2/7/19 Olive AMPS 258; +6=117; +8.5=164; PMPS 303; +4.5=121

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday Caber 125 .Reducie

Well I test before bed as I always do and she went through the net, right past the sharks and went to see the octopus last night. She got hc mixed with maple syrup for quite some time also had a big poop. She did it all last night. During this I notice I need to get more hc today. Finally get to bed at +8 and now just waking up. The hc shopping will wait until Saturday. I don't have it in me to go out so late today.

Hope everyone has a good day.
 
WOW! Olive what did you do last night?
(I'm curious why you reduced by such a large amount?)

bEAUTIFUL DAY.gif
 
WOW! Olive what did you do last night?
(I'm curious why you reduced by such a large amount?)

View attachment 42423

Because of the cabergoline she gets. It interrupts the secretion of the pituitary tumor that causes the diabetes in Olive. So large reductions, back to back reductions, sometimes skipping shots have to be done to drain the depot so she is safe at all times. Right now the higher dose is still active but because of the 32 we needed to do a big reduction. And I didn't really want to deal with the .25 measuring knowing I was so tired and bleary eyed this morning.

Olive doesn't have true diabetes. it's not because of diseased or sick pancreas. Or because of eating high carb dry food (we don't know what she ate before I adopted her). It's because of the tumor. If the tumor was removed (I can't put her through it) she would not need insulin.

It is possible the cabergoline can stop her need for insulin as long as she remains on it, but I'm realistic and only hope for dose of insulin to be reduced and the acro symptoms to be gone or at least controlled enough for her to be comfortable and not in pain or in distress.
 
Two nights ago when Boomer decided to play with the sharks, @Wendy&Neko called him an "overachiever". I'm now passing the title on to Olive! I guess she read her condo that day and noted the dosecrease threat. Works pretty much every time.
 
Two nights ago when Boomer decided to play with the sharks, @Wendy&Neko called him an "overachiever". I'm now passing the title on to Olive! I guess she read her condo that day and noted the dosecrease threat. Works pretty much every time.

I don't know if we want that title. In hindsight I did not pay attention to some indicators; yesterday PMPS was her nadir that I know of and could have still been dropping (should have stalled to retest). The flat yellows yesterday, the pinkie out of nowhere in the 4th (although it was days ago). I got to complacent with not paying attention to the ss as a whole.
 
I don't know if we want that title. In hindsight I did not pay attention to some indicators; yesterday PMPS was her nadir that I know of and could have still been dropping (should have stalled to retest). The flat yellows yesterday, the pinkie out of nowhere in the 4th (although it was days ago). I got to complacent with not paying attention to the ss as a whole.
I find it very difficult to see patterns....just when I think I have it figured out, he changes things. Of course we all know that Boomer didn't read the rule book :rolleyes:
 
That 32@+3 last night is crazy! I'm so glad she came up for you. You have to juggle so many different factors. I really don't know how you do it.

I hope the new dose is perfect for her.
 
Come on Olive! Work that reducie so you don’t have to go back up.
She is really looking good overall. Hope you get some sleep tonight!
 
That 32@+3 last night is crazy! I'm so glad she came up for you. You have to juggle so many different factors. I really don't know how you do it.

I hope the new dose is perfect for her.

It's not that much different. All her meds stay the same at same time. You test, adjust insulin accordingly. Tweak protocols a bit because of the acro treatment. Always have to remember there is a depot. The hard part is knowing if she isn't feeling good, is it p'titis, acro flare or something else.
 
Back
Top