2/7 Pants AMPS 241

Christina&Pants

Member Since 2025
Previous Post

It's been a little while since I posted proper, my apologies -- it has been an awful end of the week for me in my personal and professional life. Plus I have family that decided to invite themselves over this weekend. Yay....

But! I finally got his chart and my signature back up to speed. @Suzanne & Darcy Proper update for you, his sheet should be populated properly now!

For Pants though, everything has been going well. Stool is consistent, even with Atopica increased and Doxycycline added. Since he's back to eating consistently (and eating his high carb dry food), I've been considering upping his doseage from 1.5 units to 2. Would appreciate thoughts on the matter :) Our next vet appt is 2/9, and I'm almost leaning towards holding off until then just so that insulin dose changes don't have an impact on his CBC while we're changing other meds...

I don't want to jinx myself but I feel like we're heading in a decent direction on his bloodwork finally. I think the B-12 especially helped.
 
I think you could go ahead and increase by .25 units. I would love to not see pinks on that spreadsheet.

It sounds like you really had a rough week. :bighug:
I was about to respond that it sure has been, but hopefully it's going to get better now!

Then the prozinc vial leapt out of my hands before I even had a chance to draw up the shot 😭 based on other old prozinc posts, it seems like dropping a bottle once should still be okay. I rolled it a bit to try and diminish the bubbles and there does not seem to be any floaties. After I drew and gave the shot, I realized the cap is dented... should I be worried? :(

PXL_20260208_135909936.jpg


I was so focused on checking for bubbles and floaties that I shot more prozinc into the air than I intended, so we wound up shooting roughly 1.6units into Pants I think.

That's provided it wasn't a fur shot... it didn't really feel like the needle went in, but I could not feel any moisture in the surrounding area after. Pants did not appreciate my checking either, so I'll take that as a sign it did go in (normally he is very affectionate and loves all pets everywhere but his feet and tummy). So yeah... bit of a rough morning for me. And more entertaining of family this afternoon.


Also, housekeeping: do you prefer I make a new thread daily? Or ride off existing threads for a few days unless something crazy happens?
 
I think your vial should be okay. Just check it next time you use it to make sure it looks okay. It just hasn’t been your week/weekend!

As for threads. You can just keep this one going until it reaches 50 posts. But sometimes it’s easier to start a new one and use a new title if there’s something new or specific. Also, old titles can be updated. And new tags can be put on them (like the question mark, etc.)
 
Sound good! I will keep an eye on the vial. Hopefully this means the upcoming week will be a little bit better, ugh...

I'll probably try to make a new thread when I can, unless it's easier for conversation flow like this one. :)

Pants is just the cutest little man! I was just looking at his photo again. He reminds me of my cat Pip in his face.
Now you're going to get me gushing about him haha

Pants is one of the chillest cats I've ever known, especially for a street cat. I adopted him Nov 2023. He's always had a lot of weird health quirks like having half a tail (confirmed it was a clean break at some point in his life), chronic dental issues despite regular cleanings, allergies causing blackheads and chunks of fur to come off, chewing off his back toenails, mouth breathing... I swear I've heard him burp multiple times, like a human after drinking too much sprite. He strongly preferred clothes to donuts or cones to prevent him from licking allergy hotspots. He's one of those cats that purrs near-constantly, and he happily tolerates being carried like a baby and squished a little in a hug. I've never heard him hiss, and he's never scratched or bitten me, he's so gentle. The only things he doesn't like are shots (especially with larger needles), his feet being touched, his carrier/car rides, and extremely angry aggressive dogs barking outside the window. That was the only time I ever heard him growl, I was shocked.

When I say I know he's feeling a lot more like himself, it's usually being typed from underneath his 15 pound body and his little cinder block paws as stinky breath is purred over my face, LOL. This is the view I usually wake up to
PXL_20260105_003235174.webp



Here's his halloween costume 2 years ago! Caught mid-lick, but it looks like he's yelling. No costumes this year, I didn't want to bother him while he was sick
bafkreiblpgoqe7gtofymxzelrm4ihq66eesgceg5he2toectwxcoqcqx6e.jpg



He's been growing little fairy circles of fur wherever the adhesive was for his libre 3 sensors. The fur comes back much faster than the shaved portion. Have you ever seen anything like this?
fairy circle.jpg
 
Pants is doing good still in terms of demeanor, but he was high in blood glucose last night starting around 1amish, maxing out the libre for a few hours. Is it possible stress could be a factor?

I think I have come down with the flu... Everything is testing negative, but I have a cough, congestion, and horrendous muscle pains. His elevated BG aligns pretty well with my onset of coughing and tossing and turning and getting up in the night. He's always been a bit of a fretful nurse, insistently grooming my previous cat when he was feeling under the weather. It's also still possible I had a fur shot yesterday morning

I will update his spreadsheet when I can but I'm going to focus on resting for now. We're supposed to have a vet follow-up today, I may call them and ask if they still want me to come or nah. Maybe I can just drop him off while masked for his CBC and possible darbepoetin :/
 
Back
Top