2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87, +3 90 - New Member

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rockpea

Member Since 2013
Rocky's morning number is the same as yesterday. Will try to get a midpoint test in this morning.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221 - New Member

Good morning! It looks like you didn't have any problem with your AMPS test. I'd encourage you to get at least one test before you go to bed each night. The PM cycle tests are important too!

One housekeeping note -- we link our previous day's thread (aka "condo") to the current day's thread. This way, if we need to go back and find a piece of information, it's much easier than searching the entire board. Here's the link to your condo from Tuesday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88479
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221 - New Member

We're just stopping by to welcome you, too! This is the best place for you and your sugarkitty...so much knowledge and support here!! Keep asking questions and keep us posed on how Rocky's doing!
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221 - New Member

Good job on getting the amps test! Lets see how low he drops today. If you can get a +3 and depending on that, somewhere around a +5 to +7 , we can see how low he is going.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221 - New Member

Welcome to LantusLand! It's hard to learn to do the tests and the shots. Rocky is doing great and so are you!
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147 - New Member

I managed to get in a test by myself! My husband has been helping me in the morning and at night.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147 - New Member

That's a great looking +6.

Another housekeeping detail: If you notice, the addition of the +6 test isn't visible on the Board. When you want to add test data, let us know you have a question, etc. you need to go to your first post in the thread and edit the subject line in that post. It's only the subject line in the first post in the thread that's visible on the board.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147 - New Member

Welcome to the Lantus Board! :YMHUG:

You've done quite a good job of making it through the starting steps to this Sugar Dance (to ineloquently paraphrase MommaOfMuse). :-D You're in good hands here.

And one more housekeeping note: I want to hear more about Rocky! If you want to, you can create a profile for him and add that to your signature as well. ;-)
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147 - New Member

Good job on getting a test on your own this time! Thats a nice +6. Not too low.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147 - New Member

Welcome to LL. That's a nice +6. You're doing great with the testing.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Wow. And thats without the shot? Lantus can hang around longer than 12 hours so it could still be affecting things.Can you get a test in 2 hours? Be interesting to see if he keeps dropping or boucnes back up.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

I'll try it again in two hours. I'm starting to feel bad for that one ear. The left seems to refuse to bleed.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Did you shoot or skip tonight?

If you shot, please get a +1. If you didn't, can you test at +2 or +3?
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Dont worry, it looks worse than it feels and it will heal. You are doing the right thing and keeping him safe.

Wendy
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

I didn't shoot because it was under 200 and I thought no shooting then. I'll check BG again.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Is there a concern for him if it goes lower or bounces up?
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Not a concern because he hasn't had a shot since this morning but if he drops lower you might get a dose decrease tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

If there's no shot, then your subject line should be
2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMBG 87 - New Member

We use PS for Pre Shot, which means a shot was given. Or BG for Blood Glucose if no shot is given. Seeing a newbie give a shot with an 87 is going to make people needlessly alarmed. :-D Great job on the testing, too. Give yourself a huge pat on the back.
Liz
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Welcome to LL Roocky & bean! That's a lovely green at PM, did you get at +1 or +2?
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

I tried at the two hour mark and no luck. Didn't get enough blood. I'll try again in a few. I work a bit at night.
 
Re: 2/6 Rocky AMPS 221, +6 147, PMPS 87 - New Member

Warm up their ear & base of ear helps a lot to get the blood for testing. Are you using the lancet or free handed poking?
 
I put his food back down after checking his BG that was 87, so that was at about 7p. And he he's had some Pure Bites each time I've tested him.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land. Looks like Rocky wants to go to the head of the class.

While the Health Board uses 200 as a no shoot number, we approach it a little differently here. We ask that when you get a 150 or a number lower than you've shot before, that you don't feed, post and ask for help. It's a pretty busy board so there's usually someone around to help.

It's important, though, that you do not feed because we have options like stalling and shooting a reduced dose and we want to be sure there are no food spikes clouding up the picture.

Bring your questions! We're here to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top