Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-292-5-199-8-143-pmps-162-3-202-5-254.258907/
Preparing for a swan dive into the limes...
I've been wondering, too... from an IAA perspective, his dose never got all that high compared to some of the other IAA cats (peaked at 10 U twice) and has now come down and sort of stabilized around 5-6 U fot the past several months. I'm actually wondering if the IAA really broke and this is something else. I'm tempted to retest for IAA even though I know the antibody levels can stay high after the IAA is done. And maybe it's time to recheck the dexa test, since that was borderline. IGF-1 was normal twice, so I don't think there's a need to redo that one.
The other thing is the bounciness. I'm thinking about switching to Levemir to see if that improves that situation, but we have a huge stockpile of Lantus so I've been stalling. I'm also thinking about a different approach to feeding. Our current protocol (roughly) is to feed some 15 or 20% carb if he drops below about 70 (sometimes a little sooner if he's in a steep dive). When he's in a dive, a bit of carb is usually pretty good at stopping or slowing it. I'm considering putting the brakes on earlier- maybe when he hits 100, or even when it's clear from his dive rate that he'll be below 100 on the next check. If I can keep him surfing high greens or low blues, maybe he won't bounce as much?
Overdue for a vet visit at this point... time to go get routine blood work done (maybe there's something else we haven't thought of?) and maybe discuss Levemir.
Preparing for a swan dive into the limes...
I have a borderline insatiable curiosity why he's like this (I know you DONT ha!). Just...a perpetually sputtering pancreas? There has to be something else. A hormone that's off? Obnoxious liver? He apparently never got the "1 year" memo about IAA.
Were you going to have those adrenal labs done again?
I've been wondering, too... from an IAA perspective, his dose never got all that high compared to some of the other IAA cats (peaked at 10 U twice) and has now come down and sort of stabilized around 5-6 U fot the past several months. I'm actually wondering if the IAA really broke and this is something else. I'm tempted to retest for IAA even though I know the antibody levels can stay high after the IAA is done. And maybe it's time to recheck the dexa test, since that was borderline. IGF-1 was normal twice, so I don't think there's a need to redo that one.
The other thing is the bounciness. I'm thinking about switching to Levemir to see if that improves that situation, but we have a huge stockpile of Lantus so I've been stalling. I'm also thinking about a different approach to feeding. Our current protocol (roughly) is to feed some 15 or 20% carb if he drops below about 70 (sometimes a little sooner if he's in a steep dive). When he's in a dive, a bit of carb is usually pretty good at stopping or slowing it. I'm considering putting the brakes on earlier- maybe when he hits 100, or even when it's clear from his dive rate that he'll be below 100 on the next check. If I can keep him surfing high greens or low blues, maybe he won't bounce as much?
Overdue for a vet visit at this point... time to go get routine blood work done (maybe there's something else we haven't thought of?) and maybe discuss Levemir.