2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..PMPS=272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=98
+5=88
+7=63
+8=57
+8.5=60
+9=89
AMPS=114 ~ 1.25u Lev (start 12th cycle)

Yesterday's condo

~O) ~O) Morning everyone ~O) ~O)
Shadow is doing great. He ate his breffis nicely and is now relaxing after his bath. Look at his numbers last night! That's so comforting to see...after the uglies the other day. I feel like a Zombie myself. @-) (naps on the agenda for sure!)
Last night as I came into turn off my computer, I saw Raja curled up with her head on the pillow on the guest bed again! I kissed her goodnight and had flashbacks to when my daughters were little. It was so funny to be saying goodnight to my little kitty in the big bed in her own room. :lol: At the sound of my alarm to check Shadow, I searched the living room for the boy and had that panic again...no Shadow!! Well, I found him soon enough....on the guest bed!! There he was twice during the night, all curled up as happy as can be.
I am going to have to strip the bed and flip it back into the wall again but they just seem so happy to have another comfy place to rest their weary heads. Bad Mama again.

DENTAL QUESTION:
I guess I need opinions for the dental. They are supposed to fast tonight after midnight. If I give him his full dose of 1.25u he will possibly repeat last night's performance but I anticipate he will go even lower. (last time he was on Vetsulin and getting numbers in the 400s all the time anyway, so it didn't matter much about the fasting during the night)
I intend to not shoot in the morning anyway....but what do you think I should do for tonight since I cannot feed him at all? Should I give him .75u tonight? I know that I will reevaluate at PMPS time anyway, but for now, what are my options?
If he is <150 at PMPS, should I shoot .50u?
>150 maybe .75u? What are your thoughts?

Appreciate any discussion on it ....wow...what a difference it is now from Aug 31st. He has come a long way....
but I guess I haven't cause now I am having anxiety about their dentals....my two in there at the same time!! Oh, it's going to be a very bad drive on empty stomachs....the moaning and crying that will be going on...they are going to be so angry with me....I hate this so much!!!! :sad: Getting them both into the carriers after a night of no snacks and no breffis...poor little things....I have to stop this now cause I am getting upset... :YMSIGH:

I have to intellectualize this ...I am the Bean and I know that this is the right thing to do...be strong...breathe whew...sigh... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114

Hi Pat

since u have dental questions, can u add Dental Dose to ur subject line?

dont let it get to u, they will be ok with fasting, they'll be mad, but they will be ok (((hugs)))
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114

Hi Pat
How amazing are Shadow's numbers.
I can feel you stress about tomorrow's dental, as I would to. Especially after
your little darlings sleeping on the guest bed.
I love when they figure out something new.
I kno wyou will figure it all out. You are the Mama.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114

(((Pat & Shadow))) :thumbup

Nice start to this super Sunday! Wishing you all a Fabulous, Furbaby Day!!

Good Luck with the dentals.. it is soooooo hard not to feed when they don't understand & their lil bellies are growling.. but I know you will all get through it.. ;-)
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114

Was hoping to get involved with the party planning so that will take my mind off the dentals...they don't know about it yet...shhhhh.....they won't realize anything until oh...probably around 4am when they do not get any fuds.. :sad:
anyway, if anyone sees Jill and Libby, please tell them about the St. Patrick's Day party cause we want to be sure to invite Alex and Lucy...
good idea about the heading of the post Ronnie..duh...should have done that...thanks!!! and thank you for the kind thoughts Randi and Nicole!! I appreciate your stopping by...HUGS!
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114

Hi Pat,

Wow, what great numbers for Shadow! Oh my, I know it's hard with dentals. Maggie had her dental a year ago, and she was okay once in the carrier. We will be thinking of you. Everything will be fine. Just spoil them today, as if you don't already do it!
 
!

beautiful numbers for Shadow! He looked extra wonderful yesterday!

I can't answer your dosing question, but I can give you comforting (((Pat))) hugs :-D. Your babies will be ok, mad about no fuds or treats, but they will quickly forgive you after it's all said and done!

Thank you for the invitation to the St. Patty's day party. Spot will be happy to attend, green bg (hopefully) and all!
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

My, what a lovely report card Shadow brought home yesterday! And the dental will soon be over and there will be many sparkly teeth in your house along with a lot of bean guilt, a kitty's favorite thing in the world.

But, I have to ask...you mean Raja and Shadow don't have their own bedrooms? Basil told me they did and he was so convincing, we've started building a small addition onto the house so he can have "his own space" as he put it. He told me it was "in the rules" and I hadn't been paying attention. Is he--erm--misleading me?
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Sigh...oh Lydia...i am so sorry....they think that the computer/guest room IS their own room. :roll: They never know why the wall bed is not down all the time, but only when people are coming to stay overnight. They don't really like it when the Beans come in to use their computer either...but they have been patient for the most part. They always show their friends around and point out THEIR room and I never interrupt to disagree. Sorry for the big fib. But, they do believe that is their room...kitties should have their own room...Logan has his own room...ask around....it does seem to be the case in most kitty households... :lol:
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Pat -

How may hours after PMPS is midnight for Shadow? If it's past nadir, you may not need to adjust dose.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Moonie has had 2 dentals as you know..She fasted for both..from midnight on..Complained PLENTY cat(2)_steam
But is necessary..
I gave her a full dose the night before, and half a dose the day of the dental--But she went low when she came home that night due to nom nom effect-anesthesia eats up the sugar, so she dropped low--Look at my SS of 11/18/09....
I would ask Jill or Libby about the dose that would be good for you, & not decide yourself--
Shadow is looking so so amazing these days--You know what may be coming for you(OTJ)--Paws & fingers crossed for a safe dental for both your babies--Are you getting bupe?? Big Hugs to our dear friends today!!
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Good morning!

When Punk went in for her dental, she threw me a 97 for amps, I skipped the shot. The vet monitored her BG while she was still out from the anesthesia and she was still green. Not until I brought her home did her BG shoot back up, however.....the anesthesia will still be in a kitty's system and might do the "nom nom nom" on BG levels after the procedure, see Punk's ss from 7/24/2008 then look to the next day when she went green again. It took a couple of days until the anesthesia fully cleared from Punk's system. Again, back when Punk had her dental she was hovering in the 200-300 range so my guideline was 200 or above, 1/2 dose, less than 200.....no shot. Clearly with the 97, I skipped the shot :mrgreen: Now with that said, I'm not sure if that is the universal guideline, more peeps will be around to give specifics.
I'm thinking people will need to see Shadow's amps before a dose can be determined.

And the most painful part of the dental.....watching my lil Punkin scream for food in the morning.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Hi Pat,

Not sure how much help I can offer, Maui had a dental on Friday and two extractions. I made sure she ate prior to all the food being removed, so that I didn't need to be concerned about no food. She did stand by the breakfast area waiting and not getting anything. :YMSIGH:

Don't know how to answer the insulin question, as I didn't have to deal with it.

But for the dentals, just a few recommendations for you:

- make sure they do xrays as prior to the dental (it's the only way to know for sure what's going on)
- if there are extractions - ask if they do follow up xrays to make sure all the roots are removed
- if they don't offer, ask for bupe (pain med) to take home, the dentist I used gave it without asking- he totally believes in it
- tell them no metacam (pain killer) or ketamine (anesthesia) - ketamine was recalled and metacam isn't good for cats - bupe is preferred

- find something to distract yourself with tomorrow - run errands, take yourself to lunch, take a nap, whatever ( I did all that on Friday) and it was fine

And both your loves will be just fine....
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

I agree with waiting to see where his PMPS is before deciding on the evening dose, best would be to be able to shoot the regular dose. He could be working on a bounce today after the lows last night anyway so he may be going up until evening. Should he go lower at night and need a "boost" you can always use some honey or karo it's basically just pure glucose and will be quickly absorbed and leave nothing in the stomache. I would skip the morning dose so you don't have to worry about that and if you can shoot normally this evening his shed can carry him a while tommorrow. You can feed up until midnight so just make sure he has enough to eat between PMPS and then. Good luck with dental, I have yet to have to subject mine to such a thing (tooth brushing is bad enough!) at 4 and 5 years old thier teeth aren't bad yet.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

(((Pat)))
I feel for you Pat. I was not as worried about the dental as I was about withholding food. I took a very long and I mean long shower that morning and stayed away from the kitchen as long as I could. I did not have the insulin worry as Putty was OTJ at that time.

Once he was at the vets I was comfortable and I went out all day to keep myself busy. I checked in and made sure they called me as soon as he was done.
Do something fun for yourself while they are at the vets to occupy your mind and give yourself a break......you deserve it. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

+3=109

Thank you all for your thoughts...
Sienne...he gets his shot at 8pm and midnight is therefore 4 hours into the cycle.....his nadir is usually +8 @ 4am...
Every night, I wake and give them both a snack at that time after testing Shadow.
I suppose I could test him at that time and give the karo syrup (never used that on him before) and that would keep his numbers up if need be....that is a good option Monique...I didn't think about that. That was my concern with shooting his regular does. What would I do if he went low at that time and I could not feed him anything to bring him up....so the karo solves that dilemma for me...thank you.

My vet doesn't do the xrays before and after as a general rule....but i have never had any complications in the past so it ws just regular cleanings....Shadow is prone to heavy plaque and I am concerned about his mouth and gums. Raja had one tooth fall out last Feb during the dental they said....no extraction charge or anything...and they both got Clavamox after for 2 weeks. :?
(that is something I am not looking forward to and I just want to get through tomorrow before I star whining about that twice a day...Raja is the pain.... :roll: )
I so appreciate your kind words and posts to us....HUGS to you all!!
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Hello Beautiful Shadow and Bean!!!!!!!! :YMHUG:
What a wonderful show you put on for your momma last night! I think, Shadow and Raja, you should make it a little more clear that you do NOT want that bed put away!!!!!! :mrgreen:

Latte is very excited about the St Patty's day party. She has been practicing putting on her green in the spirit of the night! I cant promise she will feel the need to wear it on St Pattys day (she doesnt always like to look like everyone else...she wants to stand out), but she may try! She will work on spreading the word, as I know it can be very time consuming to get out all the invitations. We dont want to leave anyone out!!! If you need an extra paw decorating, you know her number! :lol:

Hey so, regarding the dental...I know nuttin' about them other than...the most common pain medication used is metacam, both injection and oral. I make a specific mention to you about it because Raja and Shadow are gettin' up there in age (ssshhhhh...we wont tell them!), and are more prone to be nearing any problems with their kidneys. Labwork may not show any problems until there is significant damage (just an fyi). A medication such as this *could* throw a kidney or two over the edge. I would highly recommend asking for an alternative pain medication in your case. Im not trying to scare, just inform. You can click on the link in my sig, and read a little more about it, ask me further questions...or others...and make the best decision for your babies. I know you will!

Best of luck. I know this is so hard for you. But they are in the best hands, with the most loving spirit to guide them. They will be just fine.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

Everything will be fine Pat! They will come home with shiney smiles and eventually, they will forgive you. :lol:

For Magnolia's dental, I skipped both the PM dose the night before and the AM dose the day of. But Magnolia had been rockin' the greens, earning lots of reductions, and it seemed like the responsible thing to do. She did go high during the dental, but that is what her vet wanted. She returned back to the green surfs within a couple of days. I think you know your cats and should do what feels right to you. I knew that without food, and with insulin, Magnolia would go too low and might be in trouble.

I agree that you should try to keep yourself busy tomorrow. I ran errands while she had her dental done. I also tried to nap. But then the vet called and asked me to come get her hours early since she was being such a meanie to everyone! She ended up only being gone for about 5 hours.
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

mail


Think I'll hang out with some cool cats and DANCE!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

What is "nom", "nom nom"? Good luck tomorrow Pat. I'm sure all will go well. Stu has never had a dental. I guess he should so that his teeth don't decay. Our Alice's (GA in 2000, not diabetic) teeth just fell out gradually by themselves. Poor kitty. She had to put up with us (we found her on the street being chased by a gang of boys; we had never had a cat before). But she was so happy to have a home that she forgave us everything.
Don't worry about your kitties! Treat yourself to a nice lunch!
Ella
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

The "nom nom" effect is about the impact of anesthesia on BG. It seems to lower the BG after anesthesia.

Kitty has just gone through this, so I'll pass along some pointers I received:

1. You can consider cutting the evening dose in half, if Shadow and Raja are not too bouncy. I don't know their particulars, but you should feel comfortable.
2. I also skipped the morning dose.
3. Our vet said, and Jill has also confirmed she's heard this, that cats should have nothing by mouth 8 hours prior to anesthesia. Do you know what time your vet plans to actually start working on them? We dropped Kitty off at 9 for anesthesia at 11:30. If you want to shoot your full dose tonight to protect progress, maybe you could move the shot up 15 minutes, then give a snack at midnight.
4. On the issue of ketamine: specifically, one manufacturer of ketamine was recalled. I discussed this with my vet, who is aware and had removed the recalled brand from his stock. It's up to you to decide whether you feel this recall indicates a generalized tainting of the medication at large. In the end, I allowed my vet to use ketamine + valium to induce anesthesia; he felt confident about the medication, and this is his preferred method, the one that he is comfortable using. That was a determining factor for me. Kitty did fine with anesthesia. But there are alternatives.
5. You may know this already, but just to be thorough: Test BG as soon as walk in the door after picking them up, to give you a baseline. They will be hungry, but it is VERY important to feed ONLY little bits of food, slowly -- we fed a teaspoon in a half hour, then another, then 15 minute intervals, etc. They'll be vulnerable to vomiting, which would "mess up" (that's the technical term) the BGs.
6. Just as a comparative WCR: Kitty was extremely alert and active when we brought him home, even though he'd had pain meds. It took him a couple of hours to doze out.
7. Consider lining your carrier with a diaper-type barrier. Because he'd had fluids, Kitty lost it on the way home.

I would want x-rays, though, especially since Raja had a tooth fall out -- again, I don't know all the particulars.

(((Pat))) They will be fine. It will all be over in a jiffy. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7 Shadow AMPS=114..Dental question?????

+4=67
+6=44
+6.5=60
+7=74

Shadow was screaming at me...I had visitors....my DHs little nephew...we went and did an ear prick and well, that's why Shadow was screaming for something...the something being F O O D. He really ate up the LC Ff i gave him and of course had to give Raja a little something too cause she heard the sounds of food being laid down...then Shadow cleaned her plate as well.
His nadir is normally at +8 so I will be keeping an eye on him. This is the first of the two <50 he will need for another dosecrease....
I brought the carriers out and put them on the Murphy bed. Raja bolted out of that room so fast...wow...lightning speed. They are both on the cat condo in my bedroom....far away from the carriers....
 
+8=148
PMPS=272 ~ 1.25u Lev (start of 13th cycle)

Well, he did bounce from his lows today. Midnight snack will be the end of food and drink for my two....thanks for allyour kind words and help with the dental...
I did go and buy some special wash for their necks spots...Hibiclens...thanks Roni.
Hope everyone has a great night....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top