2/7 Ruben home from vet +pmbg 217 +4 221

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, stalling, HELP!

i don't know what to do.
eating is not an option, i can stall, if he doesnt eat today, i know feeding tube is next answer
hhe's on anti nausea meds
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Good Morning Sam :smile:

I'm sorry I have no advice. Trouble with being in the East, we don't usually have many people up with us. Hang on, others will be on soon.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Morning Sam ~O)

Sorry Ruben's not feeling well :sad: Can you syringe feed him a little?
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

So sorry Ruben isn't feeling well. I agree with Bruce. Maybe syringe feed him a little if he will tolerate it. I would call the vet if he is refusing his favorite treats. That's usually a big sign at our house. Big hugs!
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

syringe feed him, when he's not feeling well? should i wait to shoot? delay like an hour?
ill feel horrible feeding him. he's miserable and food seems disgusting to him
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

I would stall the shot for the time being.

I'd also suggest calling your vet to find out if you can try giving Ruben 1/4 of a 10 mg tablet of Pepsid AC (famotidine) -- a total of 2.5mg. (I think you can give both the Zofran and Pepsid but I'd rather you be certain there's no interaction between any of the meds you're giving). I'd also want to check in to see if the vet wants t see him.

I'd also leave Ruben alone for a bit. Forcing him to eat if he's nauseated probably isn't going to make him feel better. Let him settle down. If the vet gives the Pepsid the OK, you want to give the pill then wait 30 min. before feeding.

Have you been giving him bupe? If not, that may be why he looks miserable. If this is pancreatitis, it's painful.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

i have been giving him the bupe, im gonna lay down with him for an hour, i called vet she's not in till 930-10. left message to call asap.
thank you sienne. pray- they where talking feeding tube or exploritory surgury and he wasnt coming around. i dont want to do the surgury.
need lots of vines
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

I'm thinking" vet trip". And that does NOT mean a feeding tube, Sam. Not unless you okay it. There's got to be something that they're missing. He eats okay, and then he doesn't.
Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

vet she said skip shot this am- do not give mirtz, but do give bupe if he needs it and give zofran- not due til 1 but gonna give around 1130-12
i feel so defenless when i go to her, she had no clue about diabetis and i wont have all of you with me to tell me what she says is the best for ruben,
could you give me advise for certain scenerios's if they play out?
tube?
exploritory surgery?
i dont know what to do?
i dont think i want to open him up/ but dont want my holistic way fo thinking get in the way of the right thing, plus i have around zero dollars< i hate that that is even something i have to type. the vet makes me scared and glad to see her all at the same time....
i dont want to think the worse but its up and down and up and down...
im beside myself and at her mercy< can you guys come with me? my appt. is at 3
MJ- feel like taking a ride with a crazy person and a sick cat> lol jk
what could it be?
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Oh, (((Sam))), I know this is so stressful. I am sending tons of vines!

Feel better, Ruben.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
~Josie
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

It's okay if you skip. But if his bg is high at the vet, don't let her try to tell you his dose needs to be increased. Tell her you aren't seeking "diabetes advice". Just feeding advice. And tell her to check out his teeth thoroughly. Mullet quit eating for no reason I could see. They found a broken tooth and a hole in his tongue. Then not eating made sense.
Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

thanks carl!! i will do that. im thinking she's thinking feeding tube and thats why she wants me to hold off
to make things worse, there's a blizzard heading this way and is hittinf fri, if he goes in they have to keep him over night and i might not be aboe to get there, fri,....i mean i'd walk if i had too, but my car is awful in the snow and were getting around two feet , i hear
i LOVE LOVE LOVE snow but not if it keeps me from ruben. oh i dont know what to do?
i hate this
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Also...
While she might have felt pancreatitis could be what's going on, she never actually ran the specific test for it, right? Rather than surgery or a tube, running that test to confirm or rule it out might make more sense?
Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Sam

Please ask MJ where she takes her cats to the vet. I think she has a very good vet and lives near you if I am right. You need a vet that can find out what IS wrong with Ruben.
Your vet never even ran a test to find out if Ruben has pancreatitis which he most likely has. I would have him tested for that before I let them do anything else to him. If it is a good vet they have the test right there in the office. Pancreatitis can need different levels of support depending upon how bad it is sometimes requiring hospitalization for IV and meds.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

sam, a dumb question...

after ruben vomited, did you offer him the same kind/flavor of food that he had in his tummy?

the reason i'm asking is if any of my kitties throw up they'll refuse that same brand/flavor. i have to give them a different food before they'll eat again.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Hi guys .. I don't have any advice myself, but definitely keeping you guys in my thoughts and prayers .. I know how scary this is .. remember, we may not be there physically, but we are all there with you .. ((hugs))
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

well he ate a treat...thats great and i offered his original evil kibble and he took a bite, its not much but ill take it. My vet wants me to continue to feed him his evil kibble if he's not eating says it better that not eating anything.
pray!! and send jack and the bean stalk size vines
omg he just went over to his ff food and is eating a bit? not much but took a bite, still gonna take him in. my vet did say what ever i do do not give insulin today, hold off til tonight if im gonna. i asked even if he eats and she said yes, im thinking she said that incase he has to have surgury.
gonna listen to her for now unless you all think that is horrible advise? let me know
his appt is at 3
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Sam

Why would Ruben have to have surgery? Please, please do not let them do any surgery on him.They need to test him for pancreatitis. Please email MJ and ask her where she takes her cats to the vet. Maybe you can take Ruben to her vet.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben amps 250 wont eat, threw up, HELP!

Hi Sam. I brought my cats to specialists at Angell in Boston. My hometown vet in Worcester is a one-man operation who can't provide those kinds of services. I'd be glad to help if I can. I have an appointment at 12 and probably won't back until 1:30ish. I'll keep an eye on here. Try not to panic.

prayers,
MJ
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

Sam

I would take Ruben to an emergency vet in your area. Your vet is not going to know what to do with him. Where in RI are you located? I can look up ER vets in you area if you want.
Your going to be paying the money anyhow why not pay it to someone who will find out what is wrong with him.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

FWIW, Angell is one of the best vet practices in the Northeast. My sister is in Boston and uses them as well and her cat is elderly with multiple health problems. A former member here also swears by Angell. I just don't know how far it is for you to travel.

Ruben may have a GI bug or there may be something else going on. You can call the vet and let her know what's going on. They'll tell you if you need to bring Ruben in sooner.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

she is the er vet and internist!? i just called and she cant see him til 3 if i take him in now, its only gonna be a er vet not specialist. ocean state vet specialists is where i go, if you google er vets for ri that what will come up
stuck between a rock and a hard place
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

I'm sorry Sam, I have to leave. Diarrhea in itself isn't an emergency, but clearly he's feeling really bad and needs to be seen by a vet. If you feel confident waiting a few hours for your appointment, do that. But if you don't think that vet will be helpful, find an ER now.

more prayers!
MJ

edit to add: you might consider Angell then. It's more of a drive, but for me it was worth it.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

Sam

I know other people have recommended Angell as well. You might consider it. Could your mom come and go over with you perhaps?

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

I wish I had answers for you and sweet Ruben...just sending many many many prayers and vines your way...
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

my mom had a bad experiance at angel so she says not to go...so hard to know who to trust.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

just went to food and eating a little yay zofran....pleaseplease get better ruben
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea still safe to wait ti

Sam

If you take Ruben back to the same vet insist that they run a test for pancreatitis at the very least. I am sorry you don`t have any options for vets. I have to leave as well soon for an appointment. Have them check to see if he is dehydrated might need fluids as well. I know how you feel I went through this not so long ago with my own cat Lilly who is my avatar. I was at the vet every other day. Please do not let them do any surgery on Ruben until they find out what is causing this.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea/ he's eating a lil

thank you terri
he just went and started eating on his own...oh thank god, he always does this, then i take him in and the vet says he seems fine, like taking care to mechanic and it stops making the noise
gonna have her test for pancreatitus either way
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea/ he's eating a lil

Sam

Right do have them test for the pancreatitis, then go from there. I would not as I said let them so surgery on the cat just for the hell of it, I could see if he had bladder stones or something that was definitive. I will check in later and see whats going on. I am glad he is eating a little.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea/ he's eating a lil

does ruben have to fast for 12hrs for the spec fpl? he just ate a little
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea/ he's eating a lil

My vet spoke to an IDEXX vet who said a 12 hour fast is preferred. She also spoke to the Texas A&M vet (which is where we had to send Gracie's specfPL because my vet doesn't use IDEXX) and they said six hour fast for diabetic cats. However, I know alot of vets just run it whether the cat has fasted or not.

We did fast Gracie for her test.

Sending healing vines. Glad he's eating. Please let us know what the vet says. And I agree with Carl....try not to discuss the diabetes stuff with her but get her to focus on what is wrong with Ruben. The diabetes can be addressed later and we can help but she needs to find out why he is so sick. The specfPL sounds like a great idea to me. She should have done it in the first place...cheaper than an U/S.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben just had watery diarrhea/ he's eating a lil

Would you like me to get in touch with the Internal Medicine vet at Angell? In a place as large and busy as that, there are bound to be some less-than-great experiences. I've witnessed a few very upset people, but where their animals are involved, emotions are high. I've gone there with 4 cats now and my only real complaint has been the inept people who are in charge of visiting hours.

Please get a copy of Ruben's records in case you need them if you go elsewhere.

MJ
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

MJ- thank you
just got home, tested for leukemia and feline aids- negative
didnt do the fast since there is a blizzard coming but took blood and running a spec fpl
gave fluids and sent me home with 400units<? in one bag, but with orders not to give unless kessler deems fit.
tested ruben at +6 118 at home< thats with him not having insulin (possible skip yesterday morn) non last night, non this am and when tested at vet 194
vet told me twice and called after i left to reiterate NOT to give him insulin tonight. she said that the shed should be worn off by now and he may be normalizing...?
said hold off on mertz and see if he eats on his own, which he is, right now actually. thats good
my entire left side is numb icy and vision blurry< vets office is gonna kill me...lol
she said that b/c of the different food and b/c im giving him so many flavors that maybe the diarrhea was from the food, that he seems sensitive to food change< don't know if i believe that, but i did give him ff flaked flavor which was new to him.
not sure what to do tonight about insulin< it would be easier not to give obvioulsly for me, but not sure what to do, his numbers have been good concidering0 he did eat his ff and some of the evil kibble before vet and still his number was only 194?. im gonna test and post and take advise
i tried to mention the tight regulation protocol and she avoided the subject. also brought the round table talk about pancreatitus and she said be careful about studies and opinions from vets that are paid by the organization< which i understand, being a critical thinker myself but really.....she said the spec test still isn't 100% but for my peace of mind she'll run it but is doing it for me...also said his blood panel las time came back fine no liver enzymes that were high.
she was better with me today, but still playing the waiting game. will feel better when tests come back. lets pray he heals by then or at least on the path of healing.
so confused he better at the moment but that prolly cause he's home
oh i love him
dcin put 200 dollars in his account and todays visit came to 194.00 a HUGE thank to them and for everyone here. broke is an understatement, used my mortgage money to pay for last visit so this money is more than appreciated.
i am blessed so so blessed
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Back later but...
The no shot tonight sounds ok to me. Can you test him later to see if he's come up though?

Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Been thinking about you guys all day...I'm glad you're home, the vetty is running the p-titis test for you, and Ruben is eating some tonight. It definitely is possible that a sudden switch in fuds could be upsetting his belly. 3 of my civvies (ie, "The Triplets', as they are littermates) have very sensitive digestive tracts and food changes can really through them for a loop. Certain foods have horrific concequences for them. Hopefully you'll have the answers soon, and Ruben will keep eating for you.

Please, please, please take care of YOU, too! Ruben needs you...get yourself some rest - please!!! Hugs and prayers to you, skritches and belly rubs to Ruben!!
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Sam

Glad you finally got her to run the pancreatitis test. Be safe the next couple days and try to take it easy. You guys are getting an epic blizzard from what they are saying. Make sure you have plenty of food and food for the cats. Hope Ruben is feeling better after the vet. The weather channel is talking now about this, the storm is called Nemo. They are saying top ten snow storm of all time, dear heavens.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Check your supply of strips too.
Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Please make sure you have adequate supplies on hand. I just saw the Massachusetts weather report -- yeesh -- a potentially "historic" winter storm!

Your vet is correct -- no test is 100%. The Spec fPL can give a negative result if an episode of pancreatitis is just starting or is on the wane. To a degree, it's a matter of timing. However, a lipase test is unreliable for diagnosing pancreatitis in cats. (In other words, don't spend your money.)
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

oh i love the snow, almost as much as FDMB. Snow is my favorite thing. But im so nervous if ruben takes a turn for the worse....ugh, my vets said they will be open and are having staff sleeping over night. but getting there would be crazy. what if my power goes out, should i put my insulin outside so it stays cold? I have 50 alpha stips and my relion is here and i have 50 strips for test.
i have food for ruben and for me, but they reccomend the same flavor and i only have variety. i gave him flaked for the first time so i will stay away from that flavor.
people here are freaking out...lol like we've never seen snow before. ruben and i are safe , getting ready to test him.
is it bad that i hoping the bf gets snowed in at work...lol oh im bad..jk
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Sam

If you need anything go in the morning and get it they are saying this will get bad around noon. You guys are going to get hammered with snow and winds. If the power goes out you could put the insulin maybe in cooler and pack with snow? See what the others say.They are saying two to three feet of snow. We have had this in Ohio but I have four wheel drive jeep I brave anything in that for my cats but not so much in a regular car.
I wished I lived closer to help. Just prepare as best you can. If you can turn on the Weather Channel they are having round the clock coverage.

Terri
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet

Somehow your saying snow was your favorite thing brought up this memory, lol.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad

On a side note, this was played 10 times a day on a local "all christmas music" radio station from Thanksgiving night until New Year's Day....how did this song become a "Christmas Song"???
In the movie, she sings the song to the bratty kids to distract them from a scary thunderstorm. They're living in the shadow of Nazi Germany, and they're scared of thunder? What is wrong with these kids?
There's no snow to be seen. Was it near Christmas? It's on dozens of Christmas Albums from the 60's till today. But why?

These are the types of questions that keep me awake at night when there are no late night hypos to occupy my mind! :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet +pmps 217

i dont have cable to watch the weather channel, but i love the snow...ruben is the only thing that stresses me out. my car slides all over the place but even if i do 5 miles an hour, i will find a way to get to the vet. but i just had a long talk to him about staying well so we'll see if he listens. ;-)
every single one here here deserves a jefferson award. writing to ellen about fdmb...
thank you for the support and kindness. having same conflict about shooting tonight, im gonna try to monitor him, i know he needs insulin or i wouldnt be here but am happy his numbers have been relatively good concidering. he's been nibbling here and there and thats without the mirtz im gonna see if he keeps it up on his own. i want his little body to do its job.
we are both resting at the moment, vision is completely back now and ruben is preening, 2 great things.
 
Re: 2/7 Ruben home from vet +pmps 217

Sam

Please test Ruben and ask the people here if they think you should give insulin, that advice I can not give. They will advise you if you need to shoot or not. Pancreatitis I have experience with not so much diabetes, my little cat did not last long after her diagnosis. So I can not give any dosing advice.

Terri
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top