2/8 Pearl AMPS 106....PMPS 59, +0.5 90, +1 97, +2 93, +3.75 90

Look at how those pinks and yellows have given way to blues and greens! You're doing great with Pearl. I experimented a lot with different carb levels with Ruby. For a while she was dropping so quickly between +2 and +3 that I was giving her 7-8% carbs at shot time to keep her afloat. She doesn't do those dramatic drops anymore but now I wonder if higher carb will get her pancreas to do its thing without the help of the ol' insulin. Still working on it. Have a lovely day, Margaret!
 
Some cats do better with slightly higher carbs. Lc is under. 10 % so 3% is still very low. And she looks green great these days!:D
Yes, she is looking good and the 3% carb is affecting her less than it used to (it used to SPIKE her BG levels believe it or not!) So I am happy with the change, and I hope she stays in this healthy green range now for al ong time!
 
Look at how those pinks and yellows have given way to blues and greens! You're doing great with Pearl. I experimented a lot with different carb levels with Ruby. For a while she was dropping so quickly between +2 and +3 that I was giving her 7-8% carbs at shot time to keep her afloat. She doesn't do those dramatic drops anymore but now I wonder if higher carb will get her pancreas to do its thing without the help of the ol' insulin. Still working on it. Have a lovely day, Margaret!
Thanks Katherine! We'll get there, get these little gem girls (Ruby and Pearl) all figured out!
 
Pearl is looking great!

I have also been recently wondering if hercs respond different to HC than any C....and I am not sure. I was using a lot of HC last week, and decide to see what happened with less, and it seems the same as long as i feed him a little bit every hour or so :confused:
 
Ok everyone I don't understand why Pearl is lowest for the whole AM cycle now at +10. This is quite unusual for her. Should I be concerned about a possible no-shoot situation in 2 hours (7pm EST)? What is the no-shoot number?
 
On TR, it's <50 on a human meter.

Jax used to double-dip in his cycles. Made for "fun" PMPS.

FWIW, she's still flat from +9 and her cycle looks similar to 02/06. You can get a +11.5 to get a glimpse into her PMPS. Just my two cents, I'm sure others will be by.
Thanks Susanne! I am terrified of a shot in the 70s or lower (!), but I know I can do it. Yeah, I am used to a little lowering at the end of her cycle, but not anything that challenges the early NADIR. Now I may need to re-figure all my patterns for her in my head :confused:
 
Oh good I'm glad you read that post then! SHOOT! And feed :) can give a scoop of MC if you want.
 
Oh good I'm glad you read that post then! SHOOT! And feed :) can give a scoop of MC if you want.
Yes, I shot, just now! I gave her 3 tsp of her 3% food (she is very carb sensitive and historically this is her MC food), so I don't know at these numbers (PMPS is 59) if this is enough carb content or not. This is the lowest we have ever been...do I test in 30 minutes or an hour for 50s? THANK YOU SUSANNE!
 
Yes, I shot, just now! I gave her 3 tsp of her 3% food (she is very carb sensitive), so I don't know at these numbers (PMPS is 59) if this is enough carb content or not. This is the lowest we have ever been...do I test in 30 minutes or an hour for 50s? THANK YOU SUSANNE!
If it were me (and I test a lot lol), I would test in 30 just to make sure she's steady or rising. Then I'd get a +1 and go from there. I've shot pretty low before (I'm in the "I've shot a 50" club :p) and usually it results in a beautiful flat cycle. Of course ECID and all that jazz.
 
If it were me (and I test a lot lol), I would test in 30 just to make sure she's steady or rising. Then I'd get a +1 and go from there. I've shot pretty low before (I'm in the "I've shot a 50" club :p) and usually it results in a beautiful flat cycle. Of course ECID and all that jazz.
Ok will do and thank you!
 
Get a test at +1 and depending on where that is, it will indicate whether there is any food bump. Just also keep in mind that when a cat is angling for a reduction, the *usual* carbs that seem to prop them up don't work anymore.
 
If it were me (and I test a lot lol), I would test in 30 just to make sure she's steady or rising. Then I'd get a +1 and go from there. I've shot pretty low before (I'm in the "I've shot a 50" club :p) and usually it results in a beautiful flat cycle. Of course ECID and all that jazz.
Susanne, Pearl is pretty hungry, like really hungry. Do I give more amount gramwise than my usual feeding?
 
Get a test at +1 and depending on where that is, it will indicate whether there is any food bump. Just also keep in mind that when a cat is angling for a reduction, the *usual* carbs that seem to prop them up don't work anymore.
Thank you Christie. Yes this is what I am worried about, Pearl has never been near needing a reduction before, definitely our first rodeo. I know if below 50 to give a drop of the maple syrup or a higher carb food (I have 13% and 24%) but I have never needed to use these before. In general Pearl has been so carb sensitive that 3% functions as her MC, but since she is now in the blues and greens so much I haven't been able to determine just how well the 3% works anymore as a MC.
 
Susanne, Pearl is pretty hungry, like really hungry. Do I give more amount gramwise than my usual feeding?
I usually fed Jax's usual amount, sometimes subbing some of it for his MC - not sure if @Christie & Maverick wants to chime in with her experience. My guess is she's not used to the lower numbers and their body is freaking out a bit (but in a safe place) and thinks it needs to eat.
 
I usually fed Jax's usual amount, sometimes subbing some of it for his MC - not sure if @Christie & Maverick wants to chime in with her experience. My guess is she's not used to the lower numbers and their body is freaking out a bit (but in a safe place) and thinks it needs to eat.
Ok, I gave her normal amount and subbed more of the 3% in for her usual 0%. No idea yet if this made any difference I will test in 15 minutes. Thank you!
 
Thanks Susanne! I am terrified of a shot in the 70s or lower (!), but I know I can do it. Yeah, I am used to a little lowering at the end of her cycle, but not anything that challenges the early NADIR. Now I may need to re-figure all my patterns for her in my head :confused:
Looks like Pearl wanted to nadir @+12 today:D. Nadirs can move around. Butters nadirs @+12 on many cycles, but today was @+5 and last night was @+4. It's good you are going through this as it gives you an opportunity to collect data and be more comfortable with this scenario.
Congrats on shooting that 59!
 
Looks like Pearl wanted to nadir @+12 today:D. Nadirs can move around. Butters nadirs @+12 on many cycles, but today was @+5 and last night was @+4. It's good you are going through this as it gives you an opportunity to collect data and be more comfortable with this scenario.
Congrats on shooting that 59!
Yes I know that Pearl is like Butters in that they usually NADIR early. I hope this late NADIR doesn't become a habit!
 
Well now I don't know what to make of things. She is 90 @+0.5. Should I assume this is the rise from the end of her previous cycle? Is this normal to go from 59 to 90 in 30 min? Or did I screw it up by giving the 3% food? Thoughts?
 
Actually, I'd say Butters is generally a late nadir cat even though sometimes she nadirs early and other times she will nadir mid-cycle.
Late nadirs have their advantages:). I love getting a +12 nadir because it gives you that opportunity to take advantage of the overlap. We will see what Pearl does tonight. Hopefully shooting that 59 keeps her in greens longer!
 
Actually, I'd say Butters is generally a late nadir cat even though sometimes she nadirs early and other times she will nadir mid-cycle.
Late nadirs have their advantages:). I love getting a +12 nadir because it gives you that opportunity to take advantage of the overlap. We will see what Pearl does tonight. Hopefully shooting that 59 keeps her in greens longer!
I don't know if I messed it all up. She is now 90. How does tha teven happen?!
 
It could be a food bump or it could be the natural rise at the end of the cycle (remember she nadired @+12), or maybe a bounce starting? Keep collecting data and maybe we can figure it out!
No you didn't screw anything up. This is all still a bit of an experiment.
 
Look at you, Margaret...shooting that 59! It’s only been a few weeks since you shot your first green. I feel so proud!!!
WELL I would be lying if I told you I wasn't petrified. I realized later just how tense I was and not breathing super deep at the time. :nailbiting:

And check out how the PMPS 3 tsp of 3% carb held her over - amazing how little carb did that.

Thanks for teaching me the ropes, I am learning! Even when I am terrified I just tell myself "trust the process", "don't overthink this", "you've got tons of data". Pearl is a champ though and doing great. Moving around to her usual haunts, which she had forsaken for months not feeling well. So it's nice to see her back enjoying those sunny spots and places where she can watch the activity outside.

I hope the fact that it's not been too long since we started getting greens is a good omen for her going into remission.
 
Last edited:
WELL I would be lying if I told you I wasn't petrified. I realized later just how tense I was and not breathing super deep at the time. :nailbiting:

And check out how the PMPS 3 tsp of 3% carb held her over - amazing how little carb did that.

Thanks for teaching me the ropes, I am learning! Even when I am terrified I just tell myself "trust the process", "don't overthink this", "you've got tons of data". Pearl is a champ though and doing great. Moving around to her usual haunts, which she had forsaken for months not feeling well. So it's nice to see her back enjoying those sunny spots and places where she can watch the activity outside.

I hope the fact that it's not been too long since we started getting greens is a good omen for her going into remission.
You are doing great and I’m glad Pearl is doing so well.
 
Back
Top