2/7 Baby PMPS 315 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Good morning, LL :mrgreen:

Happy here with Baby's action finally! Was surprised to just see her 37 @ 6.5.
Came home from church & found her snoozing & just decided to test. Opened LC & she did not move from her spot - so picked her up & put her down in front of the food. Wish she would raise herself, but am happy. Will test again in 15 minutes.

Have a Blessed, Beautiful Day!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37

Wow! Will you be going back to .5 units?

Glad to see you got some action, but scary that you almost didn't catch it.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37

Thanks, Tina!
I don't think I am going back down to 5 units - I think I am going to try what Mocha is doing - see her below 50 ... 3 times before dosecreasing. Baby just does not respond well to .50, it is the fat .50 we have success with. Although I don't want her too low & I know you understand that :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37

Nicole & Baby said:
Thanks, Tina!
I don't think I am going back down to 5 units - I think I am going to try what Mocha is doing - see her below 50 ... 3 times before dosecreasing. Baby just does not respond well to .50, it is the fat .50 we have success with. Although I don't want her too low & I know you understand that :YMHUG:

Oh, I didn't know that was an option. It will be interesting to see how she does. Hopefully, she will level out for you and not drop so low so quickly. Have you tried the mini meals. I can't believe the difference in Sami's numbers just by giving smaller meals over a 3-4 hour period, rather than a full can at one time.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

Baby eats mini meals (she is a grazer) takes a few bites here & there & has never been able to eat more than 1/2 (3oz) in one sitting! We shall see what happens..
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37

I'd suggest seeing what happens tonight. Baby's probably replenished her shed at the fat dose by now. If she drops this evening, the earning a reduction by three might be a little much. Here's my reasoning. Mocha has been at this a lot longer than Baby and has a history of higher numbers. Devon and Peter have a great deal of data about how Mocha holds dose reductions, or doesn't hold them as the case may be. They've tried shaving doses to see if that works. Devon is also at home during the day and can monitor. I don't remember if that's the case for you. Baby has been on Lantus for just a month and has been making solid progress.

For many of us, there are ups and downs with dosing -- it's not a straight shot down the ladder. Adding a little fat on may have jump started Baby back down in dosing. Obviously, this is your choice -- I'm just throwing out some information for your consideration. You might want to see what some of the other experienced folks think.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

Sienne.. I thank you for your valuable input. I will see how tonight's cycle goes & then go from there. I certainly want Baby safe & if that means going back to .50 then that is what I will do. Baby will be at a month in 5 days (I count her month as when she consistenly had shots every day) I have a feeling Baby will bounce by the AM because of her history, but am hopeful one day it will stop.

I am not home to monitor during the day - so I will factor that in to my decision too. I do not know Mocha's history - but just happened to see the thread & thought maybe that was an option for us. I will listen to the experts though, because I will be the first to admit - I do not know. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

Have to say I agree with Sienne Nicole.

That 37 came from quite a drop in a short space of time.
You also started a new pen last night, beans can get lower numbers that they attribute to this.

Also if your not home to monitor and Baby isn't so keen on feeding lows.

Don't be too freaked by your 37, plenty of cats are quite happy in the 30's and you've got your meter variance. The sugar dance is more of a waltz dancing_cat than a jive bcatrun_gif and you often have to go upto come back down, helps with LTS too.

It's great to see how your confidence and knowledge has grown in such a short time :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

Kate ... thank you! Well taken & I understand :-D
Can I keep the fat .50 tonight, or does this mean we are automatically down to .50 again?
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

I'd take it off tonight-then maybe you can get a good nights rest too before your working week starts again :-D
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

37 is a dose reduction earning number for any cat, so yep, back down to 0.5.

The part of the protocol Devon is using is in the new version of the tight regulation protocol. It calls for earning reductions either by going below 50 three times on different cycles, or by going below 40 once. We're not really following that protocol here, but for Mocha it is an option because she has a history of bouncing right out of her dose reductions and needs to work a little harder to earn hers. Under 40 in any cat is a dosecrease, we can't have them running around in the 30's when we're not home!

Congrats on the dosecrease! And good catch today. :smile:
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +7 52

Nicole, if you are going to read other kitty's condos and learn, PLEASE read all of the information, not just part of it. This is what I posted in Mocha/Devon's condo the other day. We want Baby to be safe. Thanks!


PeterDevonMocha wrote:
Hope she doesn't go much lower, but if she does, and since we are trying the newer tilly protocol, where a cat like mocha should go to the 40's about three times on the same dose before lowering, if she does end up going lower then 40 tonight, would she instantly get the reduction in the morning? I thought that is what I had read on one of her condo's before but it's so hard to keep track of all the info. If she doesn't go lower then 40 then we will count this as "first" for low 40's on this dose.

Yup. You are correct. If Mocha goes below 40 just once, reduce the dose.
Or between 40-50 on three different days, reduce the dose.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +9 68 Question

I am going to get a +10 reading in about 30mins, then I would like to go workout at the gym for 2 hours. Since Baby should not eat within 2 hours of shot time, is it Ok to go workout & not leave food out?

Normally during the week she has access to eat within 2 hours of PM shot - because I leave food out while at work - but the 1 day a week I work from home & weekend - I like to make sure there is not food out within 2 hours of shot time.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +9 68

+10 was high enough - I am not leaving food out. See you in 2 hours for PM Shot.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +9 68

((((Nicole))))---this is the hardest part of the dance. Making the tough decisions. You know I was on the fence more than a couple times. I wish you and Baby the best with tonights dose. <<<huggs and purrs>>> to you and Baby......and Sadi!!!!!

PS - that would have scared the pooh out of me (it has :lol: ) and you handled it like a pro!! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/7 Baby AMPS 270 +6.5 37 +9 68

Nice to see Baby doing so well!!
Great catch on that 37 Nicole..
Congrats on the dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 2/7 Baby PMPS 315

(((Thanks everyone)))
Geez, talk about a bounce! Each time .. I see good #s, I am hopeful that eventually there will not be a bouce.
 
Re: 2/7 Baby PMPS 315

Ouch Baby! Did you hit your head when you bounced??? Sending quick clearing rebound vines!
 
Re: 2/7 Baby PMPS 315

(((Amy))) I hope this bouncing business stops soon... or we will never make any progress! Her does has been reduced & here we go again...

***Question*** Bouncing is obviously not good, neither is surfing the 200s... is Baby better off not on Insulin & surfing the 200 range... or is it best to be on Insulin & have this bouncing around??
 
Nicole & Baby said:
***Question*** Bouncing is obviously not good, neither is surfing the 200s... is Baby better off not on Insulin & surfing the 200 range... or is it best to be on Insulin & have this bouncing around??

Nicole, as you know I am by no means an expert when it comes to dosing another cat, but I have spent a lot of time looking at Baby's spreadsheet she has been getting results. I know it is so hard to to see when you are not getting the numbers you want to see, but sometimes you just have to give it some time. I truly think Baby may be one of those cats that needs to stay at one dose longer than the standard 3 days. I know it has to be hard when you are seeing her surf the 200's for those three days, but she is bouncing all over the place everytime you change her dose and then she is back to square one. What do you really have to lose but another day or two, and right now with the dose changes you are getting even higher numbers with the bounces so that can't be any better for Baby.
 
Sorry Tina, I'd have to disagree.

That 37 qualified for a dosecrease and it was only the fat. Looking back on the ss, generally if a dose reduction hasn't held, as per Tilly you've gone back to the last good dose.

That 315 is pretty much the same as the 309, remembering meter variance.
I was giving this more thought and it's getting late here, but was wondering if (this is an unusual thought) a couple tsps at +11 might stop her bouncing. Here me out first!

Depends on what %carbs is Baby's LC food, so you have an idea how much that might raise her number.
I was trying to work it out when you said normally food is available, but ss doesn't distinguish-just to know if those pinks have occurred when food hasn't been around.
Sorry if this is gobblydegook, I'm kind of thinking out loud so to speak.
Also I'd want to know you could get +1,2-this may be too radical an idea and Baby isn't mine.

Alternatively completely ignore this thought because your still very early in the game and that pink is lasting one cycle-there is a pattern to it and maybe all she needs is time.
ni ni :smile:
 
kate and lucky said:
That 37 qualified for a dosecrease and it was only the fat. Looking back on the ss, generally if a dose reduction hasn't held, as per Tilly you've gone back to the last good dose.

Sorry, I should have clarified what I meant by staying at the same dose for longer. I just felt that the recent jump to a fat .5 was too soon, and actually I though the jump from .25 to .5 a few days ago was too soon also, but that is just my opinion based on what I see on Baby's spreadsheet. I know there is so much more to dosing than just numbers, but just looking at Baby's spreadsheet it looks like she is bouncing, bouncing and bouncing, and then the dose is changed. From what I have learned you need to wait until the bouncing stops then see how the cat handles the insulin before increasing again. And I don't think that is happening here.

Are my assumptions correct about the bouncing or am I still way off here?
 
Verra quick

The bounces aren't connected to the dose. In all liklihood Baby has dropped lower after the sc's have stopped (ie there's been green or a very low blue).

The pinks are because kitty's body think 'yowza, I'm heading out here!' even when the number is low blue/green. This is because the body has forgotten that kitty is actually quite safe at these numbers. This is what is meant by LTS. The body has to get used to those low numbers again, some cats are much quicker than others (mine for example hardly bounced, Jasper would go into the high 300's, even 1 year+ after insulin).

The protocol states 6 cycles if doesn't hold move back to last good dose.

Yes, you could hold a dose longer, be like shooting through rebound but you could also head for trouble. The numbers especially any under 40 to 50 dictate. It's the only way to give some safety margin.

Ultimately advice given on the board ios advice, not vetenarian and is born of experience and knowledge/understanding accumulated.The final decision must always rest with the bean.

Hope that has clarified some more,or I'm sorry if I've missed your point entirely. Really must knock off now.
Have a good night Baby :mrgreen:
 
(((Tina))) I understand you have put a lot of time & thought into Baby’s SS & for that I will always appreciate your input & analytical skills. It is priceless to get some feedback from a point of view that is not so close to the situation. The fact that you take the time is meaningful to me.

It hurts my heart to hear you agree, we are back to square 1, but we are. I know. It is the same thing – we see good & then she bounces – appears to be atypical of other kitties… they run high, you dosecrease & they see good.. The problem is Baby drops SO MUCH that she dosecreases immediately… without the benefits of the higher dose. However, I do want to assure you – any dose increase/decrease has been at the direction at a qualified dose advisor & not random - so I do feel the increase/decrease is based on her situation after careful review. I do not question my direction - or FDMB direction. Bouncing is Baby… not what I am doing to Baby.

(((Kate))) Thank you for being attentive to us today & providing valuable advice & skills to our situation. As far as when/when not food is avail within +2 is random. On the weekends I am here & today she bounced with no food. It is hard to say if she is eating within 2 hours of shot time when I am at work – I know her, even if she is… it is very little. She is not a big eater & especially not a big eater @ any one setting – a grazer. She eats Raw Natures Variety & Wellness approved per the food chart.

I understand LTS & this is where we are… which leads me to the original question… is riding thru LTS on Insulin best for Baby, or surfing the 200s without insulin?
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Tina))) I understand you have put a lot of time & thought into Baby’s SS & for that I will always appreciate your input & analytical skills. It is priceless to get some feedback from a point of view that is not so close to the situation. The fact that you take the time is meaningful to me.

It hurts my heart to hear you agree, we are back to square 1, but we are. I know. It is the same thing – we see good & then she bounces – appears to be atypical of other kitties… they run high, you dosecrease & they see good.. The problem is Baby drops SO MUCH that she dosecreases immediately… without the benefits of the higher dose. However, I do want to assure you – any dose increase/decrease has been at the direction at a qualified dose advisor & not random - so I do feel the increase/decrease is based on her situation after careful review. I do not question my direction - or FDMB direction. Bouncing is Baby… not what I am doing to Baby.

Nicole, sorry if I made you feel bad, that was not my intention, and actually I don't feel that you are back at square one, just based on some of the numbers Baby doesn't seem to be moving ahead very fast. Baby makes a little progress and then falls back again. I think someone else said something about one step forward two steps back. I don't know if this is the case with all cats, but it seems like Baby likes those baby steps.

I do realize that all your decisions to increase or decrease are based on protocol and on advice given by experts, and I didn't mean to insinuate that you made the wrong decision, or you were given bad advice. I just wanted you to think about maybe trying something a little different. Maybe some of the experts can chime in and tell me if what I am saying makes any sense. I just know that at certain times I so badly wanted to increase Sami's dose and then decided to hold for another dose or two, only to be surprised that Sami started to go lower. Maybe the experts can tell me and you what could cause this with Sami and if this option might be good for Baby.

By all means I wouldn't want you to do anything that might harm Baby I just hope someone can say whether or not holding Baby's dose longer than 6 cycles would be an option. And I don't mean holding at the FAT .5, I am thinking go back to the .5 and hold that for a full 5 -7 days. It just looked like after a few days on the .5 you were still seeing a little bounce from the lower numbers, and maybe by holding the same dose a little longer she might have more time to get use to the BLUES before she start to get to the GREENS.

I could be way off base and I would definitely wait for one of the experts to make their comments, but I just wanted to share my opinion with you.
 
(((Tina))) thank you... you did not make me feel bad, I just feel defeated in general. I do not know what the answer is. Baby surfs 200s, we dosecrease & she drops almost immediately.. but not only drops.. she goes crazy low.. which has us back to our original 200 surf.. I just feel hopeless. How does she ever get ahead here?
 
I have asked some of the experts to please chime in.. I will never give up on Baby.. but I have given up on knowing what to do.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Tina))) thank you... you did not make me feel bad, I just feel defeated in general. I do not know what the answer is. Baby surfs 200s, we dosecrease & she drops almost immediately.. but not only drops.. she goes crazy low.. which has us back to our original 200 surf.. I just feel hopeless. How does she ever get ahead here?

Definitely don't feel defeated, sure it seems like nothing is working, but you are learning how Baby responds to the insulin, and you are much further along in one month then Sami and I were after one month. For starters I didn't find this board until we were two months into our second round of insulin, the first round only lasted a few weeks and Sami went into remission. Then when we found out she needed to go back on insulin I did start to home test, but I was only testing twice a day at shot time and didn't understand how Lantus worked and was dosing based on BG at shot time.

After two months with no progress I finally found this board and now look where Sami is. So just know you are in the right place and way ahead in this game of insulin.
 
((Nicole)) I can feel your defeated spirit from over here. I know I am no expert by any means but I was looking at Baby's SS and the Tilly protocol again.

Tilly States:
"Hold each dose for 5-7 days........Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose)"

Question - 02/01-02/02 Baby was getting many BG's <200, yet you only held that 0.25U dose for 3 cycles. Why the increase to 0.5U so quickly?

*Note* - as soon as you started the 0.5U dosecrease Baby has a significant bounce at the next cycle due most likely to her significant fall from PS BG with that dosecrease. However, I know that can happen with a little shed carry over.

Question - Baby continues to get nadir's <200 yet the increase was again after only 7 cycles (3.5 days) with plenty of blues. Why not hold the 0.5U dose for a complete 5-7 days? Perhaps that will give Baby's liver a chance to get used to the blues and not bounce so much.

*Note* - Baby never did get a trial dose of 0.25U. Maybe that is closer to her ideal dose?

The "questions" that I posed are not directly at you Nicole, but rather a general question to get all of us thinking of what we can try to help Baby through LTS.

(((hugs))))
 
(((Paige & Tina)))
Thank you.. I can only comment on that I dosecreased based upon advice... my head still gets tangled reading the protocol.. so maybe I am dumb. Are you thinking (like Tina) to hold her doses longer? I just listen to advice from dosing advisors & feedback... I have never just gone with my gut.
 
paige said:
((Nicole)) I can feel your defeated spirit from over here. I know I am no expert by any means but I was looking at Baby's SS and the Tilly protocol again.

Tilly States:
"Hold each dose for 5-7 days........Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose)"

Question - 02/01-02/02 Baby was getting many BG's <200, yet you only held that 0.25U dose for 3 cycles. Why the increase to 0.5U so quickly?

*Note* - as soon as you started the 0.5U dosecrease Baby has a significant bounce at the next cycle due most likely to her significant fall from PS BG with that dosecrease. However, I know that can happen with a little shed carry over.

Question - Baby continues to get nadir's <200 yet the increase was again after only 7 cycles (3.5 days) with plenty of blues. Why not hold the 0.5U dose for a complete 5-7 days? Perhaps that will give Baby's liver a chance to get used to the blues and not bounce so much.

*Note* - Baby never did get a trial dose of 0.25U. Maybe that is closer to her ideal dose?

The "questions" that I posed are not directly at you Nicole, but rather a general question to get all of us thinking of what we can try to help Baby through LTS.

(((hugs))))

Paige, you said exactly what I have been trying to say for the past few days.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Paige & Tina)))
Thank you.. I can only comment on that I dosecreased based upon advice... my head still gets tangled reading the protocol.. so maybe I am dumb. Are you thinking (like Tina) to hold her doses longer? I just listen to advice from dosing advisors & feedback... I have never just gone with my gut.

You are not stupid. If you knew how many times I have read and re-read the protocol you would probably think I am stupid, but I found it necessary to review the protocol, then review Sami's Spreadsheet, then review the protocol and then the spreadsheet, and then again, and again, and again. And even then sometimes I am still a little confused as to what to do.
 
(((Girls))) Tina & Paige.. thank you.
So do you think she should stay on .50 for 5-7 days now?
 
Oh Nicole!!! You are not dumb at all!!! angry(2)_cat Don't ever say that or think that. This is alot of info and since ECID even harder to interpret what the heck is going on with out kitties.

I KNOW that you have always always done what was suggested by the more experienced users since the beginning so I am not second guessing you at all. I just wanted to pose some thought/questions that may not have been spoken out loud to you. From what Tina just said, she has been trying to explain the same thing. ;-)

I cannot advise you on what to do of course, but maybe you might want to PM one of your angels and ask them to take a look again and pose those questions? Just a thought. I know how hard this whole month has been for you. After all, the first day was a nightmare. cat_pet_icon

I am thinking of you. And always here if you need anything. Long distance of course :-D
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Girls))) Tina & Paige.. thank you.
So do you think she should stay on .50 for 5-7 days now?
UNLESS Baby goes below 50. OK? Her doses have been reduced when she gets too low. I don't care how many days she is on a dose - if she goes below 50, she gets a reduction. You know that, right?

If she stays above 50, then sure, hold the dose as long as you want. Maybe it takes longer for Baby to get used to a dose, let her have the time.
 
I agree with CD. Try holding the cycle (if she gets blues ) for 5-7 days. UNLESS she drops below 50 anywhere in those cycles.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Girls))) Tina & Paige.. thank you.
So do you think she should stay on .50 for 5-7 days now?

My recommendation would be to drop back to .25 units and try that out for 5-7 days, but I have known to be wrong with dosing advice, so I would suggest you wait for someone who is more experienced give the final say so on whether you should stick with the .5 units or drop back to .25. Either way, yes I think you should hold the dose a little longer. Like I said before whenever I think it is time to change Sami's dose I review the protocol and Sami's spreadsheet to see where she falls within the protocol.

And as Paige pointed out, when Baby was on .25 units, based on protocol maybe you should have stayed there for a just a little longer. Because she was having nadir < 200.
 
CD and BigMac said:
UNLESS Baby goes below 50. OK? Her doses have been reduced when she gets too low. I don't care how many days she is on a dose - if she goes below 50, she gets a reduction. You know that, right?

If she stays above 50, then sure, hold the dose as long as you want. Maybe it takes longer for Baby to get used to a dose, let her have the time.

Absolutely, what we were saying about holding the dose only applies for increases not for decreases. If Baby falls below 50 she earns an immediate decrease.

Now my question is for the experts. Baby was on a FAT .50, does she go back to a standard .5 or should she drop back to .25, since that is what protocol calls for.

" If blood glucose is < 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low (<3 IU/cat) or high dose (≥ 3 IU/cat) of insulin"
 
Tina & Sami said:
Nicole & Baby said:
(((Girls))) Tina & Paige.. thank you.
So do you think she should stay on .50 for 5-7 days now?

My recommendation would be to drop back to .25 units and try that out for 5-7 days, but I have known to be wrong with dosing advice, so I would suggest you wait for someone who is more experienced give the final say so on whether you should stick with the .5 units or drop back to .25. Either way, yes I think you should hold the dose a little longer. Like I said before whenever I think it is time to change Sami's dose I review the protocol and Sami's spreadsheet to see where she falls within the protocol.

And as Paige pointed out, when Baby was on .25 units, based on protocol maybe you should have stayed there for a just a little longer. Because she was having nadir < 200.

My recommendation would be for people who are relatively new to FD, Lantus and advising to hold off on advising dosages. Please read the advice giving sticky.

Baby's condo gets looked at every day by very experienced people who don't even post there. Like me. The reason I don't post in her condo is because by the time I get here, she's already gotten good advice from experienced users. If I feel something has been missed, I will comment. Until today, good grief what is going on in here?

Tina and Paige, I can appreciate that you want to help, but I can't emphasize just how dangerous it would be for Nicole to reduce her dose. If you do not understand why it is dangerous for her to reduce her dose, then you are most certainly not ready to give dosing advice. Please be aware of what you say when you say it and what the possible outcomes could be. If you harm a cat, what good has become of it?

And Nicole, I know you're frustrated. I knew you were going to be frustrated almost from the day you and Paige met. It's SO hard to look at someone who's having such great numbers and not feel you need to compare yourself and your treatment of your cat. You, Nicole, are doing a GREAT job!!! These cats all have differing factors that make identical treatment courses impossible. PLEASE don't lose sight of how far you've come and how well Baby's doing. YOU did that.
 
Oh Carolyn I completely agree with you! I was not suggesting she drop, I was simply posing questions. You are correct I an a newbie and did tell her to certainly get advice from more experienced users like yourself. I would never want to harm. I was just wondering if holding the 0.5 for a little longer would help. Unless Baby drops below 50 of course. (As CD said). I bumped it to get more experienced people to see the dilema Nicole was having with her feelings and frustrations. Please do not misunderstand my intent. I simply posed questions that Nicole could perhaps follow up to help understand.
 
paige said:
Oh Carolyn I completely agree with you! I was not suggesting she drop, I was simply posing questions. You are correct I an a newbie and did tell her to certainly get advice from more experienced users like yourself. I would never want to harm. I was just wondering if holding the 0.5 for a little longer would help. Unless Baby drops below 50 of course. (As CD said). I bumped it to get more experienced people to see the dilema Nicole was having with her feelings and frustrations. Please do not misunderstand my intent. I simply posed questions that Nicole could perhaps follow up to help understand.

I know, and I know how much you want to help her. It's just that it's very dangerous to take away insulin when a cat needs it and everyone here needed to know that. If we were to cut her dose to .25u she could end up with a ketotic cat, or worse, a DKA cat. If these possible ramifications are not taken into account, and Nicole were to go do that, whose shoulders would that responsibility rest upon if this cat were to develop ketoacidosis?

It is my hope that every new person in LL ventures out to the "hallway" and read the stickies, the FAQs, the other insulin groups and the health board so that they truly understand what they are advising when they tell someone their opinion. I have been doing this for a long time and I still don't know everything, but the knowledge that I don't know everything is always firmly planted in the front of my brain before I type a single word.

You have the makings of a great helper Paige, and I've been glad to see you out and about from Day 1 meeting people and cheerleading for them. I look forward to watching you grow on here. :)
 
nicole asked me via PM to chime in here...
dose --- imho, i think the dose should be held at 0.5u until the numbers tell you otherwise.

excellent post(s), carolyn. sometimes a little bit of knowledge can be a dangerous thing.

in addition to your suggestion to step outside in the hallway to read the stickies, faq's, etc., i would like to suggest spending some time on the pet diabetes wiki as well as learning how YOUR cat is responding to insulin. each and every caregiver should know when ONSET occurs, at what +hour kitty experiences NADIR (this can change), and what kind of DURATION your kitty is getting from insulin. each and every caregiver should also learn how their own cat responds to food. this can be accomplished through experimentation combined with testing. learning/recognizing these things in your own cat is the first step (among many) in being able to analyze the spreadsheets of other kitties.
imho, offering dosing advice is a heavy responsibility with potentially serious consequences.

just my thoughts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top