2/8 Simon PMPS 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Sorry I haven't posted over the last few days. It has been a crazy time. Simon started to not feel well again and his blood sugar has been really high. I upped the insulin and today is a little better. He is still getting daily fluids, cerenia, Pepcid, and ondanstron. He is eating but it is a struggle to get him to finish any low carb food (thus the higher bg). I have been mixing a small amount of FF medleys in the LC food and that seems to be helping. He still is alert and cuddly, but moving slow.

On top of issues with Simon, a friend of mine just lost her son -- he committed suicide. He has struggled for the last 20 years with overwhelming depression -- such a horrible illness. As you can imagine, she is devastated. Please keep her in your prayers.

I may not be able to get on the board today because of meetings that go late tonight, but I will be thinking about you! Have a great Monday.
 
Re: 2/8 Simon AMPS 257

I'm sorry Simon hasn't been feeling as well...I agree, the kitty''s gotta eat, so give him what he'll eat! Hopefully the increased dose will help with the extra carbs.

How horrible for your friend. Sending tons of prayers to her...
 
Re: 2/8 Simon AMPS 257

Hi Georgia,
I hope that the added juice will help Simon to feel better. Amy is right: eating is the most important thing and if you have to make adjustments in the dose, so be it.

So sorry to hear about your friend's son. Please extend our sympathy to her.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/8 Simon AMPS 257

Morning Georgia ~O) ~O) ~O)

I too am sorry Simon hasn't been feeling the best. The higher BG's can do that too. I too would feed him what he will eat, adjust the insulin as needed. Eating is so important, the rest can be adjusted. Surf well today Simon, Feel good vines for you.

My condolences to your friend and the loss of her son. How sad... Please extend my sympathies as well.

I hope your day goes well today.
 
Re: 2/8 Simon AMPS 257

Hi Georgia,

So sorry to hear Simon isn't feeling well. I'm sure everything you're doing for him will help him feel better, and feeding him whatever he'll eat is a key to that. You can adjust the insulin now and get him back on track when he's recovered. Sending lots of healing vines.

How sad about your friend's son. The worst thing is the confusion and guilt felt by those left behind. My heart goes out to them.
 
Re: 2/8 Simon AMPS 257

I hope Simon starts feeling better soon and eats good for you. Sending prayers for your friend.
 
Simon has a perfect 100! I guess the extra little bit of juice helped him today. Unfortunately, my DH did not get the memo about the dose increase (although I told him about it -- probably not listening!) so Simon did not get the right dose tonight. Hopefully, he will continue to give me good numbers this evening. DH did tell me that he ate all of his fuds tonight without coaxing!

Thank you for all the thoughts and prayers for my friend. She has lots of guilt going on and it doesn't help that her church does not look kindly on suicide. I'm not sure if they will even let her do the memorial service in the church, even though she has been a faithful member for many years. :cry:
 
Continuing vines for Simon. Agree with the others, whatever he will eat right now. As my boss at the animal sanctuary taught me, "It ain't food if they don't eat it."

Such sadness for your friend. Terrible loss filled with what ifs. I'm glad she has you to help her through.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top