2/8 Thomas AMPS 404

Jenn ~ Thomas

Member Since 2023
Enough already, oh Good morning!! Ok so I missed a dose a couple weeks ago so I knew his numbers would be wonky for a week. This week is still high. I read about the Lantus pen and it doesn't seem like it would be no good. It is a couple months old. no crystals floaters arrrrrgh. Thomas is acting fine though not peeing on the floor but maybe 3 times in the past 2 weeks. Usually it is 2x a day!!!
 
Here is your last post for continuity https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-23-thomas-amps-268.285913/

I’d like to offer a few observations. It has likely been mentioned in the past, but it bears repeating that with SLGS you hold a dose for a week, then evaluate by running a curve, although getting random spot checks when you can during that week really helps to fill in the missing pieces.

From the SLGS dosing method sticky:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
Unfortunately with only preshots you aren’t able to get a good sense of how the dose is working, particularly details on where he onsets, nadirs and how much duration he’s getting. From the Basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Since you’ve held this dose now for 18 days, it sure would be good to find some time maybe this weekend to run a curve ;). I know you have limitations for testing due to work, but even catching an out the door test, or some spot checks before bed really offer valuable information, in addition to that weekly curve data. I’ve seen more that a few spreadsheets where cats start off in pink and get into low blues or greens then pop back up by next preshot, so any tests you can get mid cycle are worth their weight in gold. Right now, we don’t know if you should increase, decrease, or keep holding the dose.
 
Back
Top