2/6 Zener PMPS 196;+1 226;+2 191;+6 249 long term pepcid?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Looks like Zener has jumped to the express train this morning! :shock: No slow and easy for Mr Z. :roll:
Yesterday's Condo
2/5/12 Zener
AMPS 327, 4th cycle @1.75u, 1.4oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax, 2.5mg pepcid, 1/4PP
+1 343, 0.7oz 11%
+2 307, 0.55oz 11%
+3 254, 3mg Zobaline & 3/4PP, 1 treat, 0.4oz 11%
+4.5 260, 0.45oz 11%, NEG KETONES
+6.5 271, 0.75oz 11%
+9 FDCK
PMPS 274, 5th cycle @1.75u, 1.65oz 11%
+1 291, 0.5oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax
+2 258, 1.05oz 11%
+3 297, 0.6oz 11%
+3.5 0.5oz 11%
+5 343, 0.55oz 11%

Today
2/6/12 Zener
AMPS 362, 6th cycle @1.75u 1.2oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax, 1/4PP with 2.5mg Pepcid
+1 357, 0.95oz 11%
+2.5 254, 3/4PP with 3mg Zobaline, 0.9oz 11%.

His throat seemed a little sensitive this morning @+1 and Liz saw him drinking water twice. Thought he looked a little less "bright eyed". She had to head to school for an 8 am class. I'll be here until 10:00 and she will be home about 10:30. Right now, he is curled up on his heating pad in the window and gave me a big stretch then ducked his head, had his test and wanted food! His numbers are on the way down to sunny yellow and he seems to be feeling pretty good now. Would like to slow his big drop so he doesn't bounce, will check again in an hour.

We have been routinely giving him 2.5mg Pepcid everyday. Does anyone know if this could be causing throat irritation or if there are any possible side effects from long term use? We are trying to be extra careful and make sure he is eating more food, other than just the pill pocket as Karrie suggested, or give him water after he eats the pepcid.

Hope everyone has a good Monday in LL!
 
Re: 2/6 Zener AMPS 362;+1 357;+2.5 254 pepcid?

Hi guys .. I like that zener is sunny yellow now and seems to be feeling good .. I don't have any answers on the pepcid but there are others here with more experience then me .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/6 Zener AMPS 362;+1 357;+2.5 254 pepcid?

I hope you were able to slow his drop a bit to prevent too much of a bounce. When I see a great number on Weezer, my happy dance is immediately followed by bounce dread.
 
Re: 2/6 Zener AMPS 362;+1 357;+2.5 254 pepcid?

Pepcid is supposed to be taken & then drink some water after--Maybe Zen knew that :-D
My theory is that I never take or give any meds without a little food first--In Other Words, give or take meds with something in the stomach! Many meds are harsh on the tummy, so even though this one is For the stomach, I still think you should give something with it--I actually give Moonie pepcid in a pill pocket, so I think that would count!
You are doing so great with him!! Look He's bright yellow!! Have a good Monday-Hugs & Lubs from us!
 
Re: 2/6 Zener AMPS 362;+1 357;+2.5 254;+3.5 263 pepcid?

Glad you asked the pepcid question because I just started to give it to Morgaine, in a pill pocket. It seems to be helping her yowling after meals. I will be sure to give her some food with it from now on.

I hope Zener feels all better soon and that his numbers stabilize.
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196 long term pepcid use?

Good grief, Mondays are crazy days for Liz and I this semester. Zener started his cycle in pinks, then a flat yellow surf and a late nadir in blue. @-)
We were thinking of going up in his dose tonight as his am cycle was his 6th at this dose, and he's been mostly pink and yellows, but we were a little reluctant to shoot a dosecrease on a seemingly dropping number. Will see how his numbers do for another cycle or two before going up. After Wednesday morning, I'll be around much of the end of the week to monitor. He is eating pretty good and generally feeling better. :-D

Today
2/6/12 Zener
AMPS 362, 6th cycle @1.75u 1.2oz 11%, 1/16t Miralax, 1/4PP with 2.5mg Pepcid
+1 357, 0.95oz 11%
+2.5 254, 3/4PP with 3mg Zobaline, 0.9oz 11%.
+3.5 263, 0.6oz 11%
+4 negative ketones
+6 0.6oz 11%
+7 269 0.3oz 11%
PMPS 196, 7th cycle @1.75u, 1.5oz 11%

@Devon - thanks for stopping by and adding to the sunny cycle!

@Linda - well, looks like no bounce yet {{{anti-jinx}}} We know just what you mean - bounce dread is like post-traumatic good numbers disorder!

@Roni - Zener is a smart boy! We got a little confused as the Reglan was to be given on an empty stomach with no food for 30 minutes after. We give the pepcid in a piece of pill pocket, unless he is having appy issues, then we give it followed by water, but have not had to do that lately. It's been a sunny yellow cycle ending on a blue note. Thanks for your kind words about how we are doing with him.

@Rosalie - his numbers are a little bit flatter but in pinks and yellows, so we shall see when another dosecrease is in order, perhaps very soon.

Our question is more about long-term pepcid use. Is it okay to give pepcid daily or should we only give when he has the burps or seems to have decreased appy? It seems many of the meds he has been on since his dental start to have secondary and unwanted side effects if taken too long, but we don't seem to get much guidance from our vet/s on how long to stay on some of the meds.

Hope everyone has a quiet and peaceful Monday evening in LL!
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196 long term pepcid use?

In all honesty, I'd ask your pharmacist about long term use. The other issue with long term use of any drug is interactions. You'll need to ask about whether Pepsid will interact with any other meds. Since it's an H2 blocker, some meds that need an acidic condition in the stomach may require that you dose the Pepsid differently.
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196 long term pepcid use?

Sienne and Gabby said:
In all honesty, I'd ask your pharmacist about long term use. The other issue with long term use of any drug is interactions. You'll need to ask about whether Pepsid will interact with any other meds. Since it's an H2 blocker, some meds that need an acidic condition in the stomach may require that you dose the Pepsid differently.

Thanks Sienne! Our vet knows we have been using the pepcid on a daily basis but I am not quite so confident the vets are aware of the drug interactions. Melissa (of Melissa & Bailey) is a pharmacist so perhaps she will stop by our condo later with some ideas. If not, I will PM her for her opinion. As of right now, two months post dental, Zener is only on Miralax (1/16t twice a day), 2.5mg Pepcid once a day and his Lantus. He is off all the anti-nausea and motility drugs. We have continued with the pepcid because he seems to burp a lot! :shock:

PMPS 196, 7th cycle @1.75u, 1.5oz 11%
+1 226, 0.5oz 11%

ETA
+2 191, 1.0oz 11%

Not too much of a food spike at +1, so will get a +2 and see how things look.
Since he had that 100 point drop this morning, we were expecting a flip_cat . But Zener loves to do the unexpected. ;-)
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196;+1 226;+2 191 long term pepcid use?

Sorry - I don't know the answer to your question, but my vet always says to give a pill in a treat however if you are going to pill him, then follow with a syringe of water to wash it down to avoid strictures in the throat where the pill gets caught and causes an injury. Personally, I crush up the famotidine (pepcid) and dilute it in water and syringe it.
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196;+1 226;+2 191 long term pepcid use?

i don't know the answer about the pepcid. just stopping in to say hi and admire zener's picture! i was telling my daughter yesterday about zener's picnic table. :-D now he's famous.
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196;+1 226;+2 191;+6 249 long term pepcid

Hi guys, nice PM cycle for Zener! Pepcid is often given long-term (at least in hooomins!) and actually works better that way. It has relatively few side effects/drug interactions and usually does not change the stomach pH enough to affect absorption. If it helps him I would go for it! It is always good to get some water into them after a pill to flush it down, but to my knowledge Pepcid isn't especially irritating. Scritches for Zener, I hope the big guy is feeling good tomorrow!
 
Re: 2/6 Zener PMPS 196;+1 226;+2 191;+6 249 long term pepcid

Yay for soemthing without side effects!

And a bigger yay for Zener's blue :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top