Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG??
Food will raise BG. The higher the carb count in food, the more it raises BG. That's why we recommend that you have a stockpile of HC food in the house in case numbers are running low and you need to bump them up.
There is a "typical" pattern to a Lantus curve. It's not surprising that your PMPS and +2 are around the same. Below is what a "typical" curve looks like. (Just keep in mind that this is ideal and may not reflect your cat.)
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
The peak, or nadir, is the lowest point in the cycle. It's when the insulin has its greatest effect on BG levels. Unless you know your cat has a working pancreas (i.e., is producing endogenous insulin), it's best to not feed after the nadir. This is because the effects of Lantus are waning. If you give food, it may act to overpower the insulin and raise BG levels during the latter part of the cycle. You may want to hold food after +6 and instead, dole out food over the first half of the cycle in small meals.