2/8 Ming PMPS = 72, +1 = 65, +2 = 47, +2.5 = 113, +3 = 121, +4 = 99, +6 =85, +8=67

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-7-ming-pmps-457-2-437-amps-374-2-335-6-376.210481/

Soooooooooooo... he did a blood test on Wednesday night and his fPLI was at 34.1 (normal is 0 to 3.5). Vet doesn't want to do anything to his pred dose but said if he starts displaying symptoms, may need to increase his dose.

She also said his ALP (not sure what that is but I assume something with the liver) is elevated most likely from the pred and to start hepatosupport supplements. Anyone know anything about this?

After hearing this, I gave Ming some bupe and my mom pilled him with cerenia. But it probably went in the wrong way because he started salivating, coughing, and then vomited. He went to eat a little bit afterwards and then loafed in front of his water bowl which is usually a "bad" sign so I gave him an injection of ondansetron.

We did find a spot of brown liquid before his AM meal so that might have been him vomiting. Two days ago, my sister also found two spots of clear liquid in her room that might have been Ming. Both times, we suspected maybe he's vomiting because he was too hungry.

Also he's getting low so I'm monitoring hourly to make sure he's safe. I suspect a busy night for myself.

Do you think his large dose is due to his chronic pancreatitis? Or are we still suspecting IAA? Or both??

I've attached his blood results.
 
Crista, Olive's glucoses started going up which caused doses to go up because of pancreatitis. Her value was over 100. Her doses doubled, so yes more insulin for Olive was needed. She is a higher than normal to begin with she was 8.25 units went down to 4.5 units then started going back up and didn't know why. Went back up to 8.75 units. After 6 weeks she is coming back down now. We treated with bupre which she will now always be on. B12 injections, continue with gabapentin. Subq fluids to keep flushed (for awhile longer) but being very cautious because of heart.

She has never lost appetite or vomited but she pretty much eats every 2-3 hrs around the click. Smokey required meals every 2 hrs or he vomited bile , his case was different though.
 
Olive's glucoses started going up which caused doses to go up because of pancreatitis

Thanks @Olive & Paula for the insights, as always :) I guess the goal now is not regulation but more to combat whatever is happening with the pancreas.

B12 injections,
What does the b12 help with?

I might consider giving subq fluids regularly now then.

She has never lost appetite or vomited but she pretty much eats every 2-3 hrs around the click. Smokey required meals every 2 hrs or he vomited bile

This might also be Ming's case then. He always seems to stop eating "suddenly" after vomiting like crazy "suddenly" so my mom might be right. He might always be living with ever changing fPLI values and it doesn't get bad until it's bad. My mom said the last time he was hospitalized before being hospitalized in October (so sometime in the summer of 2018, the vet said his fPLI values were 500+. So 34 doesn't seem bad in Mingland lol).

Hm! Then I might have to consider giving Ming food much more frequently to avoid vomiting up bile. Is there any reason why they do that? Does an empty stomach irritate the pancreas?

Edit: we did an fPLI test a few weeks after his hospitalization in October and his values were within normal range. I believe his number was 2.9 or something.
 
+8.5 = 52

Gave a spoonful of HC FF gravy. Should I have not given HC until he’s truly under 50? 2 points above doesn’t seem to matter but let me know

My sister is monitoring. I’m out running errands. She’ll test in 30 mins.
 
B12 is used for multiple reasons. For Olive we started because of her lethargic state and possible kidney disease although the kidney is still debatable. Her labs will indicate possible kidney but then next labs are normal. So it's possible the acro causes fluctuations in the values, then the pancreatitis on top of it could be throwing the values off again. It will also help neuropathy if it's present. Olive has weak back legs which can also be a sign of kidney disease. I have always given zobaline because it helps with the nerve pain in her back (acro) when I have stopped it you can see the pain (tingling, like your arm falling asleep) returns. Tried to stop it 3 times now each time the nerve pain returned so she will stay on that as well as the injections. Even if Dr doesn't believe me.

Her p'titis test I think is the other one than what Ming had so value range is different.

If you look at her labs in ss. All of them are there. You will see they were elevated (previous vet) then went down, then up again and then even higher this last time. So new vet Dr. P thinks Olive is chronic constant state of p'titis.

I can only tell you what it is with Olive and what seems to be working for now. I don't know if anything will or not work with Ming. Remember Olive has acro, hcm, and abdominal mass, and what appears to be chronic constipation now.

Empty stomach I would think could irritate but not sure in regards to pancreas. Smokey was an empty stomach kitty. All his life he vomited and previous owners as far as I know never looked into. When I got him he wasn't even fed regularly and sometimes not fed at all for a day or two and he was diabetic, then it was dry food. I had to feed him every hour, then 2 hrs for months so as not to overload and shock his systems. I could never get him to go 3 hrs on a regular basis, once in a blue moon he could go 3 hrs but it was so rare. His story is in my profile. Took months to retrain to use box again.
 
You don't want to give HC so late in the cycle. The insulin is already wearing off so you might see a higher PMPS than if you had given LC.

Ok got it.

If he does go lower than 50 but in the 40s, do I still abstain from HC if it’s late in the cycle?
 
Oh oops. I think messed up all the times. We’re actually an hour ahead and shot time is in 50 minutes.

I’ll be home in 10 mins and will fix everything once I’m off mobile.
 
+7.5 = 86
+8.5 = 56
+9.5 = 52
+10 = 47
+10.5=47
+11=68

sorry for the confusion! I updated the SS.

Should I feed MC for his PM meal? Hopefully he eats lol
 
My sister said she gave honey on the gums at +10.5 btw with some HC food. She didn’t get the message to feed MC until after
 
Thank you!!

Is the 7.5 u one time only or the new dose?

I’m actually only 8 minutes past usual shot time so not late at all. I tested 30 mins early in hopes of shooting earlier to get back to a 6am/6pm schedule.
 
Ming earned a reduction with the 47 @ + 10. It will be the new dose. Congrats! Post the + 1. I will hang with you to make sure you are okay.

Thank you both for being here!

Ming doesn't hold reductions very well so that's why I'm wondering if holding the the dose is better. But this is safer and if he fails the reduction again, then we have more data about what to do in the future :)
 
+1 = 65

I’m 10 mins early but :rolleyes:

He’s sleeping right now in my sisters room. Which is weird since he normally doesn’t but I’m not going to over analyze that lol
 
Okay,you need to get a +2. If it is the same or lower you will need test further. Are you good? See you in an hour.

ETA: The 1 is basically the same as the Pre shot number , that is why I am asking you to get another test at +2. I'm hanging with you!
 
I think we are good. He's suddenly at 112 at +2.5!!!

If he drops, I will keep feeding him small amounts of HC. I'll test again in half an hour just in case

I wonder if it's a delayed reaction to the HC and honey from earlier before shot time.
 
Back
Top