2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152, +1 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Good morning...

Here is yesterdays condo to better understand my predicament this morning: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36232


I need some help on whether to give booBoo her normal .75u shot or a .5 again like last night. She is really high again this morning, so i am thinking her normal dose. She was really low last night before her pmps which was 135, so i skinnied up the shot and waited a half hour later to give it to her. Thanx for any advise here. i will be leaving for school in about 3 hours, so about 3 hours after I give her the shot so i will not be around for the nadir, but i can come back home between classes only for today...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360. NEED DOSING ADVISE

I'd go back to BooBoo's regular dose. Get tests in when you can. Also, leave food out for when you're gone.
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360. NEED DOSING ADVISE

I will do all that! Thanx! It is almost time for her shot, so here we go...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373

What do you think about me leaving out some wet as well as the Hill's M/D that i still have? She tends to eat all the wet food right away since she loves it, but the dry I know will be there for her to nibble on while I'm gone... I also have regular cat food as well...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

You may already be gone...

You'd be better off leaving more wet food, I think, than the kibble, which raises BGs. BooBoo is not at a dangerously low BG anyway. Maybe leave a plate in a different location?

You may want to look into a timed feeder for the future.
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I wouldn't leave the dry food out, as Kathy said it raises BG. Leaving smaller amounts of wet food out in different places is one idea, the timed feeder is great because you can control the time of the snacks that way. Another idea is to add some water to wet food and freeze it in ice cube trays or muffin pans....then leave some fresh food out and some frozen cubes/pucks for later...you can also leave them out for food overnight. That won't help for today, but maybe for tomorrow...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I'm still home right now. I don't think I could freeze any in time for today, but i will shut her in our bedroom away from the other cats and just leave a couple bowls around the bedroom... Thanx for all the suggestions!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Try putting a can in the freezer for five or ten minutes, however long you're home. It makes it super cold, and BooBoo is less likely to chomp on it -- just a short-term solution for today!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I have 3%, 4%, and 18%. Which should I leave out? I'll be leaving in an hour so i can put which ever kind is best in the freezer til i leave in a couple little bowls and leave one fresh out for her...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

oh and she eats wet food whether it's super cold or warm, it's all the same to her!!!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I feel what you are going through. I'm having the same thoughts and anxieties. Hope everything goes ok :)
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Did you have food out for BooBoo the last couple of cycles, when she had her green mid-cycles score? Had she eaten, as far as you know?
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I'm literally going bonkers over here with getting back to school and not being able to devote my entire life to BooBoo right now... My hubby made me laugh last night in the heat of me getting a little nuts. He said, "hey it's like playing a game and the game is called keep the cat alive!" It sounds morbid when I write it but when he said it, it made me laugh, which was a much needed laugh!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Also, go ahead and try to make a catsicle (frozen pop). an hour is long enough to make some headway. She may eat it cold, but frozen...?

Laughing is good. Sick jokes work!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Kathy and Kitty said:
Did you have food out for BooBoo the last couple of cycles, when she had her green mid-cycles score? Had she eaten, as far as you know?

She only had the green cycle yesterday and I did feed her when she was in the green but roday is the first day I won't be here for her nadir since we found out she was diabetic. I was on my winter break from school when I found out so i had all the time in the world to devote to her then and had no where to go...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Kathy and Kitty said:
Also, go ahead and try to make a catsicle (frozen pop). an hour is long enough to make some headway. She may eat it cold, but frozen...?

Laughing is good. Sick jokes work!

Should I make it with the 3, 4 or 18%?
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I am not the right person to advise, but there aren't many people around. If no one else shows up, here's my semi-worthwhile opinion: You could leave some medium carb out, just so you feel better. I don't think you really have enough information to know how BooBoo is going to react.

Since you have only 3 and 4, which are roughly the same, and very high carb, do this: Take the 4, and drizzle a little of the HC gravy on it. This creates your own home-made medium carb. (You can mix the gravy into the LC if you want, so BooBoo doesn't just lick it off. :-D )

Some of the better minds might suggest otherwise, and it probably isn't necessary. It works against the dose. But until you have more data, I think medium carb would not throw her off too much, and it will make you feel better.

I do not think HC is necessary at all. When you have a feeder available, I think LC will do the trick.
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

So what I'm saying is:

1. Make the catsicle. Try making it MC, as above.
2. Also leave plenty of regular food out.

By doing both, you're guarding against her scarfing it all and having nothing left. I am sure she'll eat the merely cold in preference to the frozen -- right???? :shock:
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

Okay and I've got some little bowls that i will put out in various places in the bedroom for her cause she is a little blind i think so she will have to sniff it out eventually if she wants it...
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

By "regular," I meant low carb! Sorry to be unclear.

Sounds good.

And tonight, look at some feeders for her, or try some catsicles making. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

:lol: :lol: almost any kind of humor is allowed!

have a good day at school!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo +11 360 AMPS 373 need food advise while gone

I am home now for 1 1/2 til I go back to school tonight, but my hubby will be home shortly after I leave. her #'s are higher today, but I just got worried yesterday because although I want her in the greens it was her 1st day on Lantus with a green # and I wasn't here to make sure she was gonna be okay. She ate all the food i left out plus the stuff I gave her before I left so she definitely got her full eats in this afternoon! I think I will give her a 1.5% carb small snamck before I go then feed her at her 8:30pm shot. So Far so good today and I truly thank everyone for thier help!

Okay, gonna get some rest in while there's no toddler running around and BooBoo is okay and Hubby at work...

Ahhh, some me time!!!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! OKAY???

Seems I have been given another opportunity to shoot a low number tonight without chickening out! I must confess though that I was/am very nervous of what the outcome is going to be! It was hard to get the shot into her. Stuck her 3 times!!! Myself once! Anyway, I will be getting those +1, and +2 and maybe even sooner than a +1 if you all think that is wise. Of course i will check at her nadir as well as this is most important. looks like it may be a long might, so thank goodness no school til mis afternoon tomorrow!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot and worried!!!

I won't be able to stay up with you, but I know you will do fine! That's a good number to shoot, and you are prepared. Personally, I think a +1 is fine.

I always liked to feed a snack at +2, just after the test, before going to bed. It supports the cycle as the insulin is in onset. Sometimes this meant delivering a plate of food to Kitty's face, but it was worth it. :lol:
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! Help please!

That sounds like a good plan. Definitely a +1 and +2. Depending on where the numbers are, you'll need to decide when to test next.
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! Help please!

I'm glad u think it is a good # to shoot cause I definitely need some reassurance here! BooBoo is great about eating so I usually wake up in the middle of the night to feed her anyway, right around her nadir, so i wake, test, and feed so we know where we're at. Seems I have gotten used to sleeping very lightly!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Reassurance for a worried bean pl

152 is a fine number! Not to worry it will be alright--Just test every +1 or 2, +3 is when cat's bg starts to drop, and so on..You have Food LC, MC and HC right? You have Karo Syrup Right? You have strips, right?--
Then YOU ARE IN CONTROL!! You can control the situation with food, karo & testing--I just syringe fed Moonie as she was 54 at +4--I will test her shortly, and if she didnt come up, I will feed her some more!
Dont worry someone will be here--I will for a while longer--
When is your next test?
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! Help please!

Testing and feeding in the middle of the night are SUPER practices. (If you can stand it.)

I also am a big fan of the +2 snack -- in addition to whatever you do in the middle of the night. I always found that it helped Kitty get on the surfboard.

Glad Roni is up later than usual, so you'll have company! (Hi, Roni. :-D )
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! Help please!

Thanx guys!

BooBoo's +1 is in about 20 minutes, so i will post what number we get!!!
 
Re: 2/8 BooBoo PMPS 152!!! Gave shot! Help please!

Stephanie(that right?)--You have shot this number at night & lower before this and BOOBOO was fine...
You fed 4% and you knew exactly what to do!-Fed the right food, etc--You know how to do this!!
Tonite wont be any different than those other nights!!
-I take my computer & food & test stuf in the bedroom & do Moonie in there so I can stay in touch with the board while waiting for her to get a number!!
I'll wait to hear from you & your next test!
 
She is up to 177 now, so I am definitely feeling better! Last nighht was the first night I shot a low # and i waited til she came up to about 154 and I also brought down the dose to .5u cause I was scared...

Tonight I left it at .75u to see what would happen and it seems to be going smooth. I love you guys for helping me through all this! You guys really know ur stuff!!!

And yes, it's stephanie... :)

How is Moonie doing? Did the #'s come back up for you?
 
Yes Steph she did--We have been through a lot in the last 3 yrs here, and these are just about her best numbers--lately
I just get really frustrated when she wont eat & she is dropping, I hate to syringe feed her, & she hates it & acts like she;s choking(actress) :lol: ohmygod_smile
But after all this time, I'm not loking for her to go OTJ, just want her to stay regulated like she is!
Have a good night, all is well, if she goes low tonite, leave lots of food out!
I like helping newbies because it reminds me where we were when we came & how many people helped us
like we help you--It's Pay It Forward!! Enjoy your night's sleep, your baby is safe
All is well--Sweet Dreams Hugs & Ni Ni! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Stephanie! Congrats on shooting BooBoo's regular dose - the +1 looks great. Looks like you got great advice from Roni and Moonie. I think BooBoo will be fine - follow your plan. :-D

After a while shooting these lower numbers becomes much easier - by then you have so much data you know what to expect from your kitty. Excellent job tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top