2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308, PMPS 361

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=54623#p54623

Good Morning everyone,
Stu seems to want to have a bit of a bounce back this morning, but maybe he'll get some yellows and blues later. This evening begins a new 3-day cycle, but, depending on what his numbers are for the rest of today, I'm inclined to hold the current dose (2.50 units) a while longer to see if his downward trend of the last few days continues. Your guidance would be much appreciated. Stu is fine and doing all of the normal cat things. Everyone have a good day!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349

You can go up to 2.75 this evening.
But you can also wait 1 more day I think.
If you are @home during day so you can monitor the effect of the new dose you could also increase tomorrow morning.

Good luck! And let's give Stu some blue day's. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349

Good morning Ella

I would suggest waiting to see what the day brings and hopefully u can get a better idea by PMPS time
add Dose Q to ur subject line by then if ur not sure.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349, +3 269, +6 233. Increase dose?

Thanks for your input, Ella and Ronnie. I'll get another reading at +9 this afternoon and then the PMPS reading. If we're still in pinks or higher yellows at PMPS maybe his dose should be raised by .25 to 2.75 this evening. Thanks for keeping an eye on Stu.

Ella
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308. Increase dose?

Perhaps to clarify from the Tight Regulation Protocol which is what most dosing decisions are usually based on. Doses are not necessarily changed after 3 days. They are, in some cases, held longer.

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days.

Stu has had nadirs in the 100s in the past few days. I would suggest that you consider what the protocol has to say and, as Ronnie suggested, wait until this evening when there will be some experienced Lantus users to provide you with additional input.
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308. Increase dose?

Ella, your instincts are good! I agree with Sienne, once the cat starts to get blue numbers, we have to slow down and give the increases some settling time so we don't miss the ideal dose. We wait at least 10 cycles before increasing when nadirs are in the 100's, and sometimes longer than that depending on what the numbers tell us. Stu is doing well, today's numbers are likely just a little bit of rebound from the blues.
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308. Increase dose?

Thanks Libby and Sienne, Ella and Ronnie. PMPS is 361. I have decided to hold the current dose for another 24-48 hours in the hopes that today was indeed a bounce back. I so much appreciate your help and your experience in dealing with feline diabetes. Stu thanks you, too! (He is at this moment enthusiastically digging in to a new flavor (for him) of EVO canned food: 95% venison.)

Ella
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308. Increase dose?

Great!

venison eh? let me know how he likes that flavour

PS: since ur good to go, can u clear ur Q from ur subject line? holy cow - lots of Q's tonight! :lol:
 
Re: 2/8 Stu AMPS 349,+3 269,+6 233,+9 308. Increase dose?

oooh, he likes the venison? I just bought some of that but haven't tried it yet.
 
Yep, he loves the EVO venison (I think he was getting a little tired of the EVO turkey & chicken, which he has been eating almost exclusively for the last 3 1/2 years).
"Increase dose?"
has been removed from the subject line. Everyone have a good evening and we'll be in touch tomorrow. Thanks again.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top