2/7 Oberon AMPS 144, +4 44, +5.5 56, +7 60, +8.5 53, PMPS 101, +4 179

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-276-dose-incr-5-260-pmps-301-4-313.286414/

Still heading up...hopefully the new dose will kick in soonish.

Be careful what you wish for, I guess! Typical Oberon. Maybe he needs a dose between 2.75 and 3 U? With calipers, I can tinker with it if I want to.

Trip advice requested: We're going to be away in a couple of months for about 5 days (minimum of 8 cycles depending on exactly when we leave and get home). Trying to figure out options. We'll have someone coming to feed everyone, but they're not able to do shots or monitor. Options would be to try to find an in-home pet sitter service instead that can test and do shots (but wouldn't be there to monitor overnight), board him at our vet (could do shots but also doesn't monitor overnight), or just give up and skip those doses. (If we have someone giving insulin we'd do a vacation dose so we don't have to worry about his shenanigans.) In either case (skip or vacation dose) it'll take a while to get back on track, but we'l just have to deal with that. Any thoughts?
 
I have a petsitter than can do shots but not test - not that I need that now. Could you find someone like that? Or ask at your vet clinic if they have staff who do petsitting on the side. I have a friend who went away for a month with a vet staff covering that time. He picked a vet clinic close to his house so it was convenient for them.

It's kind of hard to guess where Oberon will be dose wise in a couple months. Hopefully his ketones past stays in the past if you decide to skip.
 
I was going to say, I used to board my Tiger at the vet's boarding hospital and they did monitor 24/7. Not sure I'd do that with a FD kitty if they were not there 24/7. I hope you can find a petistter, maybe you could bribe a vet tech as Wendy has suggested? I hope something works out for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I always preferred leaving my cats at home vs. boarding, just from the perspective that I felt they would be more comfortable, and Mav gets super stressed at the vets. Maybe Oberon is more chill :cool:. When I travelled I had a pet sitter who could give shots but not test. She would visit morning and evening and stay for about 1/2 hour or so, feed the cats, give Mav insulin, then load up the autofeeders, play with the cats a little then leave. Vet techs who can come to do shots and test is a good option as previously mentioned. I recently discovered a new vet tech who started at the vet clinic I take my crew to who does offer pet sitting services. It’s worth asking around to see what might be available in your area.
 
I have a pet sitter who tests and does shots, but she does not stay overnight. We usually use a lower dose for the duration of the vacation. She fills the autofeeder so Bella can eat several times in each cycle. She comes twice a day. She's a treasure, and as she has diabetic cats herself, she completely knows what she is doing. Maybe try to ask around, see if you can find somebody like that?
The other option could be to teach somebody and have them stop by to test and shoot? I did that with a friend and she comes whenever our sitter cannot.
 
Thanks, everyone. I'm going to check with my vet to see if any of the techs there do pet sitting on the side. I do think he'd be happier at home, but other than twice a day feedings no one would be around. At least at the vet there would be people around during the day. I'll have to think about it. Maybe I could get our regular sitter (Tim's brother) to do the shots if we prep syringes in advance.
 
Back
Top