2/6 Tommy PMPS 208, +2 269 No News Yet!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
2/4

I'm an absolute nervous wreck at the vet coming out today to draw blood from Belle (16yr old Ginger kitty) and Tommy (20yr old). How silly is this. nailbite_smile I'm pretty sure all the angst is not knowing how far along the CRF is in both of them, or if the labs will look better than they did the last time.
I've been holding off on raising Tommy's insulin because I really think he has some sort of upper respiratory infection or something else that is causing these outrageous numbers.
Please could any of you tell me that at one point or another that you felt this way. It will be costing a bit more for the house call but with their ages and how much the trip stresses them out I thought this was the best route to take.
On top of that, one of my civies has a bit of diahrrea and she's a long hair. ohmygod_smile I think this could be attributed to a new wet food that I introduced a few weeks ago.
The vet should be here around 2:30-3pm CST. Please if you would just send out a prayer or good wishes that all goes well with my 2 senior kitties.
I hope that you all have a good afternoon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Sending lots of comforting vines to Belle and Tommy. That is great that you can have the vet come to you. Much less stressful for your babies.
And here is a big hug for you :YMHUG:
Take care
Elizabeth
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Tons of good vetty vines coming your way today. And hugs for you Lauren. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: At this point I'd be imaging a million different things going on inside my cat. Heck, I'm doing that now with Neko and her wonky numbers and she's younger. Visiting vets are way less stressful - paws crossed that's reflected in the numbers.

I've got two longer haired cats, so feeling the sympathy on the LB action. :oops:
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

What a wonderful mamabean you must be, for Tommy to be 20 years old with all his issues! I know how it is with senior cats - mine are ages 10-15, and I have one long hair, so the lb issue hits home with me, too. You have my sympathy on that one! ;-)

Sending prayers and good vetty vines for all your kitties. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Always worth the extra $ to have the vet come to your house. Harley & Davidson have never been to the vet in close to 12 yrs other then for the dental cleaning which then determined Davidson's FD, and naturally when I picked him up Harley went with for a blood sampling to insure he was clean. I've always had a mobile vet and they are much less stressed and you get more accurate readings.

We're thinking of you.........

Shawna, H&D
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Sending good vetty vines and thoughts for good bloodwork results! :-D I'm always nervous waiting for the results, I hate it :? . I'm glad the kitties can be spared the stress of the car ride and the vet office visit. I wish we had a vet that did that here, it would be worth the extra $$$ for my hissing, scared, growling maniac vet visit cat :oops: . I hope your civvie feels better soon too. Hugs to you, Lauren! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Hi Lauren,
We are sending tons of vines for the vetty appointment. I hope that Tommy and Belle will have good check-ups and that there are no serious health issues. Keep us posted on the labs results.
Guess what, we all feel the way you are feeling when going to the vet: what will he/she find? So fingers and paws crossed for good lab results. And if there are problems, may they be minor and easily dealt with.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Blood Work Toda

Thank you all for the prayers and good thoughts. :YMHUG: The vet just left, blood has been drawn and now we wait........ nailbite_smile @-) Belle was a very good girl but Tommy was not very happy at all, they actually had to put a muzzle on him for the first time EVER! Listening to Tommy's heart she said the beats per minute was 240 and that normal is 140 and she said that if it had been even 180 here at the house she wouldn't be worried, but she is concerned that he might have hyperthyroidism :cry: I had a Maine Coon pass away from that many years ago. She thinks that could be a reason for his numbers being so out of whack lately. They both can still see although Tommy's eyes are a bit more cloudy than Belles. Belle is having trouble judging distance when she jumps some times. :cry:
Tommy's lungs sounded clear, but she noticed a little gurgle in his throat like there is saliva that's just hanging out, so no respiratory infection, but his gums are a bit inflamed so I will be picking up some Clavamox and start him on that. I also bought some CET poultry flavored toothpaste, any one have any tricks on how to get a cat to "tolerate" that, especially one that is 20. :roll:
I'll post both their results so I can get some input from you wonderful LL beans on how bad things are or not!
I'm a bit exhausted right now "mentally" and having to wait isn't helping. I'm scared of what I don't even know yet. Keep the prayers and good thoughts coming please.
Thank you again for the hugs and just for being here :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Now I wait!

((((lauren))))

even already over it sounds very stressful! at least the vet visit is done.

if tommy's got inflamed gums, that alone can explain his numbers. i wouldn't hesitate to increase his L dose to deal with the numbers and to continue using the R to try to get him down some. poor little guy.

Marje has experience with hyper T. I think she was going to be back from traveling in a day or two. So do others but i can't think who off-hand.if you put "HyperT?" in your subject line that'll draw the right people.

i'd wonder about his level of anxiety though - wouldn't that raise his heart rate? is there a way for you to check it when he isn't all worked up? if punkin had been muzzled he'd have gone wild, i think.

you can add a tab for labs onto Tommy's ss - at the bottom of punkin's on the left side there was an icon that added a tab. that might work for you.

sending all our best to you and your clan!
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy AMPS 479, 2.R,+2 377,+6.75 351 Now I wait!

That's so cool that you have a vet that will come to you. We don't have anything like that in my part of Missouri unless you're talking about farm animals. They'll go to the farms to treat the cows, but not to the house, to treat the cats. :sad:

I would think that the reason for the high heart rate was panic more than anything being really wrong. It sounds like he was pretty darn upset if they had to muzzle him and just that's enough to double the heart rate.

Sending lots of good test results vines!!
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy PMPS 208 No News Yet!

Good evening all and thank you again so much for stopping in. I wish I could tell you it was the muzzle that jumped the heart rate but unfortunately that was put on well after she had checked Tommy's heart. :sad:
I was told I would be called before they closed up for the night, but as you can see that did not happen so now I must wait until morning. I'll be heading in and grabbing copies of the results and some Clavamox for my boy and come home and try to make sense of it. My vet is off tomorrow but I presume that another vet could go over the info with me although I'm sure most of you know just as much if not more what the "numbers" mean, so I might be leaning on you guys for a little help and support to guide me. I'm trying real hard not to think the worse, but at 20 yrs old, it's really hard not too..
So to help me out just a little my boy gave me a pretty respectable pm number. :smile: I'll take it! and whatever I find out tomorrow, well, we'll just have to deal with it then, together, just like we have this sugar dance we've been on since Dec. 2010, Until then....
 
Re: 2/6 Tommy PMPS 208 No News Yet!

I'm a bit late to the game, but am sending along tons of good BW vines for both your kitties! I so understand the stress of the anticipation and the not knowing....I hate it, too. Many calming prayers for you, too!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top