2/6 Pearl AMPS 189...PMPS 85, +1 87, +2 76, +3 78, +4 91, +6.5 105

Good catch. Good bg. There’s often a big reaction to the first cycle of a new dose. Did you feed a little lc?
Yes, I did. Pearl's appetite hasn't been as fantastic the lower she has gone (into blues and greens) so it's sometimes work to get her to eat. But yes she did get a little food. I gave the 0% and a teeeeny bit 3% (like 1 lick, she is very carb sensitive). She is up to 86 30 min later. Ugh!
 
Question, all: So at +9 Pearl is down to 77. Is this something to be concerned about? I would expect it wihtin the first 6 hours of the cycle, so just want to make sure she is still doing ok on the tail end of this cycle? And yes I am antsy about shooting a green tonight (would be my 2nd green shot, but first with her BGs low and flat in general).
 
Thanks so much Susanne. To make sure i know what I am doing - I check every hour right? And feed her the mini meals as usual, and if going too low add in some more higher carb and check every 30 minutes, yes??
Yup! You can do the same plan as you did 01/25 :D So get a +1 and +2 and then go from there. The board is generally active in the evenings so you have support here :bighug:
 
What a great day! She just needed a little dose tweak. She might not stay at this dose long.

Her +2 is less than the PMPS so you might want to check her at +3. I hope you are both doing ok after a busy day.
Hi Marje! Yes she is doing really great at this dose - little nerve wracking, but I will get used to all the greens. Ok, yes I will check her at +3! We are doing well! Thank you!
 
What a great day! She just needed a little dose tweak. She might not stay at this dose long.

Her +2 is less than the PMPS so you might want to check her at +3. I hope you are both doing ok after a busy day.
Ok, she is still the same - 78 at +3 (76 at +2). Do I keep checking hourly or how often do I do this checking for the overnight?
 
You know her best....have confidence in yourself. What do you think?

I just saw Elise’s post so might as well say that was my backup after seeing what you’d say.:smuggrin:
I think a +4 and if she seems steady maybe test once more at +6 and or +9?? Just to make sure she doesn’t have a late NADIR?? She isn’t hungry now so won’t eat until after the +4 so the +4 will be a good representation of really where she is at. I am unsure about how often after the +4 if she is flat. How likely is it that she would have a big drop after that time?
 
Last edited:
I think a +4 and if she seems steady maybe test once more at +7?? Just to make sure she doesn’t have a late NADIR?? She isn’t hungry now so won’t eat until after the +4 so the +4 will be a good representation of really where she is at. I am unsure about how often after the +4 if she is flat. How likely is it that she would have a big drop after that time?

Look at her spreadsheet. Does that help you?
 
She was flat today and still fast tonight. Usually when that happens you won’t see a big drop and likely no real nadir. I don’t see her having late nadirs. Do you?
Oh I see. So if the flat trend is still going it likely will continue through the night?

No she generally has early NADIRs. But she also can drop near the end of her cycle so I get nervous what if that goes lower than her early NADIR. Historically those late drops have happened in the AM cycle not the PM but maybe she could always develop new patterns? Like being flat for her is quite new. I am used to big swings.
 
Oh I see. So if the flat trend is still going it likely will continue through the night?

No she generally has early NADIRs. But she also can drop near the end of her cycle so I get nervous what if that goes lower than her early NADIR. Historically those late drops have happened in the AM cycle not the PM but maybe she could always develop new patterns? Like being flat for her is quite new. I am used to big swings.
Tanya makes a good point....you find out with experimentation. Take it a test at a time instead of planning an entire cycle.

She’s on a new and larger dose and this is the longest she’s been in great numbers. If she’s flat at +4, feed some LC if she will eat, try and get 2-2.5 hours sleep. Then see where she is at that test before you decide when to test again.

What I’m seeing for night cycles is she doesn’t come back down at AMPS, so far, and by +7, she’s up enough. But cycles change so see where she is at the nest test, take what you know about her, and decide when to do the nest test. Lather, rinse, repeat :)
 
Tanya makes a good point....you find out with experimentation. Take it a test at a time instead of planning an entire cycle.

She’s on a new and larger dose and this is the longest she’s been in great numbers. If she’s flat at +4, feed some LC if she will eat, try and get 2-2.5 hours sleep. Then see where she is at that test before you decide when to test again.

What I’m seeing for night cycles is she doesn’t come back down at AMPS, so far, and by +7, she’s up enough. But cycles change so see where she is at the nest test, take what you know about her, and decide when to do the nest test. Lather, rinse, repeat :)
Sounds reasonable thanks I was panicking a wee bit trying to figure it all out. In the daytime it’s easier to take it as it comes I am alert! I will test in 10 min for +4 then plan on a +6 or +6.5 and go from there!! Thanks!
 
Back
Top