2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 +4 252

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +1 221, +2 250, +10.5 305 Question

Good morning. I don't think I have posted in your condo before....so welcome.
Given the number now it looks like you may be able to shoot a little earlier.
You can post your +11 number for advice. :-D
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +2 250, +10.5 305, +11 162 Question

+11 162

Ketones 0.2 Precision Xtra.


Thanks.

Should I give her food? Shoot her? In how long?
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +2 250, +10.5 305, +11 162 Question

Good morning guys ... I don't think I have posted in your condo before either .. I also don't have any shooting advice but I'm sure you'll get some before to long .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +10.5 305, +11 162 HELP!!!!

Natalia:

Get a re-test. It may be that the 305 was a bad test or the 162 is a bad test. Sorry to have you poke again but it's the only way to know.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +10.5 305, +11 162 HELP!!!!

It looks like your +11 test may have been an error. The 296 and 305 are pretty much the same number. You should be fine to shoot a little early.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +10.5 305, +11 162 HELP!!!!

Gave her 025 u. This is the first time I leave her alone. I'm a wreck.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 189, +10.5 305, +11 162 HELP!!!!

be safe while mom's gone, Enana...we beans can't help but worry!
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Question? Question?

Good afternoon Lantus Citizens :)

Trying to fix the insulin schedule back to my work schedule, I tested Enana today at +10.5 (305) and +11 and something (296). Shoot her 30 minutes early 0.25 u.

Left food out for her. When I came home, bowls were empty. Tested +9 (248). Gave her something to eat. Both kitties were starving and it is more than 2 hours to PMPS.

My questions are: Should I have shot .5 u instead of .25? As 248 is a little high, no?
Should I shoot .5 tonight?

I'm going to try to shoot about 15 minutes earlier tonight too....

Your thoughts.

THANKS!!
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Question?

You need to think a little differently than how you're thinking about Lantus. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. Since the nadir is the lowest point of the cycle and your pre-shot is the highest, if you increase based on the highest point, you could be working very hard to prevent those low numbers from going too low. In addition, you need to hold Enana's dose for 5 - 7 days in order to get the shed established. Until a shed has formed, not all of the insulin you're shooting is available to bring BG numbers down. Lantus likes consistency and requires patience. In other words, this is my long winded way of saying hold the dose at 0.25u.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Question?

Ok :) I'll be patient. :) Patience is not a family virtue...but I will learn :)

If I'm not here during the day, how do I know what was the nadir?

How many times should I test during the night?

Thanks Sienne.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Question about nadir.

If you can get a curve over the weekend or times when you're home, you'll catch when the nadir is. That said, the nadir is not a fixed point. It can change from cycle to cycle or day to day. I would not recommend staying up all night testing on a regular basis. You've got to get to know your cat. Gabby will let me know by +2 or +3 if it's going to be an active cycle. This is one of those "every cat is different" (ECID) situations. I'm a big fan of getting a +2. Your +2 test should be about the same as your pre-shot test. If it's lower, chances are youre going to see some action. You'll then have to decide how much testing you need to do.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

Her Ketones are going up! Why? I understand the glucose might be going up because she ate at +10, but why the Ketones?

She is still asking for food.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

What was the ketone reading? Is it more than trace? One thing you can do immediately is add water to Enana's food.

By lower, I didn't mean hypo. Figure if the +2 is about 10% lower than pre-shot. That's a ballpark estimate.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

Ketones are 0.3.

Can I give her food even when I am going to shoot her in 45 minutes?
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

I just looked at your SS. The ketone reading was 0.3? This is a trace level of ketones. You need to monitor as frequently as you can. Increase Enana's fluids by adding water to the canned food.

It's best not to feed. Food doesn't effect ketones other than if your cat isn't eating at all. I want to see if I can get some others to take a look.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

I know I might seem very stressed out and I am.

Last week's hospitalization put my credit cards in overdraft, cleaned up my savings' account and any other resource I had. I cannot afford for her to get sick again at this moment.

I am sorry if I'm highstrung, I really really appreciate all the help you all have given me.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

I'm thinking that you should raise Enana's insulin dose. If ketones are in the mix, they have to be dealt with and more insulin is the best way to get them down. I know I'm contradicting what I said earlier, but given the trace ketones, more insulin is a consideration. I would bring the dose up to 0.5u. You will need to monitor BG and ketones frequently.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

Thanks Sienne. The hospital and my vet told me that the dose should be 0.5 but I freaked out when on the 5th the BG dropped too much. I will give her 0.5.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

Just want to say I'm following along and wishing the .5 dose is what she needs. You are in good hands.

Hugs.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana AMPS 296, +9 248 Ketones are going UP Help!!!

It's ok Natalia....we all have to learn to breathe here; I don't know how many times people said that to me...."brrreeeeaaathhhheeee". Sienne is very experienced with ketones as her Gabby had DKA so you got a great person to help you out. You're going fine...hang in there!
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG?? any ideas y?

Hello everyone, and thanks for the thoughts and support.

After talking/crying to a girlfriend for over an hour I'm calmer.

PMPS 301, upped to 0.5 u from 0.25. Thanks Sienne :)

Ketones at +11 were 0.3 and at PMPS +2 they are 0.2. So I guess that is good. She has drank very little water and I wasnt here to check on that. I will leave watery food tomorrow...the problem with that is Gordo eating it all....

I gave her to eat when I got from work at +9 and +10, she was very hungry, so I gave her to eat again at PMPS.

I don't know the BG hasn't changed. I will check again in an hour.

Food lowers the glucose or ups it?

Any ideas you can give me?
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG??

Most people here would agree that feeding a cat between the time insulin peaks and the next shot is unwise, although a small high-protein, zero-carbohydrate snack such as chicken or tuna should not substantially affect blood glucose. Whatever you decide, be consistent.

What does it mean "between the time insulin peaks and the next shot"? +10, +11 hour?
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG??

Food will raise BG. The higher the carb count in food, the more it raises BG. That's why we recommend that you have a stockpile of HC food in the house in case numbers are running low and you need to bump them up.

There is a "typical" pattern to a Lantus curve. It's not surprising that your PMPS and +2 are around the same. Below is what a "typical" curve looks like. (Just keep in mind that this is ideal and may not reflect your cat.)

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

The peak, or nadir, is the lowest point in the cycle. It's when the insulin has its greatest effect on BG levels. Unless you know your cat has a working pancreas (i.e., is producing endogenous insulin), it's best to not feed after the nadir. This is because the effects of Lantus are waning. If you give food, it may act to overpower the insulin and raise BG levels during the latter part of the cycle. You may want to hold food after +6 and instead, dole out food over the first half of the cycle in small meals.
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG??

Great! Now I know :)

I have read all the stickies, all the websites and pamphlets there are, but I love concrete answers like the one you just gave me. Thanks Sienne.

This afternoon I created a graph, which is stuck to my monitor, with that Lantus curve you just mentioned. Great info.

Now, let me ask you a question. Should I leave food out when I go to work? 8 hours without food?
 
Re: 2/7 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301 Same BG??

People vary with what they do. A lot depends on how your cat eats (e.g., hoover vs. grazer) and if there are other cats/animals in the home who will eat everything in sight. Sometimes, it means segregating yor diabetic cat so food will be available.

Many people here use a timed feeder. That way, the feeder opens at programmed times. There are feeders with 2 compartments and ones with 5 compartments.

You can also make "catsickles" You mix canned food and water so it's soupy and then pour into ice cube trays or small containers and freeze. You can leave the frozen pucks out and they will defrost so there's fresh food available when you're not around.

In general, feeding several smaller meals (mini-meals) vs. two big meals per day is easier on a healing pancreas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top