2/6 Oberon AMPS 426, +4 263, +6 197, +8 147, +10 130, PMPS 132, +3 111

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-292-5-199-8-143-pmps-162-3-202-5-254.258907/

Preparing for a swan dive into the limes...

I have a borderline insatiable curiosity why he's like this (I know you DONT ha!). Just...a perpetually sputtering pancreas? There has to be something else. A hormone that's off? Obnoxious liver? He apparently never got the "1 year" memo about IAA.

Were you going to have those adrenal labs done again?

I've been wondering, too... from an IAA perspective, his dose never got all that high compared to some of the other IAA cats (peaked at 10 U twice) and has now come down and sort of stabilized around 5-6 U fot the past several months. I'm actually wondering if the IAA really broke and this is something else. I'm tempted to retest for IAA even though I know the antibody levels can stay high after the IAA is done. And maybe it's time to recheck the dexa test, since that was borderline. IGF-1 was normal twice, so I don't think there's a need to redo that one.

The other thing is the bounciness. I'm thinking about switching to Levemir to see if that improves that situation, but we have a huge stockpile of Lantus so I've been stalling. I'm also thinking about a different approach to feeding. Our current protocol (roughly) is to feed some 15 or 20% carb if he drops below about 70 (sometimes a little sooner if he's in a steep dive). When he's in a dive, a bit of carb is usually pretty good at stopping or slowing it. I'm considering putting the brakes on earlier- maybe when he hits 100, or even when it's clear from his dive rate that he'll be below 100 on the next check. If I can keep him surfing high greens or low blues, maybe he won't bounce as much?

Overdue for a vet visit at this point... time to go get routine blood work done (maybe there's something else we haven't thought of?) and maybe discuss Levemir.
 
I was looking at his spreadsheet last night and thinking similar actually...that possibly IAA did break and this is just his baseline, so to speak. Just the oddities of his cycles make me wonder what else is going on (I had googled dysglycemia for humans, and it all comes back to liver/pancreas/adrenals/pituitary for the most part).

I think the feeding may help as well, always worth a try when everything else has been consistent

I absolutely love Levemir. I'll shout that one to the rooftops lol and I actually loved the +10 to +13/14 nadirs we got on it for awhile. More sleep, more convenient testing. No guarantee of course
 
We did have one regular IAA kitty posting who's dose capped out around 3 units (Loudogg's SS here), another who maxed out around 9 (Ozy's SS here), Doodles (SS here) only briefly got above 10 units. The IAA only kitties don't seem to go quite as high in dose as the ones with acro as well. Though Neko with both maxed out at 8.75 units. But it did take her a year to stop bouncing to reds. Who'd have though pink was progress. :rolleyes: She was on Lantus at that point.

I've already told you I was a Levemir fan.

If I can keep him surfing high greens or low blues, maybe he won't bounce as much?
Sounds like a nice theory, but then he'll bounce to the moon when he gets down to lower but safe greens. But you might have something if you can give higher carb food to slow fast drops, which he seems to like to do sometimes. I found bounces from fast drops were worse than ones from lower numbers.
 
Back
Top