2/8 Oberon PMPS 122, +1 148, +3 114, +4.5 82, +5.75 58

DH gave some HC right at +10... hoping the preshot BG isn't still influenced by it but I went ahead and shot the regular dose. We'll see what he does with it.
 
So far so good... I'll recheck at +3 or so.

Reposting a question I asked last night when there wasn't a lot of board activity:

Thinking ahead a bit... his dental cleaning is scheduled for Friday. But (a) we're supposed to be getting a bit of snow (and it's an hour and a half away) and (b) we appear to be going through a process technically known as "Jane, get me off this crazy thing!" with his dosing. I'm wondering whether it might make sense to postpone until things are a bit more stable. The cleaning isn't urgent, and it might be better to avoid travel, anesthesia, recovery, etc. while he's diving like this. Thoughts? (One possible downside: if I delay too long they might want bloodwork done again; I don't know how recent they want it to be.)
 
I'd go ahead with the dental, weather permitting. Until you have had xrays done, you don't know if there's an issue below the gum line. If there are extractions, you would get some inflammation, which would boost the numbers. I'm a bit worried that if there is something else happening in his mouth, he'll be turning it around and going up dose again. In other words, don't let his current numbers craziness deter you, but 1.5 hours away in snow might. Typically you'd shoot just half dose the morning of the dental, you could also trim it a bit the night before to drain the depot some. Some people even skip the morning of if they think it'll be an active cycle. I once dropped Neko's dose down to 0.1 units, and she still hit 72 on the AT at the dental vet. :rolleyes:
 
Thanks, that helps. What they've told me to do is skip his morning meal (no food after 10 pm) and insulin, and bring the insulin with me so they can give it to him afterwards. Obviously that's going to mess with his schedule and it would be better to skip altogether than give it a few hours late. I suspect they aren't familiar with how the depot insulins work. I can wait to see what he's up to the night before and then decide about a skip vs. BCS. I suppose I could also bring the R and if he really spikes have them give a little of that, but since I think I need to redo the scale that's probably not a great idea.

The forecast is driving me nuts. 4", or 6", or snow the day before and rain Friday, or 2", or frogs... I don't know what to expect at this point. I'd rather not dither around and then end up cancelling at the last minute, but I also don't want to postpone if I don't have to.
 
What they've told me to do is skip his morning meal (no food after 10 pm)
OK, this is a little old fashioned. Newer protocols for diabetic cats undergoing anaesthesia say a small meal (maybe 1/3 of food) early in the AM. For Neko it was before 6AM at her dental vet. At worst case, no food after 12 from other vets. Usually no food after 10 is for non diabetics. When I got the "no food after 10" guidelines from the front desk staff, I'd remind them she was diabetic and get them to double check with the vet, and then the instructions would be corrected. You can always "forget" to bring the insulin in for them to shoot. Depending on what type of anaesthesia induction drug they use, it could drop the BG's. There is a new type of drug being used in the US now, though maybe not everywhere, that doesn't do the BG drops. In Canada the new drug is commonly used.
 
Looked at the emailed instructions again... it's boilerplate and says no food after 10, but call for instructions if diabetic. So hopefully they're actually more up to date. I'll call tomorrow or Wednesday to make sure they give me proper instructions for Lantus. I'm also drafting something to send in with him that has a summary of his background and current insulin dose, etc. If they got his records from my vet that's a mountain of stuff to slog through, so I want them to have a one page summary (and explanation of Lantus dose and scheduling).

There's a critter in my wall and the kitten is trying to dig through to get to it. Hmm.
 
It's the wall between the basement and garage. It's possible the critter (mouse?) is actually in the garage rather than in the wall itself. It just occurred to me that I have a big bag of dry cat food on the workbench right there. I suspect there's a very happy mouse on my workbench. But if I open the door to check, I'll have at least three cats in the garage. Plus it's cold out there... might just have to wait until morning.
 
Back
Top