2/7 Mauer AMPS 326, +2 392, +5 430, PMPS 356

SashaV

Member Since 2020
This is not working.... I need to do something.
Bought a digital caliper today, need to figure out how it works.
I'll be out tomorrow from +5 to PMPS but my sister will check up on her and test her.
Something needs to happen now. Preferably yesterday.
Shot shoulder today, lately I've been shooting scruff, don't know if that makes a difference.

What do I do?
I'm more concerned about her health than mine. She just need to hang in until I've got my testing done, heart and bone marrow then I'll run her tightly. This feels like starting all over again!
 
Hi Sasha! Sorry she is running high! Tell me how I can best help you sort out the callipers? Happy to try and make a video, etc. but perhaps is best if you tell me what steps you have taken and where you are getting stuck.

I *think* where I shoot has a huuuge effect. But I suspect in my case is because I am much better at doing a proper tent and deliver under the skin in between the shoulder blades than anywhere else....

Take care of yourself. She will be fine for a little bit more even if running high! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi. If you aren’t well you can’t take cate of Mauer.
Have you seen the video Marje made in calipers?
I used to shoot on the flank and abdomen because I read it was best somewhere early on.
 
Hi. If you aren’t well you can’t take cate of Mauer.
Have you seen the video Marje made in calipers?
I used to shoot on the flank and abdomen because I read it was best somewhere early on.
I read it hits harder when shooting there.. but haven't tried it..
No I haven't seen the video. But it's math and numbers... my brain shut down :oops::banghead:
 
Hi Sasha! Sorry she is running high! Tell me how I can best help you sort out the callipers? Happy to try and make a video, etc. but perhaps is best if you tell me what steps you have taken and where you are getting stuck.

I *think* where I shoot has a huuuge effect. But I suspect in my case is because I am much better at doing a proper tent and deliver under the skin in between the shoulder blades than anywhere else....

Take care of yourself. She will be fine for a little bit more even if running high! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I've also been noting where I shoot, in case it has some kind of meaning..
I'm stuck from the very beginning.
What's the first step?
Finding syringes that has the zero line closest to the actual zero?
 
What's the first step?
Finding syringes that has the zero line closest to the actual zero?
Which syringes do you use? Marje's condo on calipers has measurements for certain brands of syringes already so you might not have to measure:

All of these syringes are U100, 0.3cc (the gauge of the needle won’t matter):
Monoject 1.24mm = 1u
ReliOn 1.32 mm = 1u
BD Ultrafine II (Canada) 1.5mm = 1u
BD Ultrafine II (US) 1.62mm = 1u
Carepoint 1.2mm = 1u
UltiCare VetRX 1.25mm = 1u
 
As if all this wasn't enough.
Yesterday on my way to bed, giving Theo my rabbit his food, he didn't show up. He is ridiculously happy about anything food related but he was just lying down pressing his tummy to the floor.
Threw some meds in him, and one and a half hour later he was eating again. I think he was constipated, so I'm continuing the meds for a few days.
In my experience, it's never just one pet who gets sick..... :banghead:
 
Which syringes do you use? Marje's condo on calipers has measurements for certain brands of syringes already so you might not have to measure:

All of these syringes are U100, 0.3cc (the gauge of the needle won’t matter):
Monoject 1.24mm = 1u
ReliOn 1.32 mm = 1u
BD Ultrafine II (Canada) 1.5mm = 1u
BD Ultrafine II (US) 1.62mm = 1u
Carepoint 1.2mm = 1u
UltiCare VetRX 1.25mm = 1u
You're right, but since I'm half way around the world they don't apply here.
I use the BD ultrafine demi syringes, and if there's a difference from the US to Canada there'll be one here too...
I don't even know where they're manufactured... maybe it says something on the packaging... if I'm lucky they're made somewhere else, so I can skip the step with the calculations :joyful::p:D
 
Since you have the BD syringes it doesn’t matter if the zero line is where it should be. Just measure from the zero line to where 1 unit is to confirm whether it’s 1.5 mm or 1.62 mm.
I'll try that. You mean from where the top ring is?
 
It's not. 2.40
Hmm, that's a big difference. Here are some photos I took of 1 unit on my BD Ultra syringes from the US, where 1.62 mm = 1 unit.

IMG_2665.jpeg IMG_2663.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2665.jpeg
    IMG_2665.jpeg
    23.3 KB · Views: 167
  • IMG_2663.jpg
    IMG_2663.jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 150
But you meassure from the first zero line, I do it from the top, and the other side of the caliper.
Measure from the first zero line. That way you know what the measurement for one unit is for YOUR syringe. It doesn't matter whether the zero lines up with the top or not. This way you will have a standard measurement for your particular syringe. That's why all of the syringes that I pasted into my post above have different measurements because the barrel diameter is different for each brand, so the amount of insulin that gets into the syringe is at a different place. Does that seem clear at all? Sorry if I'm only confusing you more. :oops:
 
Measure from the first zero line. That way you know what the measurement for one unit is for YOUR syringe. It doesn't matter whether the zero lines up with the top or not. This way you will have a standard measurement for your particular syringe. That's why all of the syringes that I pasted into my post above have different measurements because the barrel diameter is different for each brand, so the amount of insulin that gets into the syringe is at a different place. Does that seem clear at all? Sorry if I'm only confusing you more. :oops:
I'm sleep deprived, having a light migraine and cooking dinner so... I'm confused about everything. But at least I didn't mess up my food.......
From the zero line it's 1.30
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

When using calipers, the most important thing is that what you use for a measurement is consistent from dose to dose, not that it matches what other people use.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

When using calipers, the most important thing is that what you use for a measurement is consistent from dose to dose, not that it matches what other people use.
But it still matters...
If my "new" one unit is 2.40, then I'm in big trouble cause she's been getting like 4.36mm as 2.75U. So if I give her 3 times of the 2.40 since I'm increasing today, she'll have an overdose....
 
Are you using calipers to measure your 2.75 units? If so are you using the small side of the calipers to get under the lip of the syringe?
 
Are you using calipers to measure your 2.75 units? If so are you using the small side of the calipers to get under the lip of the syringe?
No, I need to get the one unit down first...
Yeah, the small side all the way up to the ring where the syringe starts..
 
Sorry! I have been away from the computer!
I know I meassured with my BDs 2.75 units before. Let me search what I sent you!
 
Meassired from the very top, as the "zero" line varies a lot!. Meassure like in this picture, using the "inside arms:
dose.jpg
 

Attachments

  • dose.jpg
    dose.jpg
    45.5 KB · Views: 188
If you want to reduce her dose from 2.75U to 2.5 U, give her 4.15 mm from the very top (as you meassured to get to 4.36mm)
Definitely not decreasing, but increasing.
I need some sort of
1U - this on calipers
1.25U -this
4U - this...
 
I can't advise on the dosing but you have had Mauer in good places before. If you are not comfortable with the calipers use your eyes and your better judgement. Don't make things harder for yourself.
 
Oh Mauer, these numbers have not been approved by auntie Liz!

Sasha, thanks for re-starting this callipers discussion because I bought some a couple of weeks ago but haven't started yet. Since Minnie is back on a whole number dose, I went back to my BD syringes and those markings are obviously off even with my reading glasses. Now you have given me incentive to learn!

And...easy to say, everyone says it, but please try and look after your own health. You have a lot going on!! Healthy mama = healthy kitty and bunny. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry Sasha, There has been a lot going on. If you want to increase to 3U, widen your caliper to 4.58mm.
Absolutely no worries dear Karen!!!:bighug::bighug: just gave a fatty again, and she's already heading down! Yay!
How's work and juggling Herc?
 
Oh Mauer, these numbers have not been approved by auntie Liz!

Sasha, thanks for re-starting this callipers discussion because I bought some a couple of weeks ago but haven't started yet. Since Minnie is back on a whole number dose, I went back to my BD syringes and those markings are obviously off even with my reading glasses. Now you have given me incentive to learn!

And...easy to say, everyone says it, but please try and look after your own health. You have a lot going on!! Healthy mama = healthy kitty and bunny. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Definitely not approved...
She was in bed all day, after her PM shot she came up to me on the couch and I covered her in candy wrapping and she enjoyed it :oops:
So she's up and about already going back down.

Then we can learn together!!:D
I like the whole numbers too, or those with a line :p but I'm sure that's all over now, a bright new world!

How is Minnie doing?:bighug:
I knoooooooooow :rolleyes: but I didn't expect her to go so high, it was like a slap in the face. Yellow is meeeeeh, pink is BAAAAD. No feelings about red......we haven't been there in six months! I'm doing my best, but I'll admit it's been nice having a break from testing. And sleeping a bit more, not much really.. but it's been nice waking up on my own instead of an alarm going off :joyful:
 
Glad Mauer is coming down!

How's work and juggling Herc?
tough....but at least he is being a better boy, so makes me feel the effort is appreciated :smuggrin:

It takes a while to get used to calipers, but it is great once you get used to. Do try to keep using. It took me two weeks to stop complaining and loving it!
 
Glad Mauer is coming down!


tough....but at least he is being a better boy, so makes me feel the effort is appreciated :smuggrin:

It takes a while to get used to calipers, but it is great once you get used to. Do try to keep using. It took me two weeks to stop complaining and loving it!
Darn you have lots of green!!!!!
 
LOL! You know me and numbers, so I'd probably not do that... no wait, I definitely wouldn't :D:D

Welcome back! :bighug::bighug:
Hahaha, i am sure though that you will get the hang of it until i will get there :bighug:
We are still not back, again experimenting with Chico’s progress with construction work :rolleyes: we are at our vacation house for another week and a halfo_O
 
This is not working.... I need to do something.
Bought a digital caliper today, need to figure out how it works.
I'll be out tomorrow from +5 to PMPS but my sister will check up on her and test her.
Something needs to happen now. Preferably yesterday.
Shot shoulder today, lately I've been shooting scruff, don't know if that makes a difference.

What do I do?
I'm more concerned about her health than mine. She just need to hang in until I've got my testing done, heart and bone marrow then I'll run her tightly. This feels like starting all over again!
Sasha, are you ill? I probably missed it when you talked about this, but you are having your heart and bone marrow tested? That sounds serious. I am so sorry to read this. I totally get your frustration with Mauer’s numbers! And… what happened to the woman from Denmark that you were helping? She posted a few times. Is she still posting? Did I miss it in all of my preoccupation with Darcy?
 
Sasha, are you ill? I probably missed it when you talked about this, but you are having your heart and bone marrow tested? That sounds serious. I am so sorry to read this. I totally get your frustration with Mauer’s numbers! And… what happened to the woman from Denmark that you were helping? She posted a few times. Is she still posting? Did I miss it in all of my preoccupation with Darcy?
I don't know if I am? I have an ultrasound scheduled for tomorrow evening, so I guess I'll find out soon.. my pulse has been too high too long, and my dad found out his coronary artery is misplaced. The pulse means I can't take my medication and therefore I sleep way heavier than usual. Yesterday I overheard 5!!!! alarms. So it feels so darn unsafe all this with Mauer, cause I can't rely on me waking up!

You mean Marlene? That's a good question, I've been thinking a lot about her lately. It's been a few weeks since I heard anything, but everything was going great then. She's not posting anymore, her English isn't great. Mine wasn't the first few months either :oops::D
 
Back
Top