?? 2/8 Purrdy AMPS 193 +4 112 +6 135 PMPS 182 +3 115 +4.5 101 itchy trigger finger - increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 167
+3 122
+5 115
PMPS 121
+2 121
+4 94 :D first green in Western Australia :D

Vyktor and Purrdy seemed to have settled into amiably swearing at each other when they spy each other. This morning when Vyktor wandered back in past Purrdys door after his walk he couldn't even be bothered working up a good swear just a little shut up you idiot at Purrdy's hissing. He swore worse at me for taking him out for his walk!

Gave Purrdy a brush yesterday which he seemed to enjoy until I let him sniff the brush - which is Vyktor's - he got rather hissy and sailor like after that!

Teehee Vyktor is in fine form, he just chased off the interloper I call stalker cat (because of her habit of sneaking up on Meg) well ok he didn't quite chase her off himself but he yelled at me from the patio to do it for him :)
 
Last edited:
Woo hoo on the green last night. I hope Purrdy heads back there today. I'm glad Purrdy and Vyktor aren't getting really wound up about each other.
 
Work it Purrdy - bean's daughter has issue a threat!

Sounds like a truce going on at your house. Not bad for so soon after the arrival.
 
Unless we see something interesting tonight, and by interesting I mean something less than the 90s, I'm thinking it's time for an increase tomorrow - thoughts?

Decided Purrdy needed some desensitisation this afternoon so I gave Vyktor a good rubbing and then went in and rubbed all over Purrdy, he hissed the whole time. He has the funniest little quiet hiss, very cute. I hope he wasn't too offended that I laughed at him!
 
The position on an increase (or not) is a bit interesting. The QLD version of the protocol would have us holding the dose at this point because he's generally staying between 200 and 50. Our version only talks about increases and reductions, it doesn't talk about holding the dose. I feel like I want to increase to the point where he says no thanks no more by earning a reduction - either by staying in normal numbers or by dropping under 50 - and/or he's mostly green but perhaps that thinking isn't right???

Why is it that we consider the healing numbers to be under 120?
 
Last edited:
Hi Serryn,

From 50 to ca. 120 is the range of blood-glucose numbers for a normal cat (a cat who doesn't have diabetes). These "normal" numbers are our goal, and we try to attain them with insulin (or with diet--as is the case with Vyktor, who is still considered diabetic even though he is diet-controlled). The longer a cat can stay in these numbers in every cycle, the better the pancreas heals.
Of course, it can take a while to get a cat well regulated. Often if you make dose changes too frequently the numbers get wonky. Lantus likes consistency and needs to re-calibrate the shed every time you make a dose change. That is the reason for holding the dose for the required number of cycles before adjusting it (except in those "exceptions" noted in the stickies). With Purrdy, since you are just getting to know his trends, perhaps it wouldn't be a bad idea to hold the current dose for a few more cycles.

Anyway, see what the others think. I am one of those who likes to hold a dose as long as possible, but that is because Rusty is a long-term diabetic (since 2008) and will probably never be OTJ.

You forgot to rub Purrdy's scent on Vyktor. It's a 2-way street!!!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Morning Serryn :coffee::coffee::coffee:

My reaction is to hold the dose too. I like what Ella wrote, and how ll is with Purrdy. See how things are in a few more cycles? His numbers right now are within range and actually fairly good ones. Good luck!

It's nice to read that Vyktor and Purrdy are getting to know each other. Love the rubs, and the hisses.

Enjoy your day today. I hope you have a great one!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top