2/6 - Wally - AMPS: 256, +6: 285, PMPS: 265, +3: 197

Did you decide to stick with Wendy’s suggestion yesterday of TR or are you changing to SLGS as you mentioned? Can you please add whichever method you are following to your signature block so we don’t have to keep asking or search?

Thank you so much.

He’s had one quick green at this dose early on. You’ve held the dose ten cycles per the TR protocol if that’s what you are sticking with. He might have gotten into green the night of 2/3 but I doubt he went very much below 100. It would be good, if you are awake to see this, if you can see how low he goes tonight from 197.

If he doesn’t get into green tonight, I’d increase the dose to 8.5u in the morning but you need to know how low he went in the p.m. cycle of 2/6.

BTW, Wendy is out of town for about ten days so I doubt you’ll see her checking in but there are others of us really experienced members who can help. I can also tag some high dose mamas if you want another opinion other than mine (Gracie wasn’t high dose but I’ve been here a long time and helped a lot of high dose mamas).
 
Last edited:
Did you decide to stick with Wendy’s suggestion yesterday of TR or are you changing tomSLGSnas you mentioned? Can you please add whichever method you are following to your signature block so we don’t have to keep asking or search?

Thank you so much.

He’s had one quick green at this dose early on. You’ve held the dose ten cycles per the TR protocol if that’s what you are sticking with. He might have gotten into green the night of 2/3 but I doubt he went very much below 100. It would be good, if you are awake to see this, if you can see how low he goes tonight from 197.

If he doesn’t get into green tonight, I’d increase the dose to 8.5u in the morning but you need to know how low he went in the p.m. cycle of 2/6.

BTW, Wendy is out of town for about ten days so I doubt you’ll see her checking in but there are others of us really experienced members who can help. I can also tag some high dose mamas if you want another opinion other than mine (Gracie wasn’t high dose but I’ve been here a long time and helped a lot of high dose mamas).
Thanks Marje
 
He’s had one quick green at this dose early on. You’ve held the dose ten cycles per the TR protocol if that’s what you are sticking with. He might have gotten into green the night of 2/3 but I doubt he went very much below 100. It would be good, if you are awake to see this, if you can see how low he goes tonight from 197.

If he doesn’t get into green tonight, I’d increase the dose to 8.5u in the morning but you need to know how low he went in the p.m. cycle of 2/6.

Thank you Marje for your appreciated feedback. I will stick with TR as suggested by Wendy lately (I've updated my signature finally....).

The doubt on switching method was related to my low ability to test during work days... unfortunately I haven't been able to measure anything later than +3 on PM cycle :(

I'm all for Wally on weekend, but unfortunately during the week I need at least 8 hours of sleep :(

My hope was that we could hold until friday where i can stay up until late and monitor his PM cycle better.... but I am wondering IF it's a bad thing to hold too much on these numbers

Anyway this morning AMPS is 161 and shot again 8U considering its lower than usual and inability to see what will happen during the day (I will be back at +6 to test again)

Thank you so much for assisting us! :bighug:
 
Hi Stefano, with the time difference I guess you didn't see Marje and Wendy's comments.

Nice blue start this morning 2/7 does make me wonder if he dipped to green or if he's on the way down. Any chance you can get a +1 or +2 before you head out to work?
 
Nice blue start this morning 2/7 does make me wonder if he dipped to green or if he's on the way down. Any chance you can get a +1 or +2 before you head out to work?

Unfortunately had no way to get +1, +2, but I was back at home for +6..... where he was at 210, and later 450 at PMPS.

Tomorrow will be 8.5U unless he surprises us with very low numbers at AMPS

Thank you for your kind support :)
 
Thank you Marje for your appreciated feedback. I will stick with TR as suggested by Wendy lately (I've updated my signature finally....).

The doubt on switching method was related to my low ability to test during work days... unfortunately I haven't been able to measure anything later than +3 on PM cycle :(

I'm all for Wally on weekend, but unfortunately during the week I need at least 8 hours of sleep :(

My hope was that we could hold until friday where i can stay up until late and monitor his PM cycle better.... but I am wondering IF it's a bad thing to hold too much on these numbers

Anyway this morning AMPS is 161 and shot again 8U considering its lower than usual and inability to see what will happen during the day (I will be back at +6 to test again)

Thank you so much for assisting us! :bighug:
You’re very welcome, Stefano.

Smart to hold the dose this morning! Great job. As soon as you are able to raise it, I would unless he gives you a green number.

Holding the dose too long can result in glucose toxicity and further insulin resistance especially in a high dose cat.

Good luck when you increase:):bighug:
 
Thank you for the link, very useful! So far he loves his Granata Pet chicken. I am curious to know if it's a good idea to change from time to time the type of meat he eats.
I use a variety of foods, I use the granatapet symphonie , thrive and terra faelis for my diabetic kitty, I'm a little limited in the choice as he also has early CKD so I have to look for brands and flavours that have lower phosphorus.

My other kitties also get low carb food, and I feed them a variety of brands and flavour, I use feringa, animonda, granatapet mostly.

I like to change the flavours and varieties and have always done that with them, they seem to get bored if I feed them just one flavour so I rotate them to avoid this and that works better for them. I haven't experienced any tummy problems in getting them to switch from one flavour to another, but there again the brands I feed don't have any thing added, no cereals, no starch, just meat and vitamins (one or two have sqaush or pumpkin added).
My feeling it's the things that are added like cereals and starch that can cause the tummy upset/allergies if the cat is not used to them. Some cats experience problems with fish in their cat food, but mine don't seem to have any issues with that.

So it kind of depends on whether your cat is sensitive to particular food stuffs. My lot seem fairly robust in the tummy department so changing it up doesn't affect them.
If you are unsure, introduce things slowly and monitor to see if it affects Wally.
 
Back
Top