2/7 Baby AMPS 74 +1 68, +2 59, +3 59, +4 68, +5 88, +7 83, PMPS 261, +3 252, +5 257

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Good morning,

Baby's BGs were very low yesterday and after a reduction last night (from 1U to 0.75U), she continues to be lower than she has been, clearing a small bounce in less than a cycle. This could possibly due to her only eating Temptations while she was recovering from DKA/pancreatitis and now solely eating LC food. On Bandit's Mom's suggestion, I'm going to do another reduction this morning to 0.5U and see what she does.

Her appetite is less the last 12 hours so hopefully I can get more appetite stimulant into her; she is still made about the anti-nausea med and not enjoying my company at the moment!
 
The depot will take 4 cycles to adjust to the lower dose, so you might have to continue to prop her up with carbs till then.

If she is nauseous, you want to continue to give the anti-nausea meds before giving an appetite stimulant. Someone I know, hollows out the Temptation treats to insert the pill in them!
 
Good luck with the reduction! Eat Baby eat! It is important to get the nausea meds into her until several days of normal eating and then slowly reduce it. I would try every other day of cerenia once eating normally and see how it goes. More than once I would need to restart ondansetron which is what I used for chronic pancreatitis only to have to restart again. It’s tricky.
 
The depot will take 4 cycles to adjust to the lower dose, so you might have to continue to prop her up with carbs till then.
What carbs should I use to prop her up? She is super finicky and doesn't like any food but her Friskies LC; are temptations what I should use sparingly? Her BGs are dropping at +2, should I give temptations, if that the carb to use?

If she is nauseous, you want to continue to give the anti-nausea meds before giving an appetite stimulant. Someone I know, hollows out the Temptation treats to insert the pill in them!
I did manage to get the anti-nausea into her prior to the appetite stimulant, luckily! I did use a temptation to trick her :D
 
Good luck with the reduction! Eat Baby eat! It is important to get the nausea meds into her until several days of normal eating and then slowly reduce it. I would try every other day of cerenia once eating normally and see how it goes. More than once I would need to restart ondansetron which is what I used for chronic pancreatitis only to have to restart again. It’s tricky.
Good to know! She really hates that pill but definitely needs it still as she seems much better after getting it. I will try to do it every other day if she doesn't need it daily. I don't want her to go backwards!
 
What carbs should I use to prop her up? She is super finicky and doesn't like any food but her Friskies LC; are temptations what I should use sparingly? Her BGs are dropping at +2, shou
If she will eat her usual LC with honey in it, that should be good enough for a carb boost. Avoid the Temptations to the extent possible. You want to wean her off them. If lC with honey isn't enough, you can just apply honey to her lips so she licks it off.
 
Back
Top