2/8 - Gen, AMPS 396, +5 167, +9 >400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Happy Sunday, folks. I hope you're having a peaceful weekend, and a cozy one, if you're also experiencing arctic temps. Safe surfs to all your kitties!

After his high, flat curve yesterday AM (which I guess was bouncing, though it looks a little weird?), the PM cycle was another big U-shape. I'm hoping he can move back towards those flatter, lower cycles from Friday, but I feel like I'm past the stuff I understand about how this works.

Also, I've just realized that we might be overdue for an increase at this point - I'm not used to TR yet, but this is the 9th consecutive cycle on this dose. Should I do a .25u increase tonight or tomorrow morning?

Gen's been feeling pretty good and is eating all his food. Lots of purring and snuggles; he's probably going to be annoyed that I'm hoping to get a few more things done around the house today, but he will cope.
 
Yesterday

Happy Sunday, folks. I hope you're having a peaceful weekend, and a cozy one, if you're also experiencing arctic temps. Safe surfs to all your kitties!

After his high, flat curve yesterday AM (which I guess was bouncing, though it looks a little weird?), the PM cycle was another big U-shape. I'm hoping he can move back towards those flatter, lower cycles from Friday, but I feel like I'm past the stuff I understand about how this works.

Also, I've just realized that we might be overdue for an increase at this point - I'm not used to TR yet, but this is the 9th consecutive cycle on this dose. Should I do a .25u increase tonight or tomorrow morning?

Gen's been feeling pretty good and is eating all his food. Lots of purring and snuggles; he's probably going to be annoyed that I'm hoping to get a few more things done around the house today, but he will cope.
Hi Allie, seems Gen may be due for an increase as you mentioned.
If you can monitor tonight, I would think it’s ok to do so**

Hoping you’ll get more advice from those who are able to give dosing advice (**as I am not).

Glad he’s doing well and hope you’ll both stay warm and cozy 💓💕🐈‍⬛🥰
Brrrrrr today 🥶🥶🥶
 
Hi Allie, Will you note on your spreadsheet when you began TR. (Maybe you have it noted somewhere, and I'm overlooking it.) I have mine noted at the top where the dosing method is listed: "TR as of 12/30/24." I also placed a line on my spreadsheet to boldly show where I made the change (back in 2024).

Here is a discussion I find helpful: Info - Reminder: Counting Cycles. You'll notice that there is a little note toward the bottom which says, "Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose."

I'm not sure when you started TR, but if you reduced the dose back on 2/3, then I believe you'll start the cycle count over at that point.

Hopefully, you'll get some more experienced eyes on this soon.

Stay warm!!
 
On second look, I don't know why I even mentioned that :). Even if you count from 2/3, that would still put him within the increase zone. I'm sorry to be confusing!!
You're fine! I was counting from AMPS on 2/4 when I said we were on the 9th consecutive dose (starting my count over after the reduced doses). But I actually didn't remember reading that I was supposed to (I just thought it made sense?) - good to have a post to back it up!

I've updated my spreadsheet as you suggest, too.
 
When seeing green nadirs (note the plural), we hold a dose for 5 days/10 cycles. Today is cycle 9 and 10. Cycle count starts 2/4 AM. If you wait until tomorrow to increase, that'll give you six cycles past his last green and you'll know for sure he's gotten over any bounce. You can increase during a bounce, just try to avoid increasing during a bounce breaking cycle. Which by itself has downward momentum and the increase can exaggerate it even more.
 
When seeing green nadirs (note the plural), we hold a dose for 5 days/10 cycles. Today is cycle 9 and 10. Cycle count starts 2/4 AM. If you wait until tomorrow to increase, that'll give you six cycles past his last green and you'll know for sure he's gotten over any bounce. You can increase during a bounce, just try to avoid increasing during a bounce breaking cycle. Which by itself has downward momentum and the increase can exaggerate it even more.
He's seen so much blue since his last green. Do you think he's bouncing? Every time I think I understand what that looks like, I start second-guessing myself.

That said, I'd rather do an increase on an AM cycle, just for tidiness I guess.
 
Numbers wobble around during a bounce, not always all high numbers. Other than the cycle after his last green, he hasn't really come down into even low blues since then.
 
Numbers wobble around during a bounce, not always all high numbers. Other than the cycle after his last green, he hasn't really come down into even low blues since then.
That's true, but he's never spent this much time in blue before overall (much less low blues)? These cycles look so different from anything that has come before.

That said, he is all the way back up over 400 again right now. I guess I don't really know what a "new normal" or baseline would even look like.
 
I'm generally feeling confused (if mostly-blue is bouncing, what wouldn't be bouncing?), but I suppose it doesn't matter right now. I'll increase in the morning to 2u and go from there.

Gen has been very determined about cuddles this afternoon. 💕

PXL_20260208_210742259.jpg
 
Back
Top