Hi again,
I just don't know what to expect. Somehow I thought Maki's 2+ and 4+ would be lower this evening? Not enough insulin? Not enough depot yet? Stay at the 1.5U or increase?
She has been mid to high 200s all day and evening today. Eating fine. Not ravenous like she was. No excessive urinating or drinking.
Been resting a lot, however.
Probably the best thing is to not expect anything in terms of numbers, it'll drive you crazy.
Maki is newly diagnosed, the depot hasn't had time to build, we haven't transitioned food yet...so there's a lot of things at play that make it hard to predict. And even cats that have been on insulin awhile can be hard to predict! It's why we test, test, test lol
I linked the dosing methods sticky earlier, SLGS is the protocol you'd be working with. Give that a read when you have some time. Per SLGS you need to hold the 1.5U dose for at least one week, then perform a curve. Reminder: dropping below 90 at any time is immediate 0.25U reduction. And if you get a preshot below 200, I posted an excerpt from the guidelines a few posts up.
Given the confusion around this morning's dose, I'd put "ns" there, for "no shot".
Wendy posted the sample cycle - this explains why we've recommended testing at certain times in your prior threads (just didn't go too in-depth to spare you from information overload). Mogs and I stressed the "before bed" (+2/+3) test because that's a good indicator if a cycle will be active - meaning you'll see a drop towards nadir vs no change (see my spreadsheet recently...we've had all flat cycles with no dips...my PM +2/+3 tests are often showing an increase, so I don't do a +5/+6 test).
So:
- Continue to hold the 1.5U dose for at least a week (again, keeping safety guidelines we've mentioned in mind)
- Tests - AMPS, AM +2/+3, PMPS, PM +2/+3 all required. If the +2/3 is the same or lower than the preshot, you'll want to keep testing, especially around nadir. Scatter in some other tests as you can, like +1, +9, etc.
- Food - after a week consistently at 1.5U (or whatever reductions may happen if below 90) I think that's when we'd look to transition food. But I really can't give advice there, I've never transitioned food on a depot insulin. I assume that dose changes will happen along with food transition.