2/6 Rosa AMPS 273 +4 134 +6 69 +7 93 +9 131 PMPS 107 +1 137 +3 133 +4 196 +7 307

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you - so far she does seem to be doing well at this dose. Nice numbers but not quite as scarily low as on the higher dose. I'll probably know more tonight/tomorrow as she did have that one skipped shot but I'm happy with her numbers so far :)
 
Got another borderline on PMPS. What do we think - shoot (given that she dropped to 40 last time she was this low pre-shot) or skip?
 
I can, yes - we're home all evening and I've got plenty of supplies. I guess I should go for it then?
 
This looks like the Lantus "double dip"....it's very common in Lantus that they'll have a second dip at PMPS time that's higher than the nadir was, but lower than a previous test (like today...she was higher at +9 but her nadir was at +6...so she "double dipped"

I'd SHOOT!!....and get a +1 and +2 to see how she's doing
 
The other option is to stall, don't feed and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if she's coming up again, but the "last time" she was on 2 units...now she's only on 1.5 and that can make a big difference
 
OK *takes very deep breath*

Here we go! Could be an interesting evening - the last time I had this on the 1st it was a double dip too so I'll be keeping a very close eye on her numbers for a good few hours. Though, yes, the dose was different so hopefully she'll react a little better to the lower dose this time. If not, she could be heading for yet another reduction I guess which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
 
Nope...reductions are GREAT things....especially when they hold them!!

That's kind of the point here....they drop below 50, "earn" a reduction until there's no further way to reduce except to go OTJ!
 
I'm really not sure I'd dare shoot a green number! This one I know I can do because we got through it fine the last time.

I'd love for her to go OTJ eventually - I've no idea yet whether she can or not, but she's done pretty well so far earning reductions. I'd happily settle for a small dose that just keeps her ticking along in good numbers all the time, but I think she might have rather more ambitious plans than that!! ;)
 
I'll remind her of that if she shows signs of cliff-diving again.

She's been really happy today - she's spent a good couple of hours on my lap purring and pushing my hands away from the keyboard for extra attention. She's still not all that keen on frequent tests, but she comes right back for a cuddle almost as soon as it's done - she has to have that 10 second dash out of the room and back first of course so I know who's really the boss!! ;)
 
Most of us will shoot anything over 50...but you do it gradually...today you shoot a 106....next time you'll shoot a 95...then an 80....and each time you'll learn more and more about how Rosa reacts and see how really great Lantus works to keep nice flat green cycles!
 
Thank you. I'm sure I'll get there with shooting lower numbers eventually. It still just gives me that few minutes of 'is it safe or not' when I see her come up low blue right before a shot. We'll see how she gets on tonight - at least by now I know where her risk points for dropping low usually are so I can monitor closer together around then.

I'd love for her to surf green, but I'm not sure she properly knows how yet. She seems to be using her trampoline all wrong - she dives onto it and forgets to bounce back up!! :P
 
[QUOTE="manxcat419, post: 1367150, member: 11903"l
I'd love for her to surf green, but I'm not sure she properly knows how yet. She seems to be using her trampoline all wrong - she dives onto it and forgets to bounce back up!! :p[/QUOTE]

I so get it. Max bounced for a year! At least Rosa is holding reductions. He didn't.:bighug::)
 
Oh wow - I guess I've been lucky so far then as Rosa seems to be reacting well to the insulin so far (anti-jinx)! I'm happy with her progress of course, just still wondering how she's doing it really.
 
About where I expected at +1 - she often keeps rising a little up to +2 no matter what she's got planned for later.
 
Looks like she's just doing a slow bounce off the 60's from yesterday. Stay the course for a few more cycles and let's see what she has planned

Of course, she could also just be being a CAT! :cat:
 
Actually, she could well be - she hasn't really bounced much even after the very low numbers. I'll give it another couple of days at least to see what happens.

And you're right, she most likely is just being a cat and confusing me on purpose! :P I'm going to check her once more in an hour or so anyway before bed just to make sure she isn't planning anything sneaky ;)
 
It certainly looks like it - 2 nights' sleep in a row...she's spoiling me ;) And no doubt plotting her revenge by throwing me another 40 in the next day or so too ;) I'm thinking if she's still good in an hour I should be OK to get some sleep - unless she starts coming back down fast anyway.
 
If I were you, I'd go ahead and go to bed now and maybe set an alarm for about +8 (give or take) She's continuing to climb, so more than likely going to be safe tonight, but getting a test in at different times sprinkled around is great for data collecting....which will come in very helpful later on down the line
 
Sounds good to me - I was trying to decide exactly when to test again. I reckoned she was safe enough at least for an hour or so but I can certainly leave it until a bit later - she'll be happy to have the tests a bit more spread out too :)
 
He sure did - and she finally remembered how it's meant to work too! ;) I think a bounce has been coming for a while - she's done well not to have one before this. I'm really not too worried as long as it resolves in the next day or so. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top