2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Ok
because of all of my true2go issues lately, i went out (in a snowstorm) tonight to get a relion. I ended up getting the Prime vs the other 2 because Walmart had the test strips on sale for only $9 a bottle!

I did my first test tonight.
I did my True2go reading and got a 183.
Then I did the test on the new Relion and got a 266

Obviously I'm confused/stressed and dont really know WHAT to think now!! lol
He has been consistant with his upper 100s this week... so seeing a 266 is discouraging... though probably just a meter difference.

ANy advice or tips with this new meter or thoughts on things would be appreciated.
Thanks!
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Hi guys is it a new bottle of strips you opened? Do you have any other one's? Are you getting enough blood on the strips? I would probably skip if you cannot get a test since there is no way to tell what his number is.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

What Error Code are you getting? Do you have the instrustion manual, or can you look it up online?
Hopefully, you can figure it out.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Hi. Yes. I did multiple last night on my current bottle of strips and then did a couple this morning still errors. So I opened a new unopened box of strips and tried several out of there too. All errors! Argh. He's been dropping in te am lately so I rather skip it than shoot blind!

Guess ill be getting a new meter today. Hope that fixes it.
Oh and yeah same blood amount I always use. Haven't had issues up til yesterday Cept one day it would go back and forth between readings and errors
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

It says e-5 the book says its a strip error but I've done 2 diff bottles of strips. I got errors about 7 times last night and about 5 this morning.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Have not tried a battery. It's a true2go and it has one o those metal round btteries so I don't have one on hand to try :(
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Is this an older meter where you have to enter the code for new strips?
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

I would check the manual and see what the error message means. Weird, yeah could be a battery too. We use relion micro confirm from Walmart and have never had a problem just a thought. Hope you are able to figure it all out!
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Michelle. How much do those strips cost?

These strips are self coding or whatever so they do not have to be coded by me or calibrated
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

The strips are $19.98 for 50 or $37.88 for 100, not sure what you are paying but the meter is cheap too about $15. I order my test strips right from walmart.com and use the link above so fdmb gets a percentage.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Oh that's cheaper than mine. Ill have to check into that one.
Do you have to code them?
Is it ok to switch meters?
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Nope you don't have to code them, just stick the strip in and what I like about it is you don't need a huge drop of blood. It is ok to switch meters, I would just note it on his ss. I think quite a few people use the relion on here. It is the relion confirm micro we use. Good luck!
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

You might still want to get the old meter sorted out so you can have it as a back-up ;-)
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. AMPS 180 after 1 hour delay

Well after a call to the company and a test with them that showed the meter and strips with no issues... I tried again and this time no error. Argh. So frustrating
So he wa at 180 and did get his .75 just 1 hr late.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

FWIW, I'd still think about getting another meter. The "True" meters don't have the best track record with people here. Regardless of what meter you use, it's always good to have a back-up.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. Meter issues! Help! Skip shot??

Hi guys .. boy that would be frustrating .. talk about wasting a lot of strips, pricey ones at that! We always used (and still use) the reline micro with mocha and never had a problem .. it's our main one and our back up one! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. AMPS 180, +6=165

I think I will go get a relion also...
Crappy part is I just bought 100 strips for the true2go too!
But I am so tired of them not working
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

Ok
because of all of my true2go issues lately, i went out (in a snowstorm) tonight to get a relion. I ended up getting the Prime vs the other 2 because Walmart had the test strips on sale for only $9 a bottle!

I did my first test tonight.
I did my True2go reading and got a 183.
Then I did the test on the new Relion and got a 266

Obviously I'm confused/stressed and dont really know WHAT to think now!! lol
He has been consistant with his upper 100s this week... so seeing a 266 is discouraging... though probably just a meter difference.

ANy advice or tips with this new meter or thoughts on things would be appreciated.
Thanks!


sorry i am still getting the hang of this, i accidentally put it at the beginning of my post from this morning and deleted that one
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

I have found the true meters tend to underestimate the high numbers so you might see higher numbers on the relion. I would switch to the relion since its cheaper and use it for a couple of days to see what the numbers are like, before you make any decision on dose.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

Thanks for all of your help Wendy.
I appreciate it.

So if he is higher on the relion... and I do shoot... I dont have to worry about him actually being a lot lower like the true2go stated right? Cause the relion is 'truer' to the real number then the true2go right?
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

Hi Moo's mamabean,

If you buy the Arkray Glucocard 01 Mini or the Arkray Glucocard 01 from American Diabetes Wholesale (see the FDMB shopping link above) you can get a good deal on the meter and the strips (both Glucocard 01 meters use the same strips: Glucocard 01 Sensor). The Arkray Glucocard 01 Mini is the same meter as the Walmart Relion Micro, and the Arkray Glucocard 01 is the same meter as the Walmart Confirm. (Walmart puts its own "brand name" on the Arkray meters.) They take a tiny blood sample.

Here's a great deal on the strips:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...-sensor-blood-glucose-test-strips_4050_54.htm

And here's a "package deal" with the Arkray Glucocard 01 and 100 strips. Essentially the meter is free. And free shipping for the next couple of days:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...d-01-blood-glucose-monitoring-kit_4044_53.htm

Note that if you want to use the Arkray Glucocard 01 Sensor strips in the Walmart Relion meters you must have the Relion Micro or the Relion Confirm--NOT the Prime.

I use the Relion Micro with the Arkray strips. I also have the Arkray Mini as a back-up.

Good luck,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

If you aren't comfortable run both meters for a couple of days, but you should be fine at lower numbers.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

Well I just did a +5 test with both meters.
They were much closer this time.
The old True2go was 123.
The new Relion was 150.

Definately much better and makes me feel a little bit better for sure!

Thanks everyone.

btw, i cant remember, how do I update Moos profile to update his meter type.
 
Re: 2/7 Moo. PMPS 183 - Meter switch tonight PMPS on Relion-

If using google docs/drive:
You should just be able to click on the profile link as it shows in 1 of your posts.
As you are the owner of the profile doc, it will let you edit and then all changes are automatically saved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top