2/8 Rosa AMPS 282 +4 168 +6 133 +7 119 +10 86 PMPS 70 +0.5 (no shot) 57 +1 59 +2 108 +3 90

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like we might only be making it as far as blue today, but still pleased with that given the fur shot last night :)
 
Apparently she's not done yet - still dropping at +10. Is she trying to make me shoot my first green number maybe? ;)
 
That's one word for it, yes ;) Though if she is still green at PMPS I'm tempted to go ahead and shoot anyway - I've had 3 fairly good nights' sleep so I could handle a late night better today than I could have done a couple of days ago. Though if she's much below the 100, I'll check in for advice first!
 
I certainly hope so - though this is Rosa we're talking about. She's all full of surprises for me almost every cycle at the moment!!

Oh wow - she just jumped from the floor onto the back of the couch for the first time in I can't remember how long :D It was a bit of a scramble for her to make the last couple of inches but she's clearly feeling great today! :D
 
Last edited:
Still dropping - now she's down to 70. Is that too low for a shot? I'm just not sure anymore - my vet said 200 but they weren't aiming for green numbers at all (they thought 180 was a good target)
 
@Marje and Gracie. Could you let me know what you think on this one please? 70 is way lower than I've shot before - I'm just not sure whether to go ahead or not as she seems to have been dropping slowly the last few hours anyway.
 
Hi Chris - didn't see you online when I was tagging! OK, I'll test her again now - it's been about 20 minutes and see what's happening with her
 
OK, now she's at 57. I don't think I can shoot that - and I've no idea how she's so low over 12 hours after her AM shot either!!
 
I am not a dosing expert, but I would NOT shoot if she is still dropping. Usually if she was about the same or coming up, I would be more inclined, but if it were Skooter, I would probably not be shooting her.

Hopefully someone smarter with dosing will be along shortly to help as well, but that would be my advise....
 
Your choices are going to be to skip tonight or shoot a reduced dose.....like half her scheduled dose just to keep some insulin into her

You'd want to get a +1 (or even a +.5) and keep track of her

You also have to be able to test tonight and have plenty of supplies
 
Thank you - I'm just stalling at the moment and waiting for opinions. I'm very wary of shooting when she's still dropping over 12 hours from her last shot and is close to heading low.
 
I could try the half dose - I do have supplies to test her frequently and bring her back up if necessary. I'd rather not skip another shot if I don't have to but that number's so low I don't think I can give her the full dose either.
 
She should get a food spike to help get her up some too...the problem with stalling too long without feeding is they can keep dropping (you haven't done that..just FYI)
 
Hubby's suggesting stalling another half hour to make sure she doesn't go down even further without the shot - does that sound reasonable?
 
I don't have any dosing advice, but I can tell you that I skipped last night with Sami because she was at 88 and dropping at +13. I was very disappointed this morning when she was back up over 500.

You need to do what you feel comfortable with and accept the consequences if there are any.

If I had it to do over again, I would probably go with a reduced dose and monitor closely. What I didn't factor in when I decided to skip is that Sami was bound to have a rise due to eating, which is exactly what happened.
 
If you stall too long, she may just keep dropping since she hasn't had any food yet...It's up to you...stalling for 1 hour isn't too bad as long as you can move your shot time back tomorrow so the shot's 12 hours after tonights...but if she keeps dropping, you're going to be in the same boat you're in now...shoot or skip

I'd probably go ahead and feed/shoot a reduced dose and just be ready to intervene if necessary
 
I can move it by an hour - it can be moved back over the next few days easily enough. Though I'll have to call it one way or the other at the end of the hour - she's not going to wait much longer for food anyway!
 
Shooting green is a bit nerve racking at first, but you will get addicted to them very quickly :)

Can you maybe split the difference, retest in 15 instead of 30 and go from there?
 
Wow, Rosa, you're full of surprises! I don't know enough to advise you, but I want to make sure you know that if you stall, that will push back your shot time in the morning, then you will have to work your way back to your normal time. Does that work for you? The more experienced members can give you details on how to work your way back. And everything else for that matter! GO ROSA!!!!!!
 
Yeah, moving it an hour isn't an issue at the moment - we don't have anything planned over the next few days that would force the 6/6 schedule. If she was in the upper 80's or 90's I'd go ahead and shoot but now she's into the 50's there's hardly any wiggle room anyway.

She does like to surprise - I had no idea Lantus could nadir after the next shot time, but it certainly looks like it has for her today!
 
The final decision has to be yours

I'll shoot China if she's above 50, but we have lots of data on how she reacts to food and I know I can keep her safe if I have to.

When you feed Rosa, she should come up some, but at this point, I think you'd be totally justified to either skip or shoot a reduced dose tonight....Maybe .75 or even .5 just to keep something in her
 
I'm sorry, April. We were having dinner so I'm just now seeing this. I'd test every thirty minutes at this point for as long as you can stall and shoot the rise with the full dose.

This is a perfect example ...and perfect teaching time...for why we want to shoot on time for a situation like tonight. She hadn't really come down much from 86 to 70 and you've handled low numbers. If you had shot, you could have fed, and she'd be on the way up. By stalling, now she's dropping to a number that you don't feel comfortable shooting.
 
I'll post up her number at the end of the hour either way. Still debating what to do depending on her number - she could have done this earlier today...she really is a brat sometimes!! ;) :p


Yeah, Sami tends to give me surprises just before I want to go to bed. They have a schedule all their own.
 
OK, thank you - I'll know for next time :) Shooting low numbers still makes me nervous - even if she's just above the 100 I'm hesitant at this point so seeing her as low as 70 just brought my plans to a standstill.
 
Also remember that if we stall, we typically don't shoot a reduced dose because stalling acts like a reduced dose. It doesn't mean you can't, it's just like a double whammy :)
 
You're still pretty new to the sugardance April!!

You just gradually shoot lower and lower numbers as you learn how Rosa responds until you're shooting anything over 50....and you LOVE shooting green numbers because they tend to just surf right along....although they can surprise you too!

It's something that just comes with time and testing
 
Shooting low numbers still makes me nervous - even if she's just above the 100 I'm hesitant at this point so seeing her as low as 70 just brought my plans to a standstill.

Low numbers used to scare me, but it didn't last long once I was able to see how the low number didn't mean Skooter was gonna drop to a hypo situation. He likes to nadir early in his cycle, which is nice, but you will start to get addicted to the green preshot numbers and get a little disappointed when you don't get them.

But the first few times, it is a bit scary, but again, by shooting the lower number you sill see it will keep her steady most of the time and not drop by half two hours after shot time.....After shooting the lower numbers a few times, I was really relieved and it put me more at ease...
 
She's still just about the same at 59. And she's hungry and not happy about waiting any longer for food of course. Hubby really wants me to skip this dose - it worries him when she goes low that we might not be able to get her back up. He wasn't really happy even with the 86 I got at +10 (though I think I would have shot that). I think next time I would just shoot and monitor, but now she's down in the 50's I might have to skip this one and get a couple of tests through the evening to see where she gets to in the next few hours.
 
It's your call, as Chris said.

If you skip, do you have any questions for the next time?

I think the biggest take home is that if you have all the supplies and you can monitor, and since you've handled low numbers, the next time she gives you a number above 50, don't feed her, post and ask for help with the intent to shoot unless an experienced member tells you it is not safe.

Taking advantage of carryover and overlap is a major move forward in her care. Those two concepts can help provide those nice, long green cycles.
 
OK, skipped and fed her (she was already annoyed about waiting for food without me making her wait longer) but I'm going to monitor her for a few hours anyway. I do have the luxury at the moment of a flexible schedule so I can revisit the shot after her food spike drops back if it looks like she's going to go very high.

As long as I have some sort of plan to stick to, it should be an easier decision next time - I probably should have just shot the 70...it just panicked me a bit that she was still dropping at her pre-shot. I'll know better for next time - still learning of course. Thank you all for the help. :)
 
Rosa, if that's your food spike I'm not really all that impressed. Or maybe I am - but not in relation to you being ready for a shot in another hour.
 
Uhm - she came back down after her food spike...without a shot. I'm confused now - does that mean she's still producing a little of her own insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top