2/9/11 - Shakes - Brainstorming!!$&%)# dance!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
so I have been going crazy over his numbers....
I was thinking last night that with getting 4 units..his neuropathy is actually
starting to get bad again in his front paws....I CAN NOT go through what we went through last year again...
so I started thinking last night that maybe he has been getting too much insulin...
He seems high for a day or 2 then he has a very low preshot...etc..
so his am today was 434, so I reduced to 3.7....
was expecting him to be high but he pmps was 361....shot 3.7
I think I am going to try to stick with the 3.7 for awhile to see what happnes...
ANy ideas are welcome!

Thanks :mrgreen:
 
I agree with you! Try the lower dose and see what it gives you. Truly, on lower doses for Kitty prior to tid, we might not have gotten as much downward movement in the cycle--BUT, the preshots were much better. We didn't drop down as far, but we didn't go into the reds and blacks on the preshots as much either--- it might be a trade off.

It is sure worth a try!

You liked the game Sunday, eh?
 
I like the 3.7/3.8 range too. It took him along time at 4 before he threw some surprises down there in the greens. Maybe he needs a nice long ride in this range?

You know him better than any of us ever could. He has been interesting lately with his greens and reds but you have just gone along fine.
 
So sorry to hear that Shakes is getting his neuropathy back again. Did he have it in his front paws last time too? I thought they could only get neuro in the back legs. Copper's is still bad in his back legs. I pray he doesn't get it in his front legs too, then he wouldn't be able to walk at all.

Glad to see his pmps went down. Praying that things will get better for Shakes.

Lori
 
Yes Kim that was a great game on Sunday...I had to work and watch
but it was a good one!

Sue, I think I am going to stick with this for awhile....
and pray he doesnt go into the 400's!

Lori
Yes when they get it really bad it can go to the front legs too!
LAst year his neuropathy was so bad he could only walk 2 or 3 steps at a time
I used to sleep on the floor every night just so I could carry him whereever he needed to go
but one year later and 5 B12 pills a day (still!)
he is walking and just started jumping again about a month or 2 ago...
I noticed a couple of days ago his front paws were starting to go down again...I am praying real
hard that his numbers start coming down and soon!!
 
Like the plan. Sometimes a dose too high can cause havoc in the preshots. Hope this works out for you and Shakes!
 
I"m giving Copper 3 zobaline's pills per day. I've thought about more, but i've heard conflicting info that it's the numbers that matter more than the b-12. I know you can't really overdose them on the b-12, they just pee out what they can't use, but they are so expensive. What do you think? Do you think the 5 pills really help and make a difference? I might go up to 4 pills per day. The lastest vet i went to said that copper might never get his legs back even if he regulates. That is so depressing to hear!

Hoping shakes gets better soon!

Lori
 
Poor Shakes, I hope this dose works for you Denise. I know it’s heartbreaking when you don’t know what to do for them.
Amazing how the B 12 works too. Good numbers vibes comin’ your way!
(((((hugs))))) :YMHUG:
 
Well it looks like I was probably giving too much insulin...
his +3.5 was 227
+5.5 was 147
so I am thinking 4 was too much....
so I will stick with it, or possibly lower a hair...

Lori,
my vet had told me that Shakes was most likely never regain his legs again...
but when she saw him last month she was amazed,
Shakes was VERY VERY bad...but the only thing that helped him was 5 pills a day...
even now when I lower to 4 pills a down for the last 2 weeks, his front legs started so I upped back to 5 pills
and hopefully he will be ok..

I have noticed also that the B12 pills keep him goin, (not constipated)
I buy mine at Whole foods, The bottle is 12.99 and it has 90 pills...so it lasts about 3 weeks
 
YEA! So glad you found out that it was too much insulin. I hate when you just don't know which way to go. So glad you know now. Hopefully Shakes will improve with good ps's. :RAHCAT

I didn't realized that the b-12 would work that well. You say you buy your's at whole foods. Is it just the b-12 only? What is the brand and dosage per pill. Maybe that would be cheaper than the zobaline. How much does shakes weigh? Copper is about 17lbs and holding. Used to be 21lbs. I will try to increase his zobaline and you say it takes about 2wks to see results? Encouraging to know someone else has had a vet say that and Shakes recovered. There just is no muscle left in hips for him to use. Trying to excercise him, but it looks like it hurts so much to walk on his hocks. We have all wood floors too and that makes it harder for him. Poor guy.

SO excited to hear about Shakes. Look forward to seeing his amps

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top