? 2/7 Keno AMPS 226 +3 74 - Should I reduce dose again - Guidance Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacereske

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo

Keno took a .25 reduction yesterday. Today she was 74 at +3.

Looking at the SLGS page and it says
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
I am guessing that means under 90 at any time, not just at nadir?

thanks,
Jeanette


 
Yes, I would reduce to 3.25 on your next dose. Good catch and good luck with the reduction.
I am guessing that means under 90 at any time, not just at nadir?
The nadir can vary during the cycle. +6 is just the nadir of a "typical" Lantus cycle. Neko's nadir on Lantus was anywhere from +3.5 to +13, though usually +7 to +9. But like the SLGS method says, anytime you see a number below 90, that means a reduction. Keno's had three cycles on the 3.5 unit dose, and you had a skip in there, so I think she really wants this current reduction.
 
Yes, I would reduce to 3.25 on your next dose. Good catch and good luck with the reduction.

The nadir can vary during the cycle. +6 is just the nadir of a "typical" Lantus cycle. Neko's nadir on Lantus was anywhere from +3.5 to +13, though usually +7 to +9. But like the SLGS method says, anytime you see a number below 90, that means a reduction. Keno's had three cycles on the 3.5 unit dose, and you had a skip in there, so I think she really wants this current reduction.

OK thank you Wendy.

Shooting her full dose when she is over 200 is really bringing her BGs down. But I'm not sure what to shoot when she is under/near 150.

thanks,
Jeanette
 
If you are going to be home to monitor, I would work on gradually lowering your "no shoot" number. You are experienced enough now to try that. You could have shot that 190 the other day. Over time, and with experience and data to back it up, people following SLGS shoot lower and lower, though the suggestion is not to shoot below 90. If you ever get a number closer to 150 and you are unsure what to do, stall, do NOT feed, and post here for help. There is usually someone around who can help you with some options. The first such options is to wait 20-30 minutes and retest to see if her numbers have come up enough to be in your comfort zone to shoot.
 
If you ever get a number closer to 150 and you are unsure what to do, stall, do NOT feed, and post here for help.
Just want to add: be sure to put in your subject line that you are stalling and waiting for help, so people know you need attention now. Also, make sure you post something in the thread, as just changing the subject line will not bump you up to the top of the page. These are two issues I've seen with new members recently, so wanted to make sure you were clear on how best to get eyes on you.
 
Just want to add: be sure to put in your subject line that you are stalling and waiting for help, so people know you need attention now. Also, make sure you post something in the thread, as just changing the subject line will not bump you up to the top of the page. These are two issues I've seen with new members recently, so wanted to make sure you were clear on how best to get eyes on you.
Thank you. will do.
 
If you are going to be home to monitor, I would work on gradually lowering your "no shoot" number. You are experienced enough now to try that. You could have shot that 190 the other day. Over time, and with experience and data to back it up, people following SLGS shoot lower and lower, though the suggestion is not to shoot below 90. If you ever get a number closer to 150 and you are unsure what to do, stall, do NOT feed, and post here for help. There is usually someone around who can help you with some options. The first such options is to wait 20-30 minutes and retest to see if her numbers have come up enough to be in your comfort zone to shoot.
If it's Monday - Friday I can't rely on being home to monitor. There are some days like today when I'm working at home, but that is not the norm.
 
If it's Monday - Friday I can't rely on being home to monitor. There are some days like today when I'm working at home, but that is not the norm.
You can only do what works for you. On days when you can be home, try a lower number, and if you won't be home, go with the higher limit. Not everyone has the luxury of being able to test all day. We understand!
 
You can only do what works for you. On days when you can be home, try a lower number, and if you won't be home, go with the higher limit. Not everyone has the luxury of being able to test all day. We understand!
Thank you Tricia.

I am doing my best. I have a lot on my plate working full time and having 3 sick kitties - Keno, Eve who is diabetic, and has asthma, IBD, and pancreatitis, and Little Bit who has IBD & kidney disease. I'm actually pretty happy with Keno's numbers right now. We're seeing a lot more yellows and blues. I'm not trying to get her remission, as nice as that would be, I just want to keep her under the renal threshold. If I can do that, I'm pleased. If she went into remission that would be a very nice bonus.
 
Jeanette, I understand completely. I had four sick kitties as once, including two diabetics, and I wasn't working full time. I have great admiration for people like you that take all that one. We'll help in any way we can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top