Debra and Yoyo
Very Active Member
Yesterday 2/5 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...264-10-328-pmps-292-4-117-5-118-8-153.210364/
2/6, Day 4 @.50Unit Lantus
2/6, Day 4 @.50Unit Lantus
Thank you....I'm glad there are alarm clocksNice blues last night, you're doing a great job getting all that data.
Me too, but he usually bounces all the way!Nice blues last night. I hope Yoyo doesn't bounce today.
Isn't there a rule book that we can give our Kitties?My buddy Lou is a bouncer too. I always say I hope he doesn't bounce, but I know better than to hold my breath. Us girls can hope, right?So I'll still hope he decides he likes the beach better than the clouds. And if he does decide to bounce, I hope it's swift and over quickly!
If only they'd read it! I could see my civvie Bella just rubbing her face on it instead.Isn't there a rule book that we can give our Kitties?![]()
Apologies again that I fell asleep last night and we had a few things come up today that delayed my response.Also, last night @+8 he dropped to 159. Is this something that happens just because it can, or is that out of the norm? I noticed that he did that on 1/27 and 1/28 also. I don't always get a reading @+8 (during the night cycle) because I am soooo tired. Any patterns that you see in Yoyo's SS, can you please share with me because to me I just see confusion
Thank you for being here with us and for all your help. Greatly appreciated![]()
You can decide on the nadirs you are ok with. For example, if you do TR and his nadirs are 80, that’s a great place to hold the dose. Some prefer to see nadirs in the 60s so once they are seeing nadirs under 100 but perhaps in the 80s/90s, they might choose to increase just by a drop to fine tune the nadirs.I am trying to get more info on TR. I read to hold the dose for 3-5 days if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing by .25 unit. Then when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
That is the step that scares me; needing to increase the dose when nadirs are under 100.
Hi.....You wrote that I should be sure that the insulin is going into the subq and not under the skin. I honestly don't know the difference. I pull up on his fur and feel for a flatness and then I place the needle into that flatness. I know that I am not getting muscle. Honestly, I really don't know if I am doing it correctly. I was shown once at my vet's office by a technician. If I had to guess, I would say my method is tent. What is ROLL?Apologies again that I fell asleep last night and we had a few things come up today that delayed my response.
It is not out of the norm. If you look at post #5 in yesterday’s condo, I explained that it looked to me like he lost duration in the a.m. cycle added with a little bounce that he started to clear the night he dropped to 159 at +8. He does look to me, overall, like he has cycles where he’s just not holding on to his duration ....you’ll want to look at cycles like 2/3 and 2/4 both a.m. when he goes from blue to pink in a very short time. Duration can change based on absorption which can vary quite a lot from shot to shot. Be sure you are getting the insulin into the subq and not just under the skin. But also be careful of the muscle underneath....you do,not want to stab that.
What method do you use to shoot....tent or roll?
Not sure if you saw my response on this:
You can decide on the nadirs you are ok with. For example, if you do TR and his nadirs are 80, that’s a great place to hold the dose. Some prefer to see nadirs in the 60s so once they are seeing nadirs under 100 but perhaps in the 80s/90s, they might choose to increase just by a drop to fine tune the nadirs.
My advice is still to continue with this dose a full week and then we can see where his nadirs are. That gives you a chance to study TR a bit more and see if you are fine with SLGS or you’d like to try TR. No pressure....we will help you either way.
Sounds like you are doing it correctly so don’t change it. Under the skin means it’s barely in right under the fur. Members who do this give a lot of fur shots.Hi.....You wrote that I should be sure that the insulin is going into the subq and not under the skin. I honestly don't know the difference. I pull up on his fur and feel for a flatness and then I place the needle into that flatness. I know that I am not getting muscle. Honestly, I really don't know if I am doing it correctly. I was shown once at my vet's office by a technician. If I had to guess, I would say my method is tent. What is ROLL?