2/7 Rooh AMPS 351+2 282+6 44 +7 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member Since 2014
Two Days ago

Gave him some gravy at +6, 44 and it is working well. He has zero hypo symptoms.
So much for the dose increase we did yesterday.. So I guess now we decrease back to 3.25u and hold at least 3 days (6 cycles) correct?
 
Correct on the reduction back to 3.25u

Not necessarily on the hold for 6 cycles part......If they don't hold a reduction, you don't wait 6 cycles....you go back up when it's clear the reduction isn't holding
 
@Chris & China - The 3 times now that Rooh has hit 45 he has never shown any hypo symptoms other than looking a little extra sleepy. Does this mean anything..like maybe his pancreas still has some life in it? Also I really dont like hitting these 45's.. I am afraid that one day I will not be home to catch it.. I almost wasn't home today when it happened, I had just got home and made a special trip home to check in on him.

Should I maybe switch over to the SLGS or something in between?
 
40's aren't "dangerous"....We just have the limit of under 50 to "take action" because once they're under 50, there's not much "wiggle room" and first and foremost, we value safety here.

A non-diabetic cat can routinely have a "normal" BG in the high 30's....but we don't want our cats on insulin going that low! There's a big difference between a "hypo" and a "low number". Rooh just had a low number so earned the reduction.

China's dropped to 22 before and didn't show any "signs" of being too low other than being really hungry....but ECID and every time can be different too...just because she was "OK" before doesn't mean if she dropped that low again that she'd be OK then.

As for changing protocols....the problem you're not considering is even if you were doing the SLGS protocol, he still may have dropped into the 40's and you might not be home to catch it. The main difference between the 2 protocols is just that on SLGS, they earn a reduction if they drop below 90 instead of 50...You still have to catch it!!

Tight Regulation offers the best chance of remission but I can't tell you which protocol would be best for you and Rooh. It's a decision each caretaker has to make for themselves based on their goals (remission or control?) how much they can test (TR can be done with as few as 3-4 tests a day...but it's just as important to get those tests in on SLGS) and their lifestyle.

Have you read the information on the SLGS protocol?
 
Chris, I have not read the SLGS protocol lately, so I cant say i remember much about it will all the reading and research I have been doing.

Thanks for your thoughts. I guess I just want want every FD mom wants. Magic insulin that keeps him in normal range :(
 
the good news is that 40's is a normal range! Your magic insulin got him there, just as you're wishing! it's all in perspective.

Food is your friend when you're not home.

The good news is that he's been surfing along in green numbers now for at least 4 hours! that's fantastic - the longer he spends in this range, the more his body will accept it as normal. when that happens, ideally the bouncing will end.

Yes, you probably need to decrease him back to 3.25 since he's newly diagnosed. Let's see how he does this time. What happened last time might not happen this time. Cats like to be like that. :D
 
I want some too!

If Rooh is bouncing by PMPS you can shoot through the bounce at the old dose ONCE. Also you don't necessarily hold a reduced dose for 6 cycles, as Chris said if it's not holding you go straight back up but also in some circumstances you can need to reduce again more quickly than that. If you do need to go up again ask about going up by a fat instead of the whole .25 maybe Rooh needs an in between.

You are testing plenty for TR I think you should keep it up and try for remission :) are you able to leave food out for Rooh when you're out? Most cats will feed themselves when they go low.
 
40 is normal??? Geez, I thought it was bad. I have been giving him gravy for the last 4 hrs to keep him where he is. He is not very carb senstive. He has had 4 tsp gravy and some 2 tsp epigen dry.

Okay I will definitely need more advice the next few days because I thought I needed to keep him at each dose change for 6 cycles while waiting on bounces to clear?

I try to leave food out but its very hard because I have 2 other piglets that eat it all no matter how much i leave down. They used to be raw fed until Fancy Feast entered the house. Unfortunately Rooh will not eat raw, he would rather starve.
 
40 is normal for a non-diabetic cat. Probably that's what Rooh was before he was diagnosed, and if you tested your civvies (the piglets, LOL) they likely are in that range. We use the 40's as a take-action zone to prevent them from going lower, but we have had cats on OTJ trials that were in the 30's. If a cat's not on insulin, that's fine, but for our kitties on insulin you want to pull them up at that point. I caught punkin at 32 once and nearly had a heart attack - but he was fine and had no symptoms.

You don't need to give carbs for anything over 50. Sometimes giving a couple of teaspoons of low carb can help a kitty surf along in the green numbers.

What you're looking for is how low the dose takes Rooh between the bounces. The idea with reducing the dose is that hopefully, you'll continue seeing green nadirs in the subsequent cycles. If you see nadirs that are higher, then you want to go back up in dose right away. That can be tricky to discern, so just ask for help looking at it.
 
Anything under 120ish is considered normal - some cats do run that high. I suppose it's an individual thing.

Jersey was one that gave Shelly 30's when she was first OTJ. Along with a few heart-attacks, LOL. take a look at 4/18.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top