2-7 Mini Purrl AMPS 333, +5 299, PMPS 300

While you didn’t specifically ask, I would recommend an increase to 0.75u tomorrow. With SLGS you hold a dose for 7 days then evaluate based on what the nadirs are (how low the current dose is dropping kitty) whether an increase is required. Doses are evaluated based on data points you collect, and in some instances for caregivers who don’t have much data over that week to feel comfortable knowing how low the dose is taking the kitty, you’d run a curve to see how the insulin is working. In your case, I think you have been getting enough data to get a feel for how low this dose is taking Purrl. You have been getting nadirs over 150, so an increase by 0.25u is suggested.

I’m not sure whether anyone has shared the following info with you yet, but I think it will be helpful to you, since you have just recently started collecting data. How each cat responds to insulin and carbs is different, so understanding these concepts below as they relate to your cat is important:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
If you haven’t seen them yet, here is a link to the Dosing Methods we follow on this forum. Just scroll down to SLGS to see the information regarding when to increase.
 
While you didn’t specifically ask, I would recommend an increase to 0.75u tomorrow. With SLGS you hold a dose for 7 days then evaluate based on what the nadirs are (how low the current dose is dropping kitty) whether an increase is required. Doses are evaluated based on data points you collect, and in some instances for caregivers who don’t have much data over that week to feel comfortable knowing how low the dose is taking the kitty, you’d run a curve to see how the insulin is working. In your case, I think you have been getting enough data to get a feel for how low this dose is taking Purrl. You have been getting nadirs over 150, so an increase by 0.25u is suggested.

I’m not sure whether anyone has shared the following info with you yet, but I think it will be helpful to you, since you have just recently started collecting data. How each cat responds to insulin and carbs is different, so understanding these concepts below as they relate to your cat is important:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
If you haven’t seen them yet, here is a link to the Dosing Methods we follow on this forum. Just scroll down to SLGS to see the information regarding when to increase.

I appreciate you reaching out with help. Thank you so much for this clarification. I was wondering the same thing regarding dose increase. I will increase tomorrow morning to 0.75u. I printed the SLGS and reread it again today. I wasn't sure if I had enough data, or if I needed to do a curve - this is all new to me.

My vet wasn't very helpful (rather young, not much experience I think - have appt. with a much more experienced one next week) and just said I didn't need to test and give her 1.0u twice a day. I was pretty nervous about that and found this helpful forum of seasoned knowledgeable folks. After reading the 2 dosing methods, I thought SLGS would be better for us.

Again, thank you.
 
Good luck with the dose increase! And please continue posting here, you are very new to this and you are doing a great job managing a very tricky disease! Many vets are not very knowledgable about Feline Diabetes unfortunately. I read once that they get about 10 minutes of training and that is mostly when the sales reps coax them to prescribe prescription diabetic kitty food.:eek: That is not good advice he gave you about testing for sure! Testing is how you keep kitty safe!
 
Definitely info overload, a whole new language to learn, and new tasks to master. I intend to hang here to learn, and of course post Purrl's progress. :)
 
Back
Top