2/8 Zelda - AMPS 173 / +6 68 / +9 126 / PMPS 206

Peter Moore

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

So I'm doing ear medicine Baytril twice a day now (which is the standard dose; even though the prescription label says once a day) in case that is the explanation for the nighttime being so much better than day time.

I also just think that at 2 drops, the quantity and timing of food has a much bigger impact than before. If the bulk of the food is eaten during the insulin's peak action time, then by the time of the next injection - when the amount of insulin in her body is smallest - she's operating on a relatively empty stomach so blood sugar is normal. During the day when she eats more sporadically and gets treats for testing, there's more food in her system in the late afternoon when the insulin is wearing down. Since we're talking about DROPS all this is hugely significant. Even the carb difference between the different FF flavors might matter.

I'm just not sure we should change anything even with these numbers. She's got no DM symptoms, isn't losing weight, and urine strips are always zero for glucose or ketones. And what's the alternative? Back to 0.1 unit, plus leaving more carby food out at night, and always worrying that today's gonna be the day she decides to go hypo again?

I am looking into this though:

https://www.hamiltoncompany.com/lab...neral-syringes/microliter-syringes/700-series

They are appropriate for animal use (read animal testing :( ) and might be the trick to measuring 0.1 or even 0.75 reliably.
 
+6 68 :cat:

Only difference from yesterday: EAR MEDICINE THIS MORNING.

Is that a dose reduction? One presumes I didn't catch her nadir at exactly 68 and that we were or will be lime today.

PS - She ate half a can of FF immediately after the test and I will be home the rest of the day. I do need to go out tonight after her PM shot though. Depending on her PMPS I might have to stall the shot until I get back at 9 or 10 PM.
 
Last edited:
Haha pics or it didn't happen huh? Good deal. We'll see what the rest of the day brings. (it's rare for me to hope it doesn't go lower but this is one of those days :) )
 
@Mandy & Rex
Assuming it's still in that range or higher at PMPS and she eats well you don't think I need to worry about going out for a few hours after injecting do you? I'd be home by +4 or +5. It's just my first time leaving her alone immediately after shot in a couple weeks. :)

cc @majandra
 
Is there a reason you're not getting any night time BG readings? It's really difficult to say how Zelda responds at night to her insulin...cats do funny things at night...it would really be a good idea (a great idea) to get at least a 2+ in the PM.....if you can get more in the PM even better....but that 2+ will tell you a lot about what's coming for the evening...
 
Is there a reason you're not getting any night time BG readings? It's really difficult to say how Zelda responds at night to her insulin...cats do funny things at night...it would really be a good idea (a great idea) to get at least a 2+ in the PM.....if you can get more in the PM even better....but that 2+ will tell you a lot about what's coming for the evening...
Because I'm only testing pre-shot to make sure it's safe, and after that only if it's low enough to warrant continued monitoring. At some point more information no longer leads to better decisions (and can do the opposite).

Also this ear infection is obviously skewing the numbers so we can't make any conclusions until that variable is removed.
 
Last edited:
Hi, I know you prefer not to poke too often (and I am still pretty new at all this) but looking at Zelda's chart I see you're catching some greens recently, and her preshots have been lowering, which is awesome. Since many cats drop lower at night and this is her lowest pm preshot in a while I would really recommend doing a few tests through the night to see what she's doing, especially since we really have no idea what's going on at night. It would be great to catch a reduction (and stave off any potentially dangerous numbers).
 
Back
Top