2/8 Mikey PMPS 561 +2 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-7-mikey-pmps-426-3-224.132764/#post-1367971

Mikey is being Mikey and bouncing today. There is a snowstorm coming, and there's a pretty good chance school will be cancelled tomorrow. If they cancel before PMPS, I'm wondering if I should raise his dose to .75, or if it's too soon to increase. If school is still on, it's a moot point. My next chance to increase won't be until Friday night, unless, of course, we get the storm that may come on Thursday. Is it spring yet????
 
I don't know. Mikey is a tricky one. I guess my gut feeling would be to call this a failed reduction (down from the 0.75u) and to go back up to that dose. The problem is that the 0.75u got him into the 30's - so that's not really the "last good dose." Except that it's now been 12 days since that happened, which in the world of FD is a long time.

Since you're home, I think I would. I would also carb him mid-cycle to try to keep him from going below 50 while you hopefully can keep him on this dose a few days and hopefully, the higher numbers will come down around the greens.

My second thought is that if you do go back to 0.75u and he drops below 50, this time I wouldn't reduce by 0.25u. It seems like too much. I'd try to skinny the dose this time instead.

But . . . let's see if anyone else has a 2 cents worth to offer.
 
School is definitely closed tomorrow, so I'm free to give him an increase tonight. I've been thinking the same things you have, Julie. It seems like a failed reduction. Marje had suggested putting him up but not to .75, and that seems to have failed too. My only apprehension is that it hasn't been 6 cycles yet, so the shed hasn't had time to fill. The problem is, I can't increase until Friday night, if I don't do it now.

I often joke that my classroom only has two temperatures, too high and too low. It seems that my cat only has two BG's, too high and too low. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!
 
Looks like a certain ground loving rodent in your area saw his shadow last weekend. Bummer on school being closed - NOT! I like Julie's idea on the increase. As for your concern about not waiting enough time on this increase - lately Mikey has shown you within 2 or 3 doses of an increase whether it's a good one for him. Not that cats like to be consistent. :rolleyes:
 
Increase it is! Julie, by carb him mid cycle, do you mean give him some MC or HC? Or did you mean to carb myself with chocolate? :)
 
I mean to give him carbs to keep him above 50 so that you can safely use the 0.75u for a little bit longer. Not every cycle, not every hour - but as you need it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top