2/8 Hershey PMPS 509 - stay the course??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
Lowered to .7 u this morning. PMPS (509) - stay the course with .7u for another couple of cycles???

Thanks -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
I cannot pull your SS up at work. What was your amps this morning? Did you get any mid cycle test?
 
Hi Libby,
Also at work and cannot access the SS. Perhaps some details when posting midday may help those of us that cannot pull while at work. I am hoping Hershey goes lower for you; I know the red preshots are concerning.
 
I didn't think about that some can't pull it up at work...

iPet vs Relion (Still trying to get enough numbers to compare the 2 meters)

AMPS 435 359
+6 251 176
+10 439 375

PMPS 509 440
 
I think I would stay with the .7u at least one more cycle. If you would rather go with the .8u and will be around later to test nadir you should be ok. He did just fine on .8u on a similar number last night. And you know what to do.

I have heard that it takes 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear so these higher numbers could still be artificially inflated. (That's why I personally would stay with the .7u so when it finally clears he won't have too much insulin on board.)

It's up to you, I know you hate seeing these really high numbers.
 
I would stick with the .7 Back on 1/28 when he dipped super low, it took 3 cycles to clear - even though you raised the dose a little. My guess is that he takes a while to get "normal" after a hypo, no matter what doses you throw at it. :-D
 
I think it is important to base your dosing decisions on your lowest numbers of the two meters. The low numbers are the biggest concern and have to be considered the true readings, or you are endanger of overdosing. I would still compare the two meters, but in my opinion you need to base your dose on the assumption that the low number is the true reading.

You had a 50 percent drop on the .7 this morning--- I will let you make the call as I am not comfortable giving any dosing advice without seeing the entire SS-- but if the bounce has cleared from the hypo numbers the .7 probably is okay.

You make the call!
 
Thanks, y'all - We went with the .7 and will see how this cycle goes. He's still doing a lot of laying around sleeping, so maybe he's still recovering from those really low numbers. I'd really like to see him get up and play or at least move around. I think Oreo misses that, too...
 
When Jax went low it took about 5 cycle to clear the bounces...and I also reduced the dose. It was probably the most frustrating time I had experienced since the dx. I think you made a good call to keep the reduced dose. Hope it clears out soon.
 
I concur!
Stay the course and I hate to say anything unfounded but I heard that the ipet stunk
and the numbers were not at all accurate
Are you able to take them to the vet to test against whatever they use?
 
PM +6 (147) (99 Relion). Not sure the Relion # is correct. This is the first time I've had a hard time getting it to sip the blood up, every other time it just sucks it right in. So, I don't know if that had anything to do with anything. And, by the time I got it to register a number, Hershey had had it and wanted down.

I don't really know anything about the iPet meter. Doug chose it because it was kitty specific. And, I ran into a vet (in Costco) a couple of weeks ago, that we used to go to church with. She said the iPet was a good meter, but she also said Lantus was no good, so I don't know... ;-)

It's PM +7 now, I don't know if I should check him again or wait until shot time...just after PM +6 he briefly chased Oreo, but now is asleep, AGAIN...
 
It looks like the iPet tests along the same difference as my AlphaTrak does (when compared to my original Relion Micro). I use it because that's what my vet considers accurate. She uses it at the office and at home for her own cats.
 
PMPS +10
iPet (194)
Relion (293)

That's the first time the Relion has read higher than the iPet...who knows??? Yellow and blue numbers sure look better than red and black ones!

Off for a nap before the 2:30 shot time - sticking with the .7u unless I hear otherwise...

nighty night...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top