2/7 Fortune AMPS 453 +3 365 - Syringe feeding advice

RachelG

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

We took Fortune to the Red Bank VH ER today because he wasn't eating (despite cerenia and mirtazapine) out of an abundance of caution since it's a sign of anemia too, and the advice we were given over the phone to see oncology through the ER.

We also reduced his dose since he barely ate an ounce of of 3 oz that he usually wolfs down, and that was with me spoon feeding him with my hand.

Turns out oncology isn't in on Sundays, and in order to consult with oncology he woujld need to be hospitalized overnight. So we did a CBC panel (he is stable at 23.8 HCT), got a shot of ondansetron for his nausea and trekked home.

Poor bunny peed in the carrier because it was too long of a day/drive. So he got his first bath in many many many years. He barely made an attempt to escape and no peep of displease - which is not like him at all. :(While I appreciate it made a stressful situation easier, I feel terrible guilt for the day he has had.

We want to try and prepare that he may not eat much this evening. I had seen a sticky for syringe feeding - could someone please point me to it? Thank you so much!
 
Hi Rachel. Good luck with syringe feeding. It is so important. I'm pretty accomplished at syringe feeding. I think it really takes a while to get good at it (for me it did). You have to get a feel for how to do it and for your cat. Don't be discouraged. It can be a messy process at first. I always either use a bib or a small kitchen towel with a clip (like a clothes pin or a cereal bag clip) to clip around the cat's neck to keep a lot of the food from getting into their fur. The best thing that I ever discovered though, were the silicon tipped soft feeding syringes made by Innovet Pet. They stopped making my favorite size tip, but they still do make some. They are so much nicer than sticking those hard, plastic syringes into your cat's mouth.

Is your plan to put Fortune on the "rescue" drug Lomustine since he seems to not be responding to the chlorambucil anymore?

I'm thinking of you both! BIG HUGS!
 
I'm so sorry Fortune had such a rough, poor baby, my heart breaks for him and you and your partner. Please let us know when you see the oncologist.
Always praying for your baby ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Are you going to try to go through the ER to get to oncology tomorrow? He does likely need a different chemo drug. If he responds he will feel much better. I’m glad his HCT is holding. :bighug:
 
Back
Top