Hi there
GECKO said:
If Davidson continues to do well tomorrow then it looks like on Monday I can reduce the dose based on the number of days spent in the green/blue
Is this correct or go a few more cycles.
Take a look at the
Roomp Rand dosing protocol Which is the the TR protocol in a different format. On page 3 you will find the following:
Phase 4: Reducing the dose. Phase out insulin slowly by 0.25-0.5U depending on dose.
When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a healthy cat, and stays under 100 mg/dL overall
The guidelines that evolved here in LL in our day were at least 7 consecutive days with numbers under 120.
I just looked back at BKs ss to see when things changed to the point that I started taking reductions based on 'time spent with BGs consistently in the normal range of a healthy cat' rather than waiting for the ' BG dipping below 50' signal .
It was 08-11-2009, 17 months after starting Lantus. BK was down to 1.25u (from 13.5uL plus 12uR per cycle) and had strung together 14 days/28cycles during which he saw exactly 1 blue number and it was 111. After the long hard battle we fought through uncharted territory, without a map and with all of us here mostly flying by the seat of our pants -
the mindset was take no prisoners
Granted BK does put the "D" in ECID, however I believe that with any kitty , if there is a chance for remission it's well worth throwing everything you have into supporting the effort. Sometimes that means raising a dose, sometimes it means reducing, sometimes it means losing sleep guiding a cycle.
And sometimes it means sitting on your hands.
In for a penny in for a pound.