2/7 Ming PMPS = 457, +2 = 437 / AMPS = 374, +2 = 335, +6 = 376

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-106-1-83-reduced-dose-this-cycle-only.210419

I gave Ming 8 units this morning and tonight. Now I'm at work so my mom will be monitoring him. I hope he just continues to bounce so my mom doesn't have to do damage control haha!

Thanks everyone for the help yesterday! It felt like a blur because I was trying to sleep while doing hourly BGs lol. I actually got uninterrupted sleep today so I'm feeling refreshed.

Little brat, not a bad idea to drain that depot a bit, given the unknowns, and it seems he was possibly a little full after his all day buffet service earlier in the day?

Yes, what a brat!!! Hm, that makes sense that he was probably full from his buffer yesterday in the AM loL! He did start eating in the middle of the night and by morning, he was hounding me for food when it wasn't shot time.

The early part of the cycle, because of the depot will have played out pretty much the same as if you had shot the full dose. But you should see the numbers come up a bit towards the latter half of the cycle

And yes, that's exactly what happened! :)

I see that by +5 the temptations had the desired effect. They are super high in carbs, I would avoid using them unless in case of emergency, just one or two can really skew the numbers. A better choice might be to have a higher LC food or even give him HC wet if you need to carb him up because you can't monitor to keep him safe, it might stall the cycle, but at least with wet it will be in and out of his system within a few hours, the effects of dry food and temptations take longer to leave the system.
I sprinkle a bit of freezedried chicken treats on top of Georges food if he's a bit full or picky, it's usually enough to encourage him to eat.
At least you'll get some sleep.

Good ideas! I probably should've given him some HC then. And I need to go out and look for some higher LC food!

I was only thinking: he's getting low! And he's too distracted at the hospital to eat! Here's some temptations!! I probably gave him about 10 pieces to entice him to eat. I even sprinkled some fortiflora in his food. But there was too much hospital for him to explore to eat. I've taken him to work many times but he's always like this. Probably stressed too.

I did get a little bit of sleep once I finished all my work lol. Ming was sleeping too by early 3 AM. Here's a photo:
57120986375__E9F2CFEE-5990-433F-A858-FAE327A1E982.JPG


I do think that I would take the full reduction down to 8.00u given how the cycle panned out. With the depot reduced by a little hopefully you won't have to much excitement. Though that depot from the larger dose will probably still have a thing or two to say in the next few cycles. It kinda depends on how full it was in the first place.

I think since we know it takes Ming longer to fill a depot/get over bounces, I will hold the 8 unit dose at least for 10 cycles. I was debating to give him 8.25 units but thought I'd go back to 8 just in case. He's definitely bouncing right now.
 
Yes I would hold the dose for now. See where he lands when this bounce clears.
Looking at the last time he hit lime green and then had a reduced dose it took him 4 cycles to clear the bounce and get back to it, though that was a while ago.
 
What do you all think: next time (if there is a next time)... I won't drain the depot if I'm able to monitor at home but give the reduction. Since this has happened twice now and both times, he just seems to bounce right back up. Although, the first time, he did go way low again during shot time 4 cycles later. so let's see what happens in the next day or two!
 
+5 = 421

When I get home tomorrow, I'll try to get a ketone test. I always forget to test ketones :facepalm:
Good luck with the LB lurk.
BTW I love the pic of your relaxed Ming at the office.

Another reason he may not have eaten as much is because he felt good in that range and he was just surfing and didn't need any food.
For instance I noticed with George he was/is most hungry when his BG is high is dropping fast or if it dropped too low, like in lime greens.
When he would hit lime greens he would, not move away from his bowl until his BG was up and he was surfing. I swear I could have calibrated the distance he sat from his bowl to his BG.

What do you all think: next time (if there is a next time)... I won't drain the depot if I'm able to monitor at home but give the reduction. Since this has happened twice now and both times, he just seems to bounce right back up. Although, the first time, he did go way low again during shot time 4 cycles later. so let's see what happens in the next day or two!

Lets see what happens.
It's just at the back of our mind we are thinking has he got IAA and is it breaking?? As you are aware the steroids are influencing things to, and as you wean them down, that will likely also have an impact on BG. So keep that at the back of your mind too.
If he doesn't get back to good numbers once you have given him time for the bounce to clear, under TR you can take the dose back up, you don't have to wait 10 cycles, if you determine the reduction has failed then you can go back up in the dose.
Just keep looking at those nadirs and reassessing the dose.
 
Back
Top