While you didn’t specifically ask, I would recommend an increase to 0.75u tomorrow. With SLGS you hold a dose for 7 days then evaluate based on what the nadirs are (how low the current dose is dropping kitty) whether an increase is required. Doses are evaluated based on data points you collect, and in some instances for caregivers who don’t have much data over that week to feel comfortable knowing how low the dose is taking the kitty, you’d run a curve to see how the insulin is working. In your case, I think you have been getting enough data to get a feel for how low this dose is taking Purrl. You have been getting nadirs over 150, so an increase by 0.25u is suggested.
I’m not sure whether anyone has shared the following info with you yet, but I think it will be helpful to you, since you have just recently started collecting data. How each cat responds to insulin and carbs is different, so understanding these concepts below as they relate to your cat is important:
- Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
- Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
- Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
If you haven’t seen them yet, here is a link to the
Dosing Methods we follow on this forum. Just scroll down to SLGS to see the information regarding when to increase.