2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.5 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi, sorry I didn't get a chance to do a +11 PM shot for last nights reading:( Not sure how long you want me to write newbie in the subject so I put it again! I'll be home for lunch at +6 or +7 to test hopefully. Have a good day:)
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Hi Rachel ~O)

Chyna is a beautiful girl :-D You can probably drop the "newbie", you've been here for days :lol:
Just remember to ask as many questions as you want ;-)

We also put a link to the previous day's "condo" in our current one. He's a link to Chyna's 2/7 .

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Hi Rachel, good job on the testing! How is Chyna acting? We call that the Whole Cat Report, WCR. After all, our kitties are a whole more than just a few numbers. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Hi guys, don't think I've been to your condo before, so welcome from us! Yes, always ask questions if you have them .. someone on here is bound to have the answer for you! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Thank you for the welcome, I'm pretty new at message boards:) How do you post a link, and change the name of it?

Chyna is not just numbers for sure, haha. She is acting good, purring and happy to have ear scratches and petting, doesn't seem depressed. She has been much better the last few weeks for walking and being a bit playful and following me around again like she used to before all this happened. I could tell she was feeling pretty good when her glucose was in the good range the other night, while I was panicking over not giving the injection. She hasn't been doing any jumping since the end of December and has been sleeping in her cat beds on the floor, or just on the carpet (which doesn't look comfortable to me, but she does have beds to go to, lol). But for the past week, I've come home some days to her sleeping on the couch, and this week one day she was at the top of her cat tree so some jumping going on! Still no running, but a much less stilted walk. AND that was a really long answer to how she is acting :-D
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

That's exactly what we like to see - a kitty who clearly feels better! :-D :-D Do you think she has any peripheral neuropathy, where she is walking on her "wrists"?
Liz
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

I think she is walking on her toes, looks normal to me other than a bit stiff? I started two and a half weeks ago with methylcobalamine pills (mashed in her food) after I asked my vet about it. She said it may not do much at first since her glucose numbers are still higher/not regulated and to start at 0.5mg daily so that's all I've been doing. Must be that and the lower glucose numbers helping a bit...
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Welcome Rachel and Chyna! To post a link and then change the name, you add an = after the first URL, move the ] and insert the new name between ] and [/url]. Format is like this without the space betwen the first url and =

[url =http://urlblahblahblah]insert name you want to use[/url]

Hope that's not too confusing... :?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 newbie

Morning guys just wanted to stop by and say hi and welcome you here. Guess you are not technically a newbie anymore. Great job so far. You are definetly in the right place. Have a very happy Fursday!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362

Hello there!

Remind of your plan to transition her off dry? Would like to see her numbers come down more.
She is a cutie... lovely colouring.

Wendy
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362

I haven't forgotten:) I was waiting for days off and my automatic feeder in the mail! Which I think is here, I had a post office notice in my mail box today but have to wait until tomorrow afternoon to pick up:( Which is ok, since I'm not working I can do mini meals myself. I'm wondering if she is also higher right now because of the missed injection...every time I've raised her dose it seems to take 3 full days and then on the 4th it shows some results.

I was thinking of starting off tomorrow with all wet, as I am doing a curve anyways? But I'm not sure how much to reduce the dose to make up the difference, and I'm not sure how many people can make it on here to ask. I used the link on the facebook page that someone helpfully posted by using the IP address to finally get on here :razz: So I'll put a question mark in my post and hope...can anyone help me with a dosage to start tomorrow on for all wet food?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

There are problems with going back using the links in everyone's condo. I can't remember all of the details that Marje posted. I thought she had suggested not changing anything until the weekend. I thought the plan was to get some additional PM data so we could try to figure out if Chyna was bouncing. Am I remembering correctly?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

Rachel

I think since you are only feeding one tbsp of DM dry, you are probably ok at the dose she's on. When I left you Dr. Lisa's quote, I thought you were feeding alot more of some other HC dry food. As long as ou are there to monitor her closely, you should be ok.

If you feel you would be more comfortable reducing her dose because you can't be there to watch her as closely, you could reduce her by .25u.

I tried to look at her SS but then it dumps me off the board and I have to log back in again. If I can get to it without being bumped off the board, I will. I'd like to see what she's doing today.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

I'm giving 1 tablespoon dry DM every 12 hours along with the wet:) I've posted all the numbers I have for now, I only managed a mid day. Work was brutal and I didn't get home until almost PM shot time. Another hour and I can do a +3...I'm not planning on doing much over the weekend other than to run to the post office for my parcel and to get an oil change in my car so I can monitor. I'm just worried since every time I've dropped her dry amount her numbers have gone down quite a bit. Should I do a few days of still giving the dry at night and doing just wet all day to see what it does?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

I don't really see her numbers dropping that much until 2/6 and that might also be due to her settling into the dose...or a combination.

Yes, you can cut it to one tbsp a day and leave the dose alone, just test....post if you have any problems or questions.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

I started measuring out her dry from 1/4 to 1/8 cup every 12 hours around Jan. 18th and then the numbers on the 19th were better, still high of course. I will give it a try with same dose/no dry for the day tomorrow and post numbers:) Thanks everyone for the comments on how pretty she is and the welcomes! And of course, the advice :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

You're welcome. Keep in mind that meter variance is 20% so even if you retest immediately and use a different ear,you could get a 20% difference on the reading. If you are looking at a meter reading of 400, a 20% variance could mean the variation might be as low as 320. So it might look like her numbers came down, but I don't really see much difference until the last couple days.

You're doing great and we are glad you and Chyna are here!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 change dose/all wet?

Um ok so I just did a PM +3 and it's 151 which is a good number...but now I'm worried she'll go too low while I'm sleeping if it's already down to that! Maybe I should do a dose reduction tomorrow with all wet...I'm sorry to be confused again confused_cat
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 changedose/all

That's a very big drop and early, too.. I'd retest in an hour and see where she is. If she's coming down 50 or so an hour, I'd feed her a couple tsp of LC and try to slow her down a bit.

She's clearing the bounce and sometimes kitties get dramatic about it. You need to be sure she has rising, non food influenced numbers before you stop testing for the night.

I think this is the dose and not the dry food. You reduce if she goes below 50.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108?

PM +4 is 108, so going down...well she just ate the little bit of dry that there was left in her dish for the night before I saw this...by LC do you mean low carb food, wet?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 ??

Yes....low carb wet.

Sorry...I fell asleep.

She's probably going to come down more. If she gets below 100, feed her a couple tsp of her Low carb canned food. Then retest her in 30 mins and if she's still coming down, repeat. Once she is about the same number, don't feed, give her an hour and see if she's coming up. You need to see that rise without food, ok?

Edited to add: I will be back in a few mins to see if you have questions.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 ??

I'd like to fall asleep, I am glad you are up. Sorry, I gave her some wet food around half an hour ago since it did drop almost 50, a few teaspoons. Just tested at +5 (her poor ears!) and it's 76...so I'm on my way to the kitchen to feed a few more teaspoons. Then test in half an hour?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 ??

Yes....feed couple tsp LC, test in 30; we call that lather, rinse, repeat

She might be trying to earn that dose reduction on her own.

I will keep a watch out for you until she at least flattens ok?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna AMPS 362 +6 398 PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76??

Ok, thanks so much. This is freaking me out completely. The one just now at almost +6 was lower again...65. So I'm guessing more food...should I switch to high carb fancy feast?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Hi. I have not read through your whole condo, yet. However, you should be able to just feed a little low carb for now.
Normally with Lantus the peak of the insulin is around 6 hours after the shot, so you should be reaching that now.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Thanks, I hope so. We've been high for so long that this is really weird. I just gave her some more low carb and will test again in half an hour. She is probably wondering what she did to deserve all this good food:)
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

I agree with Dyana. Stick with low carb. Test in 30.

You're doing really well, Rachel.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

I'll wait up with you until she starts to rise. You'll be fine.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Marge, I've slept for 5 hours and am up now. If you need to hit the hay, I can stay up. No problem.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Ok....that would be great. I appreciate it. Hope you all are doing ok in storm.

Rachel you are in great hands with Dyana. I'll check in tomorrow but you've done super.

Good night.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

I think we only got 4 inches of snow. Big hype for nothing.

Have a good night, Marge.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Is it +6.5, yet?

I'm going to go make a cup of coffee. I'll be right back.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Sorry, took me a few minutes after to pet the annoyed kitty, lol. Ok, finally up instead of down...the +6.5hr test was 76. So now I wait an hour with no food and test again? I'm really unsure of what to do in the morning for her dose, guess I shouldn't worry about that now!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362 +3 151 +4 108 +5 76 +6 65??

Exactly. No food for one and hour, and let's see if she continues to rise.

And, by tomorrow morning at AMPS, she will probably be rising still, so you should be safe to shoot then, but we'll see when we get there.

By the way, is your oil change scheduled for +6 tomorrow?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76??

No scheduled appointment, I was just going to Superlube but I can skip it. Maybe I can con my dad into coming and getting my car:) It's just burning more gas than it should...I do have to get that parcel but the place is only a few blocks away and I can go whenever. I'm probably going to be dead on my feet with no sleep, lol. I was supposed to do a curve tomorrow, but now I'm not sure if that is a good idea or not. I'll post back in 35 minutes or so when I get that number. Chyna is pretty confused with me still being up and dragging her to the ear poke station ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76??

I just said that about the oil change, because it seems everytime I am waiting for an oil change, my cat is always home in low numbers. Cats seem to like to try to keep you home, when you have an appointment and must leave :roll:
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76??

Or when you really need to sleep;) I was thinking oh good Friday night, weekend off, busy week so bed early to catch up on zzzzzz's that I didn't get the other night from low numbers worrying...jinxed myself I guess! My +7.5 is 74, so just barely down. Should I give her more food and go to bed or stay up longer?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76??

Is it about time for your +7.5 test? Please let me know what your next test is, because as soon as I have you and Susan all settled, I'm going back to bed.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76??

Sorry, we cross posted.

Normally, we like to see at least two rising numbers without food before we suggest going to sleep (or leaving).
The 76 and the 74 are pretty much the same number, so she is surfing along (staying in the same numbers). If you really need to get to sleep, then you can either give her more food and go to bed, or you can not give her food and test again in an hour. Myself, I would set an alarm and test again in an hour.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

I just have a throbbing headache and have to be up in less than 4 hours so I don't know what to do, and I'm not sure if she will let me near her ears again:( I guess I will have to try nap and test again...in 45 mins. Thanks for staying up for me!
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

Okay, let's have a goal. Hopefully, she'll be up to 85 by your next test, and you can go to sleep for 3 luscious hours.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

You can set an alarm and get a little sleep, or you can feed her and go to bed. It's up to you.
I've learned to sleep between alarms, it's just that my little brain has also learned to not hear the alarms, so that's my own problem.

I have also learned (which I never did before in my whole life) to sleep in on the weekends. That's when I get my extra zzzzzzzs in.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

I have trouble getting to sleep, so that didn't work. +8.5 is 76. I'm going to have to feed her and go to bed. Should I try high carb wet food, or just give more low carb?
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

No high carb. Leave a little bit of low carb out.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

The peak of the insulin should be wearing off. If you gave her high carb food as the insulin was wearing off, she might be sky high by her AMPS. A little bit of low carb left out will help her if she should dip. She's surfing in some nice healing numbers.
You did good tonight. Have a good sleep.
 
Re: 2/8 Chyna PMPS 362;+3 151;+4 108;+5 76;+6 65;+6.5 76;+7.

Thanks, I hope I can sleep. I think the dose is going to have to go down...but will ask in awhile.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top