2/8 Disco PMBG 77,stalling,+12.5 66, +13 56,+13.25 56,+13.5 49,+13.75 49,+14 39,fed 2tsp LC

Ms. Freckles is starting on her upswing for the night. She had a nice cycle tonight. I think Teri, you are fine from here on in? I can't see Disco's numbers going down after all that he's eaten, let's just hope he keeps at least one paw on the Earth tonight!

Good night. I'll check your spreadsheet tomorrow to see how things went. I'm also very curious what the experienced people would have advised in your situation tonight. I'm always learning.
 
Ms. Freckles is starting on her upswing for the night. She had a nice cycle tonight. I think Teri, you are fine from here on in? I can't see Disco's numbers going down after all that he's eaten, let's just hope he keeps at least one paw on the Earth tonight!

Good night. I'll check your spreadsheet tomorrow to see how things went. I'm also very curious what the experienced people would have advised in your situation tonight. I'm always learning.
Forever grateful for your help! See you in the morning, sleep tight
 
Just a couple random notes from what I read. First, food takes 20-30 minutes for the numbers to impact the blood sugar. ECID. Testing any sooner than that to see if number rise isn't worth while.

You never shoot below 50. When he hit 49 a while back, that was the time to call it a skip unless you were willing to really move shot time a couple hours. You always feed the 40's. Which influences the blood sugar and you'd have to wait to see if he really started zooming up before shooting. The 30's always means high carb food.

Looks like Disco is one of those whose numbers really drop without food on time. Good information to tuck away. He's done the late cycle dive a couple times. Might want to think about occasionally getting a +10 when you suspect it's time for him to break a bounce. That way you can give him a light snack at +10, hopefully prevent that diving, and not have a carb influenced preshot.

Since you skipped tonight, you can shoot whenever you want tomorrow morning.

Congrats on the reduction - he really didn't like 3.0 units!
 
Just a couple random notes from what I read. First, food takes 20-30 minutes for the numbers to impact the blood sugar. ECID. Testing any sooner than that to see if number rise isn't worth while.

You never shoot below 50. When he hit 49 a while back, that was the time to call it a skip unless you were willing to really move shot time a couple hours. You always feed the 40's. Which influences the blood sugar and you'd have to wait to see if he really started zooming up before shooting. The 30's always means high carb food.

Looks like Disco is one of those whose numbers really drop without food on time. Good information to tuck away. He's done the late cycle dive a couple times. Might want to think about occasionally getting a +10 when you suspect it's time for him to break a bounce. That way you can give him a light snack at +10, hopefully prevent that diving, and not have a carb influenced preshot.

Since you skipped tonight, you can shoot whenever you want tomorrow morning.

Congrats on the reduction - he really didn't like 3.0 units!
Thank You! So glad to have your input. I need to try and organize and therefore remember
 
When you have a moment, it will help you in the future if you put down some notes in the Remarks column as to what food, how much and when you gave it tonight. One of your jobs is to find out how carb sensitive Disco is, how much food of what carbs he needs at what point in the cycle.
 
Whoo! Looks like I missed a lot of excitement last night! So glad you skipped. This was the kind of night I was fearing when I advised to skip a couple nights ago because I couldn't stay up with you guys. You just never know what these kitties are planning! Looks like it was a good night to gather data on the kinds of tricks Disco has up his sleeve, though, and how he responds in certain situations. Great job!
 
Just a couple random notes from what I read. First, food takes 20-30 minutes for the numbers to impact the blood sugar. ECID. Testing any sooner than that to see if number rise isn't worth while.

You never shoot below 50. When he hit 49 a while back, that was the time to call it a skip unless you were willing to really move shot time a couple hours. You always feed the 40's. Which influences the blood sugar and you'd have to wait to see if he really started zooming up before shooting. The 30's always means high carb food.

Looks like Disco is one of those whose numbers really drop without food on time. Good information to tuck away. He's done the late cycle dive a couple times. Might want to think about occasionally getting a +10 when you suspect it's time for him to break a bounce. That way you can give him a light snack at +10, hopefully prevent that diving, and not have a carb influenced preshot.

Since you skipped tonight, you can shoot whenever you want tomorrow morning.

Congrats on the reduction - he really didn't like 3.0 units!

Just to understand for the next time we get numbers below 50 and they are going lower after stalling, when does one skip the dose and when does one feed and shoot?

Or numbers below 50 and falling are always skip?
 
If I may make some observations about Disco and the process last night. Just as an FYI, Wendy is often up late. She's on the west coast and is a night owl.

First, Teri -- you did great! My only observation is that on your spreadsheet, please use +time. I have no frame of reference for the time on the clock given that we're all in different time zones. If it's +3 and you test 15 min later, it's +3.25, 20 min would be +3.3, 30 min is +3.5, etc.

@Sue and Luci
@Judy and Freckles
@Bandit's Mom

There is a basic rule with low numbers, even if it's within 2 hours of shot time: "Feed the 40s." Instructing Teri to not give HC food when Disco's numbers were in the 30s was unsafe. Please think carefully when advising someone whose cat is in low numbers, especially if this is a relatively new experience for them. The caregiver is likely panicky and relying on someone with more experience to guide them. Feeding low carb may slow a drop but it may not stop numbers from dropping. There is no margin for error with numbers in the 30s. You give HC food.

The instructions for TR indicate that when a kitty is beginning to see numbers in the blues and greens, you hold the dose for 8 -10 cycles prior to increasing. However, I do think Teri was holding the 2.75u dose for too long. (The 2.75u dose was started on 1/25 and should have been increased on 1/28 or more conservatively on 1/29 if you were holding for 10 cycles.) @Sue and Luci - you can't use the same standard that you may use given your level of experience for someone else. Teri is new to FD and should be following the TR Protocol to the letter.

Congrats on the reduction -- even if it caused a few gray hairs.
 
68@12:20am
If I may make some observations about Disco and the process last night. Just as an FYI, Wendy is often up late. She's on the west coast and is a night owl.

First, Teri -- you did great! My only observation is that on your spreadsheet, please use +time. I have no frame of reference for the time on the clock given that we're all in different time zones. If it's +3 and you test 15 min later, it's +3.25, 20 min would be +3.3, 30 min is +3.5, etc.

@Sue and Luci
@Judy and Freckles
@Bandit's Mom

There is a basic rule with low numbers, even if it's within 2 hours of shot time: "Feed the 40s." Instructing Teri to not give HC food when Disco's numbers were in the 30s was unsafe. Please think carefully when advising someone whose cat is in low numbers, especially if this is a relatively new experience for them. The caregiver is likely panicky and relying on someone with more experience to guide them. Feeding low carb may slow a drop but it may not stop numbers from dropping. There is no margin for error with numbers in the 30s. You give HC food.

The instructions for TR indicate that when a kitty is beginning to see numbers in the blues and greens, you hold the dose for 8 -10 cycles prior to increasing. However, I do think Teri was holding the 2.75u dose for too long. (The 2.75u dose was started on 1/25 and should have been increased on 1/28 or more conservatively on 1/29 if you were holding for 10 cycles.) @Sue and Luci - you can't use the same standard that you may use given your level of experience for someone else. Teri is new to FD and should be following the TR Protocol to the letter.

Congrats on the reduction -- even if it caused a few gray hairs.
I wish there was a love button instead of just the like button because I love how are you are guiding me and others in this group and I think I’ll feel like a newbie until the year goes by maybe longer… The information you just gave is etched in my brain now (and written on a sticky next to my bed!)
 
Last edited:
Instructing Teri to not give HC food when Disco's numbers were in the 30s was unsafe.
Thanks Sienne. Just so I know for next time, the guidelines for feeding HC food stay the same even if the cat has not received any insulin for 14 hours?


The caregiver is likely panicky and relying on someone with more experience to guide them.
Absolutely. I tagged everyone I could think of and continued to see who was logged in on the forum - but there was no response. I don't have experience with these kind of low numbers - especially when she had not even given the insulin yet so all we could really rely on was the stickies. It was a learning experience, and now I'm glad to know that the sticky is not just low numbers when insulin was given.
 
the sticky is not just low numbers when insulin was given.

Right... low numbers are low numbers, and must be addressed! Don't forget about the depot-- it's not just the current shot you have to worry about, it's the shots that have come before.

Everyone did great! Disco is fine, which is the important piece in this puzzle. Even if all someone does is provide support or is there to brainstorm with the caregiver, it's a huge plus.

Could not agree more!
 
Right... low numbers are low numbers, and must be addressed! Don't forget about the depot-- it's not just the current shot you have to worry about, it's the shots that have come before.
Thanks Nan. Good point. The information that I got from you Sienne and Wendy I've got written down in my book. I like the 'absolutes' eg. always, never - that are written down: NEVER shoot below 50 (which we followed), ALWAYS feed the 40's (which we never did), 30's ALWAYS means HC food (we never did this either - tried MC food).

Thanks for the learning experience.. but I would have preferred to learn while someone ELSE was supporting Teri! lol
 
323@+10.5 (dozed past the +10). About to do his AMPS, got up to get coffee and photo is “current” situation HaHaMeow!

172F3031-CFA0-4392-88C9-EAAA29B6DDB6.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 172F3031-CFA0-4392-88C9-EAAA29B6DDB6.jpeg
    172F3031-CFA0-4392-88C9-EAAA29B6DDB6.jpeg
    50.9 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
Back
Top