
Hi Tracey, I think Jones is looking good with out the HC topper. Doesn't look like he's doing any diving. I saw 86 on the SS PM cycle on 2/2 which is still a nice safe number. You are following SLGS so 90 is the reduction, but it looks like you have raised that number since Jones is a long term diabetic and you test enough.

If it were my kitty, I would hold the HC for when he dose start to dive or drop quickly in the beginning of the cycle.

Sorry about the new crown that your grinded through. Ugh, ka ching ka ching. Do you have a mouth guard to wear at night to take the brunt of the grinding and save your teeth and crowns? The custom dental lab made ones are pricing, but you can get a football mouth guard kit at a sporting good store and follow the instructions to make one for your self . They work just as well, but you'll go through it faster than a custom one and they are fairly inexpensive and won't break the bank.
 
Thanks for the comments @Bobbie And Bubba

Yes, we have a 70 reduction number as he is over a year on insulin and he is still on the prednisolone.

DH is the only one home during the day, which is why I did the HC topper and then I was "course" correcting at night or weekends, but then I confused myself on what worked and what didn't, bounces, food issues - so I kept everything the same till I could get the food issues addressed. Now he is eating fairly well on his own, so now I want to see if I can drop the numbers without increasing the dose.

The crown is funny - it is gold. The dentist told me that they will replace it with porcelain. Quoted $1800. So I am looking at him and he says...don't worry we will give you the crown back and you can melt it. :eek::D. Ok, then I can pay you then! Thanks for the tip on the guard! They did mention it but there is only so much money in the wallet and a limit on the dental insurance!
 
Last edited:
crown back and you can melt it
Yes, you can take it to a cash for gold place and see what they will give you for it. I actually just took some gold jewelry I don't wear and I got 379 bucks for it. And it was at a jewelry store. So, if you have a relationship with a jewelry store, they tend to pay better than a cash for gold place. Every little bit helps.

When I left the dental field ( 4 years ago) crowns were about 1200-1500 dollars. I have a few to replace myself and NO dental insurance. whine :blackeye:
 
Ouch on the no insurance.
I have 2 crowns after the 50% was covered the first one cost me about $600, the second one was about $750.

I don't have a relationship with a jewelry store but do have a ton of gold and silver jewelry I don't wear anymore. And this huge honking man's ring I got for a 5 year service reward. It is like wearing a bowling bowl on your finger.
 
Ouch on the no insurance.
I have 2 crowns after the 50% was covered the first one cost me about $600, the second one was about $750.

I don't have a relationship with a jewelry store but do have a ton of gold and silver jewelry I don't wear anymore. And this huge honking man's ring I got for a 5 year service reward. It is like wearing a bowling bowl on your finger.
You could still call a few jewelry stores and ask if they would buy from you. The cash for gold places will take at least 25 % of your profit.
 
Never had an issue with prefilling syringes and I routinely do it. I have no choice. I cannot see clearly in the mornings to fill his syringe so I fill the night before for AMPS. I prefilled for five days when I had a pet sitter come who could not see to fill at all - again - didnt have any affect on his numbers so presumably the insulin was still effective. Sometimes you got to do what you got to do and don't have a lot of choice in the matter. I also feed two large meals and go out for the day and do the same at weekends. No huge plummet either. I am glad most of this is sumising and not facts as reading some of these posts can make you scared out of your mind for the safety of your cat when not all of us have the luxury of staying home all day.

Sorry if your condo is being hijacked - might have been better to start a new discussion thread as Jill suggested.
 
Last edited:
.

Sorry if your condo is being hijacked - might have been better to start a new discussion thread as Jill suggested.

As a courtesy to you, I moved the discussion with Elizabeth as you requested. I posted to my thread as I wanted to maybe drill down a bit more to be more specific to Jones but leave it open for peer review as Jill suggested.

Doesn't mean we can't have an open civilized discussion on absorption, potency, feeding, insulin handling etc, for all to read and interpret for their own needs.
 
Last edited:
... but perhaps a better idea is to open a discussion thread on the subject here in the L & L ISG. That way everyone can ask questions and/or offer input if they wish.
Sorry if your condo is being hijacked - might have been better to start a new discussion thread as Jill suggested.
I posted to my thread as I wanted to maybe drill down a bit more to be more specific to Jones but leave it open for peer review as Jill suggested.

There was a method to my madness... the reason for my suggestion to start a new thread was two-fold:

  • to honor Juliet's request
  • to open the discussion up to the entire group, rather than have it be about an individual cat... buried in a single cat's thread
The subject material has the potential to be informative and offers an opportunity for group participation... one that might have eventually been moved to Think Tank to benefit the entire board.

I have a full plate at the moment, but if/when I have time I may start a new thread and move the appropriate posts so they're included in the discussion.
 
Thanks Elizabeth. I think the absorption concept is one to keep in my tool belt, as a long-term diabetic that he will possibly be, it is something to keep in mind about moving his shots around. I didn't really understand the full ramifications of that.
 
@Myagi and Heidi

I am sure Jill will do that as soon as she can. It was bit of an eye opener as I was just trying to understand the reverse/non curve concept and reasons for it outside of a bounce (absorption issues) and how to read that is a SS, that lead to the potency issues which just blew my mind. Never really stopped to think about that there could be such an variance never mind the transportation concerns from the factory.

The concept of insulin as a replacement hormone and not a drug is easy to remember in the sense "it is a hormone" and as such is not as easy and taking a pill and tada something is fixed. It is more complex then that in a on the ground context - carb %, stress, appetite etc. Then you add in the variables of absorption, potency, insulin handling before you got it, etc...the mind really starts to bend a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top